The Therapeutic Research Center's (TRC) Pharmacy Academic Program sponsors free online access to The University of Texas at El Paso School of Pharmacy. Access to only RxSelect and Journal Club - Student Notes, including 10 training courses via the CE and Training platform (No assignment or reporting functionality). The TRC Academic Program provides access to evidence-based, peer-reviewed drug therapy information, including drug comparison charts, patient education materials, medication recommendations, disease-related charts and guidelines, clinical trial results, and legal and regulatory updates. Includes resources for clinical instruction and teaching literature evaluation. NOTE: Restricted to authorized UTEP users via username and password. Users must self-register and create an account.
The following databases require access credentials:
Food Chemicals Codex (FCC) Online
Herbal Medicines Compendium (HMC)
USP-NF (U.S. Pharmacopeia-National Formulary)
Contact the Serials and Electronic Resources Team to request access to a specific database at email@example.com.
Access Medicine from McGraw-HillThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to a selected collection of authoritative clinical reference and medical education titles authored by leading medical professionals from around the world. Content includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
Access PharmacyThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive full-text online access to a selected collection of authoritative pharmaceutical reference and education titles. Content includes multimedia, video, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and an integrated drug database.
AHFS Consumer Medication InformationThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to patient drug information in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, this database includes articles from more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
BMJ JournalsThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing, abstracting, and full text content for journals published by the BMJ Publishing Group, Ltd. Subject coverage is comprehensive pertaining to all aspects of medicine and the health sciences. Access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions.
Chromatographic ColumnsThis link opens in a new windowThe Chromatographic Columns online database is a compilation of the chromatographic columns used to validate chromatographic procedures in the USP–NF, Pharmacopeial Forum, Revision Bulletins, and Interim Revision Announcement. The database provides a cumulative listing of columns referenced in gas and liquid chromatographic methods related to revisions made to the USP–NF. Coverage: 1980-present. NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time via username and password. Contact the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT) to request access credentials.
Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a selected collection of pharmaceutical monograph and reference titles. Content includes pediatric and neonatal, patient drug and disease education, IV compatibility, toxicology, oncology and drug class overviews. Frequent updates.Access Information: Current UTEP faculty, staff, and students both on and off campus. Community users within Library building at public access computers only.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)This link opens in a new windowA collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews), the Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED). Includes full text, systematic reviews of empirical studies, complete with graphs, figures, odds-ratio diagrams, and tables, many of which can be manipulated for statistical analysis.
DynaMed Plus (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the "Point-of-Care (POC)." Composed of clinically-organized summaries on a wide variety of diseases, disorders, and symptoms. Includes information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, links to patient resources, and selected content from Micromedex Standard Drug Information (DRUGDEX). Peer-reviewed summaries are derived from medical journals, systematic evidence review databases, and journal review services.
Embase (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, international biomedical and pharmaceutical indexing database that contains bibliographic citations with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and MEDLINE (1966-present) that have been de-duplicated and are searchable with EMTREE, the Life Science Thesaurus. Subject coverage includes drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, nursing, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. Publications indexed include academic and trade journal articles, book series and book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, reports, letters, reviews, surveys and more.
Facts & Comparisons eAnswersThis link opens in a new windowProvides online access to comprehensive, current, and in-depth reference information for prescription drugs and over-the-counter products through Drug Facts and Comparisons. Enhances drug interaction checking and patient screening with authoritative data from Medi-Span Drug Therapy Monitoring System.
Food Chemicals Codex (FCC) OnlineThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to an online compendium of internationally recognized standards for determining the purity and quality of food ingredients, including processing aids, preservatives, flavorings, colorants, and nutrients. NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time via username and password. Contact the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT) to request access credentials.
Herbal Medicines Compendium (HMC)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Herbal Medicines Compendium (HMC) monographs, published by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention (USP), that provide standards for herbal ingredients used in herbal medicines. NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time via username and password. Contact the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT) to request access credentials.
Immunology Abstracts (ProQuest - Subfile)This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index for research literature pertaining to the study of immunology in both humans and animals. Subject coverage ranges from cancer and vaccine research to immune deficiencies and autoimmunity. Source literature includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, reports, and monographs.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive online database produced by Clarivate Analytics that provides indexing and abastracts for pharmaceutical and medical journals. Content includes more than 500,000 abstracted and indexed records from over 800 journals from around the world. Subjects include biopharmaceuticals and pharmacokinetics, legal and ethical considerations and pharmacist liability. Coverage: 1970 to present. NOTE: Access is limited to four concurrent users only.
LexicompThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive online database that provides point of care drug information including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. Subjects include Clinical Laboratory Science, Nursing and Pharmacy.
MEDICINEnetBASEThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a selected collection of medical reference e-books published by the CRC Press. Subject coverage includes allergy and immunology, anesthesiology, cardiology, clinical neuroscience, critical care medicine, dentistry, dermatology, diabetes, emergency medicine, endocrinology, gastroenterolgy, hematology, medical education, microbiology, infectious diseases, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pain management, psychology, sleep disorders, sports medicine, surgery, urology and more. Coverage: Titles published from 2011 to 2014 (updates vary).
MEDLINE (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index for international literature in biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Includes those areas of the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Micromedex Solutions: Web Applications Access (IBM)This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to evidence-based, point-of-care drug, disease, toxicology, and patient education information, including dosing, adverse effects, indications, and interactions.
Natural and Alternative Treatments (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowA specialized search interface that contains detailed information on many different health conditions along with the conventional and natural treatments used to remedy them. Materials indexed include full text articles on herbs and supplements as well as drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for a wide array of drug categories. Additional subject coverage includes alternative therapies, homeopathy, and functional foods. Information in the articles is based entirely on double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and other forms of meaningful scientific evidence.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database (NMCD)This link opens in a new windowProvides reliable, evidence-based, peer-reviewed information on natural ingredients, commercial products, and alternative therapies derived from detailed monographs. Subject coverage includes effectiveness and safety ratings, adverse reactions, brand name products and their ingredients, journal abstracts, USP Verified products, patient handouts, herb/drug interaction ratings, natural ingredients with known effectiveness ratings for a given condition or disease, and more.
Pharmacist's LetterThis link opens in a new windowThe Therapeutic Research Center's (TRC) Pharmacy Academic Program sponsors free online access to The University of Texas at El Paso School of Pharmacy. Access to only RxSelect and Journal Club - Student Notes, including 10 training courses via the CE and Training platform (No assignment or reporting functionality). The TRC Academic Program provides access to evidence-based, peer-reviewed drug therapy information, including drug comparison charts, patient education materials, medication recommendations, disease-related charts and guidelines, clinical trial results, and legal and regulatory updates. Includes resources for clinical instruction and teaching literature evaluation. NOTE: Restricted to authorized UTEP users via username and password. Users must self-register and create an account.
Pharmacopeial Forum (PF)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the Pharmacopeial Forum (PF) online journal in which USP publishes proposed revisions to the USP–NF for public review and comment. Information includes in-process revisions, proposed interim revision announcements (IRAs), PDG harmonization proposals and stimuli articles. Coverage: 2002- present (Updated every two months). NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time via username and password. Contact the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT) to request access credentials.
PharmacyLibrary (APhA)This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to the publications of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). Content includes textbooks, journals, case studies, active learning exercises, NAPLEX review materials and other APhA professional resources. Case studies include nonprescription drugs, diabetes care, QuEST/SCHOLAR-MAC and cases from the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.
PubMed (NCBI-NLM)This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include free full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
Sanford Guide All Access (Web & Mobile) EditionThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to the Sanford Guide Collection. Content includes antimicrobial, HIV/AIDS and viral hepatitis therapy, anti-infective drugs, prevention procedures, and tables and tools such as dosing calculators. Includes access to the Sanford Guide Mobile App for iOS, Andriod and Windows 10. Updated monthly. Only works with VPN.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
SciFinderThis link opens in a new windowFully-integrated, comprehensive, web-based resource for chemical and related scientific information composed of four Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. Chemical Abstracts Plus (CAplus) is a bibliographic index for international literature in general chemistry and related subject areas, including agriculture, biology, engineering, food science, geology, materials sciences, health science, physics, and polymer science. Publications indexed include journal articles, patents, patent families, technical disclosures and reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. CAS Registry provides information regarding chemical substances such as name, structure, and sequence; CASREACT includes information about chemical reactions; and CHEMCATS contains information about commercially available chemicals and their suppliers worldwide. Includes information about inventoried or regulated chemicals in key global markets. Provides access to MEDLINE for coverage of biomedicine. Coverage varies by title or database, ranging from 1778 - present overall (updated daily). NOTE: Registration with an active UTEP e-mail address ending in ".utep.edu" is required for new users. Returning users may access with login credentials set up during registration. For assistance with this resource, contact Robert Klapthor, Science Reference Librarian, at (915) 747-5040 or the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT).
SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text for the publications of Springer-Verlag, Birkhuser Verlag, Brill Academic, and other selected publishers on the MetaPress platform. Access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions. Multidisciplinary subject coverage includes arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, education, electrical engineering, environmental science, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, psychology, and the social sciences.
SpringerProtocolsThis link opens in a new windowSpringerProtocols provides full-text access to a comprehensive collection of authoritative, easily reproducible, step-by-step laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences compiled from HumanaΓÇÖs book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a wide range of laboratory handbooks such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Subject coverage includes biochemistry, bioinformatics, cancer research, genetics, genomics, imaging and radiology, immunology and infectious diseases, microbiology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, toxicology, plant sciences, and protein science.
Toxicology Abstracts (ProQuest - Subfile)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic index for professional literature covering all aspects of toxicology research. Subject coverage includes social poisons, substance abuse, natural toxins, radiation and radioactive materials, testing methodology, analytical procedures, legislation, recommended standards for environmental issues, and much more. Also includes toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and other substances. Publications indexed includes reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and monographs.
TOXLINE (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, technical reports, theses, dissertations, letters, meeting abstracts, and conference papers.
USP-NF (U.S. Pharmacopeia-National Formulary)This link opens in a new windowCurrent UTEP faculty, staff, and students ONLY both on and off campus. NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time via username and password.
The Chromatographic Columns online database is a compilation of the chromatographic columns used to validate chromatographic procedures in the USP–NF, Pharmacopeial Forum, Revision Bulletins, and Interim Revision Announcement. Provides a cumulative listing of columns referenced in gas and liquid chromatographic methods related to revisions made to the USP–NF. Coverage: 1980-present. NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time with UPS Access Point account.
USP Dictionary OnlineThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to the USP Dictionary of United States Adopted Names (USAN) and International Drug Names for nonproprietary drug names and chemical structures. In addition to USANs, the USP Dictionary provides International Nonproprietary Names (INNs), British Approved Names, Japanese Accepted Names, brand names, Unique Ingredient Identifier (UNII) codes, manufacturers, official USP–NF names, molecular weights, graphic formulas, pharmacologic and/or therapeutic categories, and pronunciations. Coverage: Annual (New edition published annually in December). NOTE: Access is limited to one authorized user at a time. USP Access Point account must be created to access content.
Virology and AIDS Abstracts (ProQuest - Subfile)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic index for international literature focusing on virology and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) studies. Every aspect of virology relevant to humans, animals, and plants is featured, with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology. Other subjects include the hepatitis B virus vaccination, viral genetics, and interferon. Materials indexed includes reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and monographs.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.
Wiley Online LibraryThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to the publications of John Wiley & Sons, Inc. and related imprints. Subject coverage includes business, economics, finance, accounting, chemistry, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, humanities, social science, information science and computing, law and criminology, life science, medicine, mathematics and statistics, health science, veterinary medicine, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, psychology, and more.
If the Library Doesn't Have It, We'll Get It For You!