Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systems Engineering Fundamentals MSSE5341: Required Readings

Introduction to and discussion of the key concepts, processes, and process activities carried out by systems engineers.

Required Texts

CMMI for Development, Version 1.3

Defense Acquisition University. Systems Engineering Fundamentals. Jan 2001.

  • Link 1 to DAU Systems Engineering Fundamentals
  • Link 2 to DAU Systems Engineering Fundamentals

Please note: This document will take a while to load due to its length.

* INCOSE Systems Engineering Handbook, Version 1.4

NASA Systems Engineering Handbook (NASA SP-2016-6105 Revision 2)

SEBoK Guide to the Systems Engineering Body of Knowledge

* Please follow the instructions on INCOSE: How to Create a CAB Limited Account to Register with INCOSE and access any/ all INCOSE products & publications. Please wait 24 to 48 hrs. after registration for approval from INCOSE. Once registered, please log in and use INCOSE Store to see the list of publicatons.

Required Readings

Module 1 (Weeks 1 & 2)

Week 1                                                                      Week 2                                                                        

Student Introduction                                                INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 1, 2
                                                                                    DoD SE Fundamentals: Ch. 1, 2
                                                                                    NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 1, 2

  • If a link is not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5341. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 2 (Weeks 3 & 4)

Week 3                                                                      Week 4

INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 3                               INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 4.1 - 4.2
DoD SE Fundamentals: Ch. 3                              DoD SE Fundamentals: Ch. 4.1
NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 3                                    NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 4.1

  • If a link is not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5341. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 3 (Weeks 5 & 6)

Week 5                                                                         Week 6

INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 4.3                              INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 9.3
DoD SE Fundamentals: Ch. 4                                DoD SE Fundamentals: Ch. 5
NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 4.2, 6.2, App. C             NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 4.3

  • If a link is not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5341. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 4 (Weeks 7 & 8)

Week 7                                                                          Week 8

INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 4.4 – 4.5                     INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 4.6, 5.2 – 5.7 and 9.1
DoD SE Fundamentals: Ch. 6                                 DoD SE Fundamentals: Ch. 10, 12-15
NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 4.4                                    NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 6.3 – 6.7, App. L

  • If a link is not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5341. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 5 (Weeks 9 & 10)

Week 9                                                                         Week 10

Mid-Term Due                                                              INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 4.7, 4.8, 4.10, 5.8, 9.6-9.

                                                                                        NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 5.1 – 5.2, 5.5, App H

  • If a link is not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5341. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 6 (Weeks 11 & 12)

Week 11                                                                      Week 12

INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 4.9, 4.11                    INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 5.3, 10
DoD SE Fundamentals: Ch. 7                                NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 6.8
NASA SE Handbook: Ch. 5.3-5.4, App D, E, I      

  • If a link is not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5341. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 7 (Weeks 13 & 14)

Week 13                                                                      Week 14

INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 9.1, 9.2                      INCOSE SE Handbook: Ch. 4.12, 4.14     

  • If a link is not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5341. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

Module 8 (Week 15)

Final Project due

  • If a link is not working or the file has been removed from any of the sites referenced above, you may access the file in the library secure reserve site Course Reserve MSSE 5341. You must log in with your UTEP Credentials to access Course Reserve materials.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |