Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Films on Demand: Modern Marvels: Breaking Point
10. Breaking Point Disasters (02:14)
See the Tacoma Narrows Bridge collapse; see the destruction of the Kansas City Hyatt Hotel which reached its breaking point when an audience gathered to watch a dance contest on an overhead walk way. See the Twin Towers collapse.
Kansas City Hyatt Regency Skyway Collapse.
Most of these images are copyrighted.
Hyatt Hotel Collapse minute by minute (in 5 parts)
An hour long special on the collapse of the Hyatt Regency skywalks on July 17, 1981.
Uploaded on Dec 5, 2011 by Hyattplus30
Duration: Part 1 (8:47), Part 2 (9:05), Part 3 (7:14), Part 4 (10:03) and Part 5 (10:54)
Materials may be copyrighted.
Kansas City Death by Design (2 parts).
Documentary focusing on the structural defects of the Skybridges which collapsed at the Hyatt Regency hotel in Kansas City Missouri on July 17, 1981.
Uploaded on Dec 6, 2011 by Hyattplus30.
Duration: Part 1 (13:41) and Part 2 (14:58)
Material may be copyrighted.
YouTube: Seconds from Disaster
Mega Disasters - Skywalk Collapse (45:53)
This is an American documentary television series that first began broadcasting in 2004. A documentary first created by National Geographic on Hyatt Regency Walkways Collapse on July 17, 1981, in Kansas City.
Material may be copyrighted.
Audio Recording and PodCasts
KCUR.org 89.3 FM: Walt Bodine Collection
Walt Bodine Collection: The Hyatt Regency Walkway Collapse
Audio Recording Duration: 29:20
Courtesy of the Marr Sound Archives at the Miller Nichols Library of the University of Missouri-Kansas City.
Material may be copyrighted.
Access Newspaper Archive
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall). Updated daily. NOTE: Includes selected content from the El Paso Times, the El Paso Herald-Post, and The Prospector.
Provides full-text access to the journals and proceedings of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). Subject coverage includes all aspects of civil engineering, ranging from aerospace, architectural, coastal and ocean, computing in civil engineering, construction, energy, engineering mechanics, environmental, and geotechnical to hydraulic, infrastructure, materials, management, professional issues, structural, transportation, urban planning, and water resources. Coverage varies by title: Proceedings range from 1998 - present overall; bulk 2003 - present (updated annually); Journals (1995 - present).
Compendex on Ei Engineering Village (Elsevier)
Fully-integrated content discovery platform that provides online access to Engineering Index (Compendex), a comprehensive bibliographic index for engineering, technical, and applied science literature derived from journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1884 - present (updated weekly). NOTE: Full-text of most documents not available at the UTEP Library can be requested via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service using ILLiad or purchased via credit card from the Linda Hall Library Document Delivery Service.
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics. Coverage and updates vary by title and include complete back-files for seleted subject collections; the bulk of the front-file coverage ranges from 1995 - present.
The official gateway to all online U.S. federal government information resources and services. Provides links to a comprehensive collection of international, federal, state, local, and tribal government agencies. Enables users to conduct important government business online such as applying for student loans, tracking Social Security benefits, comparing Medicare options, finding government jobs, checking on flight delays, filing income taxes, administering government grants and contracts, and much more. Includes a Spanish-language interface.
New York Times
Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see LexisNexis Academic. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog. NOTE: This database is partially funded by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Washington Post via LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to full text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Full text access to the El Paso Times is now available in LexisNexis Academic from 1999 - present. See also: Campus Research.
Hyatt Regency Walkway Collapse
Adapted from material by the Department of Philosophy and Department of Mechanical Engineering
Texas A&M University
NSF Grant Number DIR-9012252
Posted on October 24, 2006 by The Engineer (Author)
MVSC: Kansas City Public Library
Published by Kansas City Public Library: Missouri Valley Special Collections
Article is written by Dr. Jason Roe, a digital history specialist and editor for the Library’s digitization and encyclopedia website project, Civil War on the Western Border: The Missouri-Kansas Conflict, 1854-1865.
The Hyatt Regency Disaster Revisited
Mar, 2014 By Matthew R. Rechtien, P.E., Esq. In Articles, Legal Perspectives
This article takes a fresh look, from a legal perspective, at some of the enduring lessons it holds.
Lessons learned the hard way: What catastrophes can teach us about planning, communication - and luck
By Mark D. Abkowitz