Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hellenism and the Coming of Rome (Hist 3361): Where to look?

Supports Dr. Ronald Weber's class, providing research help for students.

Search multiple resources

The UTEP Library has over a million books and more than 300 databases. Here are a few places to start, but you should explore other sources on your own or with a librarian, who will be glad to help you.

  • The Library catalog, for  books, e-books, films, and other materials
  • Reference books. It's good to start with a specialized encyclopedia to get an overview of the topic and to gather key names and specialized vocabulary. A few are listed below.
  • Online encyclopedias.  Several databases are collections of specialized encyclopedias and reference works. Gale Virtual Reference Library, Cambridge Histories Online, and Oxford Reference Online are good databases to try.
  • The databases listed below are good for ancient history. Also search databases related to your topic. For example, if your topic is in education, search the education databases.
  • Read the bibliographies and footnotes of the most useful books and articles you find: they may lead you to further publications you can use.

 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |