Graduate-Level Historical Research

Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions.

Provides bibliographic indexing and selected full-text/full-image access to a large-scale shared repository of digital collections contributed by a growing partnership of major educational research institutions, libraries, and other stakeholders. Subject coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope. Content is composed primarily of digitized books and journals derived from partner collections, ranging from in-copyright and public domain materials provided by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft to various in-house partner institution initiatives. Access to full-text content is based on institutional licensing as well as copyright and other restrictions. Coverage: Circa 1500s to present (updates vary).

Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.

Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.