Wednesday, 10/24/18 | Making Textbooks and Course Readers Affordable | Library 204B | 3pm-4pm
Learn about the UT System’s Textbook Affordability Initiative, which aims to reduce course content expenses and incentivize the creation of high quality, free, and open course materials. Discover ways you can leverage existing OER and content at the library to reduce or eliminate the cost of required texts for your students.
Intro Slide Box
Workshop Agenda
Welcome to our workshop
Workshop Agenda
Welcome to our workshop
Workshop Agenda
OER in TX
SB 810 added OER to an existing state statute promoting textbook price transparency and awareness of textbook affordability, and also authorized a grant program for OER at public institutions and a feasibility study of a statewide repository.
"We found that students assigned the open textbook, in either print or digital formats, performed either no differently or better on their course exams than students assigned the commercial textbook."
Participant Experiences and Financial Impacts: Findings from Year 2 of Achieving the Dream’s OER Degree Initiative
Students find OERs easier to understand and relate to
Not buying a textbook for those classes leaves them with more money to handle other educational expenses.
"We found that students assigned the open textbook, in either print or digital formats, performed either no differently or better on their course exams than students assigned the commercial textbook."
Participant Experiences and Financial Impacts: Findings from Year 2 of Achieving the Dream’s OER Degree Initiative
Students find OERs easier to understand and relate to
Not buying a textbook for those classes leaves them with more money to handle other educational expenses.
"We found that students assigned the open textbook, in either print or digital formats, performed either no differently or better on their course exams than students assigned the commercial textbook."
Access EngineeringThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to a fully-integrated resource center for professional engineers, engineering students, researchers, and educators. Features leading McGraw-Hill textbooks, interactive imaging content, multimedia, and curriculum support tools. Includes faculty-made instructional videos, a customizable curriculum mapping tool, interactive graphs, downloadable tables, an Excel spreadsheet calculator tool, references to primary literature, a global engineering news feed, and more. Updated monthly.
https://www.accessengineeringlibrary.com/
Access Medicine from McGraw-HillThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to a selected collection of authoritative clinical reference and medical education titles authored by leading medical professionals from around the world. Content includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com
Access Physiotherapy from McGraw-HillThis link opens in a new windowProvides online access to a fully-integrated resource center for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification. Features leading McGraw-Hill textbooks, interactive imaging content, multimedia, and curriculum support tools. Includes detailed information concerning modalities; videos and animations; a customizable curriculum tool that can be used to assign, manage, and track the progress of student assignments; an online cadaver dissection resource for the study of anatomy and physiology; a drug and medication database, and references to primary literature.
https://accessphysiotherapy.mhmedical.com
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO)This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a fully-integrated online research methods tool designed to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects across multiple disciplines. Provides selected, full-text access to SAGE books, journals, and reference content.Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.
http://methods.sagepub.com
Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.
