A-Z Resource List: P

A bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues in the following areas: economics, business, health care, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, government, and political science. Materials indexed include selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, Internet resources, and microfiche.

Provides bibliographic indexing as well as full-text/full-image access to The Times newspaper of London, England. Resources include: Palmer's Index to the Times (October 1790-December 1905) and Palmer's Full Text Online (1800-1870). Subject coverage includes all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries including history, politics, economics, business, the arts, entertainment, and sport.

Produced by the InteLex Corporation, the Past Masters series provides access to a comprehensive collection of full text electronic editions in all areas of philosophy. Subject coverage includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. Original language texts are available in Latin, French, German, Danish, and Dutch, as well as in English and English translation. Materials indexed include published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence.

Collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos that provides documentaries and series from PBS. Content includes science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more.

Provides indexing and full text/full image access to selected collections of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. International subject coverage includes anthropology, black studies, business and management, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, law, languages and literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, and women's studies.

NOTE: Restricted to authorized UTEP users via username and password. Users must self-register and create an account.

The Therapeutic Research Center's (TRC) Pharmacy Academic Program sponsors free online access to The University of Texas at El Paso School of Pharmacy. Access to only RxSelect and Journal Club - Student Notes, including 10 training courses via the CE and Training platform (No assignment or reporting functionality). The TRC Academic Program provides access to evidence-based, peer-reviewed drug therapy information, including drug comparison charts, patient education materials, medication recommendations, disease-related charts and guidelines, clinical trial results, and legal and regulatory updates. Includes resources for clinical instruction and teaching literature evaluation. 
 

Student Access Registration here 
 

Faculty Access Registration here

NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time via username and password. Contact the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT) to request access credentials.

Provides access to the Pharmacopeial Forum (PF) online journal in which USP publishes proposed revisions to the USP–NF for public review and comment. Information includes in-process revisions, proposed interim revision announcements (IRAs), PDG harmonization proposals and stimuli articles. Coverage: 2002- present (Updated every two months). 

Provides full-text access to the publications of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). Content includes textbooks, journals, case studies, active learning exercises, NAPLEX review materials and other APhA professional resources. Case studies include nonprescription drugs, diabetes care, QuEST/SCHOLAR-MAC and cases from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.

Bibliographic index, complete with author-written abstracts, covering international scholarly research publications in the 15 fields of philosophy, including: aesthetics, axiology, education, epistemology, ethics, history, language, logic, politics, religion, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, philosophy of science, and social philosophy. Indexed publications include journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and anthologies. Some citations include links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.

Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full-text for journals published by the American Physical Society (APS), including the Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA). Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes APS All. Online access to the APS Journals may also be available through a U.S. Public Library near you - check with your local branch for details.

Bibliographic index for research literature on all aspects of plant science. Subject coverage includes pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques, and environmental biology. Publications indexed include journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and books.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for classic, historical, and contemporary plays. Materials indexed include one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from playwrights such as Shakespeare, Aeschylus and Euripides, Moliere and many more. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Comprehesive bibliographic index that provides abstracts and links to some full text for environmental information drawn from scientific research and government policies. Topics range from air, water, land, and noise pollution to sewage, wastewater treatment, waste management, toxicology, health effects on humans and animals, radiation, and environmental action. Source publications include journals, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and hard-to-find documents.

Provides access to full-text journals, magazines, transactions, newsletters, and proceedings along with Special Interest Group (SIG) proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Full-text access is also provided to select publications by affiliated organizations.

Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.

A cooperative venture undertaken by both libraries and publishers, Portico provides access to a permanent, online archive of scholarly journals, books, newspapers and local library content for research and teaching. It was launched in 2005 with additional support from JSTOR, Ithaka Harbors, Inc., the Library of Congress and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Portico provides all libraries supporting the archive with campus-wide access to full-text archived content when specific trigger events occur and when titles are no longer available from the publisher or other source. Portico also provides a reliable means for a library to secure perpetual access to online content if participating publishers choose to designate Portico as their provider for post-cancellation access.

