Skip to main content

Music Appreciation (MUSL 1324): Special Collections

Research guide for Dr. Lindsey Macchiarella's online class.

Selected manuscript collections with information on music in El Paso

MS001 UTEP collection.  Look at finding aid at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids/MS001_musicdept.pdf  for material from the UTEP Department of Music.  Approximately 2 linear feet. 

MS024, Willie Agner music collection. Small collection of sheet music.  Less than one inch. 

MS062, Olav E. Eidbo papers. Date range 1956-1985.  Information about the Music Department at UTEP compiled by a faculty member. 2 inches of material. 

MS152, Vera E. Bohne music collection.  Mostly sheet music collected by a piano teacher from El Paso.  Approx. 4 inches.

MS184, Colección de 16 hojas sueltas; Corridos de la Revolución mexicana. Sheet music and photocopies.  Less than 1 inch.

MS190,  Catherine M. Brown music collection.  Sheet music collected by an El Paso piano teacher.  Approx. 3 linear feet.  

MS231.  Cleofas Calleros papers.  Contains programs from concerts and other events attended by this civic leader and avocational historian.  Approx. 24 feet; see finding aid at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids/MS231_Calleros.pdf

MS292,  Saramé Raynolds papers.  Correspondence of Saramé Raynolds, an aspiring operatic singer from El Paso.  8 inches.

MS359, El Paso Theater Programs (artificial collection, but predominantly 1960s-1990s) 

MS361, Casimiro Giron papers.  Posters and photographs of a band leader.  

MS371, Betty Ligon papers.  Papers of a journalist who was an arts reporter for the El Paso Herald-Post and later El Paso Inc.  7 linear feet. 

MS407, Andrews family papers.  Relates to choral music in El Paso.  4 inches.

MS456, Francis Moore collection.  Recordings and programs of Francis Moore, a concert pianist whose career began in El Paso.  2 inches.

MS488, Claude Herndon music collection.  Claude Herndon was the premier piano teacher in El Paso for many years.  This collection includes a large quantity of sheet music for piano and some publications on piano instruction.  38 linear feet. 

MS576.  Woman's Club of El Paso. The MacDowell Club was the musical section of this organization.  140 feet.  See finding aid at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids/MS576_womens.pdf

MS575, James Curtis Warren papers.  Curt Warren was a long-time member of the UTEP Music Dept. and leader of the UTEP Jazz ensemble.  3 feet. 

Other collections may also have information about the history of music or musicians in El Paso or Ciudad Juárez. 

Ask an archivist!  Claudia Rivers (crivers@utep.edu) or Abbie Weiser (ahweiser@utep.edu)  747-5697

 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |