If you want to learn more about your specific topic, use encyclopedias, as well as reference collections to gain a basic understanding of your topic. Use the recommended sources below to learn more:
Provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic reference books published by Gale. Publications indexed include dictionaries and encyclopedias. Subject coverage includes current events, health, business, science, art, history, humanities, biography and more. Full text access is based on institutional subscriptions.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=GVRL
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Designed to streamline the research process, Oxford Bibliographies Online (OUP) provides access to a comprehensive collection of selected and authoritative annotated bibliographies across a wide variety of subject areas. Includes expert recommendations on the best scholarly works available in each discipline. Publications indexed include books and book chapters, journal articles, websites, archival materials, and data sets. NOTE: UTEP's current subscription includes the following subject modules: African American Studies, American Literature, Atlantic History, British and Irish Literature, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Relations, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Management, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, and Sociology.
Provides complete full-text access to a comprehensive collection of dictionary, language, and subject reference works, including the entire Oxford Companions series and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Subject coverage includes art and architecture, biological sciences, business and economics, classical studies, computing, earth and environmental sciences, history, humanities, law, literature, medicine, folklore and mythology, performing arts, physical sciences and mathematics, politics and social science, as well as religion and philosophy. Includes both English language and bilingual dictionaries.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a fully-integrated online research methods tool designed to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects across multiple disciplines. Provides selected, full-text access to SAGE books, journals, and reference content.Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.
http://methods.sagepub.com
Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.
Provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic reference books published by Gale. Publications indexed include dictionaries and encyclopedias. Subject coverage includes current events, health, business, science, art, history, humanities, biography and more. Full text access is based on institutional subscriptions.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=GVRL
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
The Social Science Encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - A-H by 