Elementary school-level bibliographic index for popular children's literature. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Materials indexed include magazines, pamphlets, books, newspapers, photos, maps, and flags. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Online course designed to prepare individuals who want to become naturalized U.S. citizens for the Civics, Reading, and Writing portions of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Naturalization Test. Course content includes a series of 100 instructional videos along with practice exercises and quizzes in both English and Spanish. User registration with a "utep.edu" e-mail address is required. Pronunciator account holders may use the same login credentials to access ProCitizen. Updates vary. See also: Pronunciator. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for highly specialized literature used by professional educators. Subject coverage includes education, administration, curricula, educational leadership, educational research, library and information science, learning disabilities, teacher education and training, reading, and many more. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, pamphlets, and books. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Developed by the Cornell University Library and maintained in conjunction with Duke University Press (DUP), the Project Euclid content platform provides archiving, indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for a wide variety of scholarly publications in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics through partnerships with independent and society publishers. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Includes selected open-access (O/A) electronic journal content. Coverage and updates vary by title.

Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.

Provides access to the online version of the CIS Index containing bibliographic citations and abstracts of congressional publications, including the CIS Legislative Histories (1970 - present). Includes full text access to congressional reports and voting records, House and Senate documents, bills, and public laws as well as to committee reports, selected prints, and schedules. Other full text publications include: U.S. Code, Congressional Record, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.

Provides full text/full image access to the U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps, comprehensive, ongoing collections of U.S. Government publications compiled under the direction of Congress. Subject coverage includes many aspects of American life from the late 18th century up to 1969, ranging from farming, westward expansion, and scientific exploration to politics, law, international relations, business, and manufacturing. Materials indexed include Congressional legislative reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress prior to 1969. Also includes the American State Papers, maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs. Coverage: 1789 - 1969.

Selective bibliographic index for U.S. and international literature pertaining to criminal justice. Subject coverage includes law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Publications indexed include scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Most citations include abstracts and some include full-text or link to full-text content from other providers based on institutional subscriptions.

Provides complete full text/full image access to the following newspapers digitized from microfilm: New York Times (Late Edition - East Coast), Los Angeles Times (Library Edition), Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition), Washington Post (Final Edition), and Barron's.

Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.

Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.

Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.

Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the El Paso Times from 1881 to current. The El Paso Herald-Post has full-text/full-image access for the years 1896-1997. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.
NOTE: El Paso Herald Post content will begin loading in December 2022.

Provides access to Collection 1 (1970-2012) of the Historical Abstracts of the United States as published by the Census Bereau. Each abstract is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Data tables can be downloaded as .pdfs and .xls files. Subject coverage includes Business, Criminal Justice, Economics, Political Science, Social Sciences, Science, Sociology and Women's Studies. NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.

Provides full-text/full-image access to the archival case file records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS). Subject coverage includes Asian immigration and exclusion, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other U.S. states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; Ellis Island reports and correspondence (1900-1933); and European immigration. Also includes extensive case files on INS regulation of prostitution, white slavery, and on suppression of radical aliens. Coverage: 1880 to 1930 (overall).

Broad subject coverage includes history, African-American Studies, Women's Studies, political science, social sciences, sociology, and international studies. Documents indexed include correspondence, internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from NAACP national, legal, and branch offices throughout the United States. Coverage: 1909 to 1974 (overall). Provides full-text/full-image access to a digitized historical manuscript collection derived from the complete Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress (LoC). Subscribed content includes the following six modules within the Civil Rights Movement and the Black Freedom Struggle subject area: 1) Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; 2) Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; 3) Special Subjects; 4) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; 5) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files; and 6) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.

Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the following newspaper digitized from microfilm: Barron's. Coverage is from 2008 - 3 months ago.

Provides access to a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Bibliographic index that provides complete full text access to peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and several allied organizations. Subject coverage includes general psychology as well as specialized, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research. Materials indexed include journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata.

Provides full text access to chapters from books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other distinguished publishers. Includes classic texts of landmark historical impact in psychology and authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press (OUP) Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), this resource serves as a companion to the scholarly, peer-reviewed content found in the PsycINFO (EBSCO) database. PsycEXTRA (EBSCO) provides bibliographic indexing for a wide variety of professional and gray literature in the field of psychology and the behavioral sciences. Formats indexed include technical, annual and government reports; conference papers; newsletters; magazines; newspapers; consumer brochures; fact sheets; monographs; and more. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Most citations include abstracts and full-text or link to full-text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: No overlap with PsycINFO (EBSCO). Updates: Bi-weekly.

Fully-integrated web-based portal that provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for the complete publications of the American Psychiatric Association (APA). Materials indexed include the complete DSM Library of reference titles, scholarly journals, textbooks, APA Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools, clinical and research news, and medication information handouts.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerning psychology and human behavior. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.

Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Comprehensive bibliographic index of the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (NCPTSD) and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Subject coverage includes all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic or geographical limitations. Publications indexed include obscure as well as well-known journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets and technical reports

PubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include free full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.