Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systems Engineering Processes MSSE5347: Required Readings

Major References

CMMI for Development, Version 1.3

CMMI for Services, Version 1.3

* INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook, Version 1.4

* Please follow the instructions on INCOSE: How to Create a CAB Limited Account to Register with INCOSE and access any/ all INCOSE products & publications. Please wait 24 to 48 hrs. after registration for approval from INCOSE. Once registered, please log in and use INCOSE Store to see the list of publicatons.

Required readings

Module 1: Systems and Software Engineering Lifecycle Processes (Access Available under Course Reserve MSSE 5347)

INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook V4: Table of Content, Preface, and SE Handbook Scope

  • Section 1.3: Contents
  • Section 2.3: The hierarchy within system
  • Section 3.1: Introduction
  • Section 3.2: Lifecycle characteristics
  • Section 3.3: Lifecycle stages
  • Section 3.4: Lifecycle approaches
  • Section 3.5: What is best for your organization, project or team
  • Chapter 5: Technical management processes
  • Chapter 6: Agreement processes
  • Chapter 7: Organizational project-enabling processes

Scrum guide

  • If a link does not work or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure site Course Reserve MSSE 5347. You must log in with your UTEP credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 2: ISO 15288 Technical Processes and CMMI Process Areas Categories    

ISO/IEC/IEEE 15288: 2015

CMMI for Development, Version 1.3

  • Part 1 Section 4, “Relationships Among Process Areas,” pg. 39 – 54  

CMMI for Development Quick Reference Guide 

  • Read the five Engineering Process Areas: Requirements development, Technical Solution, Product Integration, Verification, and Validation

INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook V4

  • Section 3, “Generic Life Cycle Stages,” pg. 25 – 32
  • Section 4, “Technical Processes,” pg. 47 – 101
  • If a link does not work or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure site Course Reserve MSSE 5347. You must log in with your UTEP credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 3: Managing Organizational Changes (Access Available under Course Reserve MSSE 5347) 

Managing Organizational Change: An Integrative Perspective

  • Note that you have to log in with your UTEP credentials to access this article

CMMI for Development, Version 1.3

  • Part 2, Organizational Process Focus, pg.203-216 

INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook V4

  • Section 7 (7.1-7.6), Organizational Project-Enabling Processes, pg.145-158 

IDEAL

  • Chapter 1 The Initiating Phase, pg.11-17 
  • Chapter 2 The Diagnosing Phase, pg.53-59 
  • Chapter 3 The Establishing Phase, pg.67-72 
  • Chapter 4 The Acting Phase, pg.93-100 
  • Chapter 5 The Leveraging Phase, pg.127-131
  • If a link does not work or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5347. You must log in with your UTEP credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 4: Process Improvement Infrastructure (PII) (Access Available under Course Reserve MSSE 5347)  

CMMI for Development, Version 1.3

  • Process area OPD, Organizational Process Definition
  • OPF; Organizational Process Focus; Section: Introduction  

INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook V4

  • Section 7 (7.1) Life cycle Model Management Process
  • Section 7 (7.2) Infrastructure Management Process
  • Section 7 (7.5) Quality Management Processes
  • If a link does not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5347. You must log in with your UTEP credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 5: Managing Process Improvement (Access available under Course Reserve MSSE 5347)

Team Software Process Body of Knowledge (TSP BOK) Knowledge areas 2.3, 2.4 and 2.5

CMMI for Development, Version 1.3

  • Organizational Process Definition (OPD) process area
  • Generic Goals and Generic Practices; pg: 65-68
  • GP 2.4 Assign Responsibility, pg. 82

CMMI for Development Quick Reference Guide

  • Generic Goals; pg: 12

INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook V4

  •  Section 7 (7.4) Human Resource Management Process

The Skilled Facilitator (book) PLEASE DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE E-BOOK

IDEAL : A User’s Guide for Software Process Improvement

  •  Section 1.6, Establish Software Process Improvement Infrastructure
  •  Sections 1.6.1, 1.6.2, 1.6.3
  •  Section 4.3, Pilot Potential Solutions, pg. 107
  •  Section 4.6, Develop Rollout Strategy and Plan Template, pg. 111
  • Section 4.9 Rollout the Solution
  • If a link does not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5347. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 6: Managing Process Adherence (Access available under Course Reserve MSSE 5347)

CMMI for Development, Version 1.3 read process areas:

  •  PPQA, “Process and Product Quality Assurance”
  •  MA, “Measurement and Analysis"    

INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook V4  

  • Section 5.8: Quality Assurance Process
  • If a link does not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5347. You must log in with your UTEP credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 7: Managing Statistical Process Control (Access available under Course Reserve MSSE 5347)   

CMMI for Development, Version 1.3 read process areas:

  • Organizational Process Performance (OPP) and Quantitative Project Management (QPM)

Software Engineering Institute, High Maturity! How Do We Know?

  • Statistical Thinking ML 4, OPP, and QPM (slides  1-54)
  • If a link does not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5347. You must log in with your UTEP credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |