Chicano Theatre

Provides complete full text access to the journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) except for Anthropology News. Subject coverage includes cultural and social anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, culture, demography, human ecology, folklore, and ethnohistory. Coverage varies by title, ranging from 1997 - present (overall). Older issues of selected titles are archived on JSTOR.

Provides full text/full image access to a broad collection of primary source materials dealing with the relationships among peoples and cultures in early North America. The collection presents unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, and others. It includes works by American Indians, Canadian First Peoples, and many European groups, capturing first impressions, observations of flora and fauna, descriptions of encounters with indigenous peoples, and new language elements as they evolved. Subject coverage includes American history, Canadian history, natural history, environmental studies, and American Indian and Native American studies. Materials indexed range from published and unpublished personal accounts derived from narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, and journals to prints, drawings, paintings, photographs, bibliographies, original facsimile pages, and maps. Coverage: 1534 - 1860

Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University, this full text database contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life throughout the world. Content is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.

As part of the Alexander Street Anthropology series, Ethnographic Video Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of digital streaming video content pertaining to the study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films. Some videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing, full-text materials.

Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).

Full-text digital collection based on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and other major sources. Contains important and many hard-to-find primary source materials about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Publications include books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, religious beliefs, society and culture, politics, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides full text/full image access and bibliographic indexing for a select collection of complete, authorized versions of American film scripts. Includes information on the scenes, characters, writers, and others related to each script. Subject coverage includes popular culture, film studies, language and literature, American history, drama and theater arts, anthropology, ethnic studies, gender studies, sociology, and psychology. Materials indexed primarily include the shooting scripts of award-winning or critically acclaimed feature films; draft or continuity script substituted if shooting script unavailable.

Provides full text/full image access to a digital collection of selected historical content pertaining to hispanic social history, literature, politics, religion, and culture in the United States derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include scholarly monographs and reference books, selected historical newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, periodicals, pamphlets, broadsides, and more. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: Colonial times - 1960.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for a wide variety of literature pertaining to Mexican-Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Derived from materials in the Chicano Studies Collection held by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this database includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Other subjects include art, economics, film, folklore, health, history, labor, language, law, literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, and women's studies.

Provides full text/full image online access to the literature criticism book series Dictionary of Literary Biography, published by Gale. Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB Main Series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals.

Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

Provides complete full text/full image access to significant English language and foreign language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with many important works from the Americas. Subject coverage includes history, geography, social science, art, medicine, music, science and technology, language and literature, philosophy and religion, law, and general reference. Materials indexed include books, directories, almanacs, catalogues, bibles, sheet music, sermons, advertisements, and more.

State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.

Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.

Provides bibliographic indexing and abstracts for international literature concerning the performing arts specific to theater, music, and dance. Publications indexed include journals, magazines, books, and monographs.

Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

Provides access to licensed digital streaming video on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.

Provides full-text/full-image access to a digital collection of selected historical content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include rare books and literary manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, historical records, and a wide variety of manuscript materials. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish.

Provides full text/full image online access to each of the 12 literature criticism book series published by Gale, including the complete back-file. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Titles include: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 - 1800 (LC), Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC), Shakespearean Literature Criticism (SLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), Drama Criticism (DC), Children's Literature Review (CLR), Something About the Author (SATA), and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB).

Comprehensive bibliographic index produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) for international scholarly research materials on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Subject areas range from the arts, humanities, and education to the behavioral, social, economic, and political sciences. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, working papers, and conference proceedings.

Provides full text/full image access to a select collection of North American immigrant correspondence, diaries, and oral histories. Subject coverage includes American and Canadian history, European history, labor history, ethnic and diversity studies, sociology, language and literature, women's studies, and genealogy. Materials indexed include both published as well as previously unpublished items derived from letters, books, diaries, pamphlets, journal articles, photographs, scrapbooks, cartoons, autobiographies, and interview transcripts.

Provides indexing and full text/full image access to selected collections of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. International subject coverage includes anthropology, black studies, business and management, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, law, languages and literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, and women's studies.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for classic, historical, and contemporary plays. Materials indexed include one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from playwrights such as Shakespeare, Aeschylus and Euripides, Moliere and many more. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.

Provides access to bibliographic records covering areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Upon completion, Twentieth-Century Drama (ProQuest) will provide full-text access to 2,500 of the most important plays written in the English language from around the world. The collection is composed of mostly copyrighted texts unavailable elsewhere in electronic form, including many out-of-print works that are difficult to obtain. Subject coverage includes many nationalities and ethnicities representing a full range of dramatic styles, genres and traditions from widely studied and frequently performed plays to important examples of radical theater, regional theater, postcolonial theater, women's theater and popular forms such as melodrama, farce and thriller that are often under-represented in surveys of the period.