MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
JSTORMultidisciplinary, multi-subject, general-purpose database. Excellent for social sciences. 9/10 would recommend!
Web of ScienceProvides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.
SpringerLinkMultidisciplinary subject coverage includes arts and humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, education, electrical engineering, environmental science, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, psychology, and the social sciences.
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (ProQuest)Selective bibliographic index for U.S. and international literature pertaining to criminal justice. Subject coverage includes law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Publications indexed include scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Most citations include abstracts and some include full-text or link to full-text content from other providers based on institutional subscriptions.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS), the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) provides full text access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)Comprehensive bibliographic index for current literature pertaining to all branches of the U.S. military and government. Materials indexed include magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, books, transcripts, newswires, and government documents.
ProQuest Criminal Justice (ProQuest)U.S. and international literature pertaining to criminal justice covering law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)Bibliographic index that provides complete full text access to peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and several allied organizations. Subject coverage includes general psychology as well as specialized, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research. Materials indexed include journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (ProQuest)Bibliographic index for international journal literature covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)International literature concerning world history since 1450, excluding the United States and Canada. Covering history, anthropology, genealogy, ethnic studies, political science, sociology, and more.
Stratfor: Global IntelligenceProvides access to geopolitical analysis and custom intelligence insight derived from selected open-source information concerning global news and events for individuals, governments, and businesses worldwide. Subject coverage includes economics, finance, military, energy, politics, terrorism, and international security. Publications indexed include specialized reports, web sites, videos, graphics, maps, charts, and more. Includes free content such as Geopolitical Weekly, Security Weekly, and Other Voices.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)Bibliographic index for international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. Publications indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Worldwide literature on business, management, marketing, management of information systems (MIS), economics, finance, international trade, international business, etc.
Legal Collection (EBSCO)selected literature from scholarly law journals concerning current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in law and related topics.Coverage includes criminal justice; international and federal law; organized crime; medical, labor and human resource law; ethics; the environment.
Frontera NorteSurFull-text online news coverage and analysis of events taking place in the United States-Mexico border region, covering commerce, border crossings, the environment, education, health, human rights, immigration, politics, and security
Each month Jane's analysts focus on the world’s most important, significant, and topical areas of national and international security interest to bring you detailed independent IMINT, news, and insight to broaden, deepen or validate your understanding of the worldwide security picture. Coverage includes:
Terrorism, insurgency and non-state armed groups
>Serious and organized crime
>Proliferation and procurement
Contains peer-reviewed articles that focus on international relations. A special trait of this journal is that multi-disciplinary approaches to relevant topics are encouraged. A good deal of articles pertaining to security and intelligence within; simply use the search box at the top of the page.
Presents research that incorporates theory and policy in issues of conflict and security. Search the journal using the search box at the top of the page; results can be narrowed by date, relevance, title, and author.
This publication is useful in that it reflects the truly multidisciplinary nature of foreign policy issues. Search using the 'search' box on the right hand of the screen. TIP: insert the search terms "Intelligence AND terrorism" into the search box; you'll be presented with a good number of timely and informative articles.
In this highly-venerated, peer-reviewed publication, one will find articles approached from multiple disciplines of research that include both historical perspectives and current contexts. Perhaps one of the most relevant journals for INSS researchers.
Dedicated to the advancement of intelligence as an academic study, this journal presents a platform for both professionals and scholars to discuss the issues and challenges involved when intelligence-based decisions are made-- both in the public and private sector.
Contains essays on the many aspects of the use of force in an international context. Very easy to search through the journal, using the 'search' box on the left side of the screen.
If you are looking for earlier issues of this publication than are provided by Project MUSE, please direct yourself to the journal's title on the library web-page, where access as far back as 1976 is available.
The first of its kind, this journal publishes archival material and first-hand accounts concerning the events of the Cold War as they occurred on both sides of the Atlantic. One should also note that this journal is peer-reviewed.
This journal publishes theoretical and empirical studies regarding the rising influence of sub-state conflict in the 21st century in order to shed light on new approaches and solutions to counter its growth.
It should also be noted that this publication ranks fairly respectably in Thompson Reuters' Journal Citations Reports.
Contains scholarly articles concerning Britain and its political relationship to Europe and to the world. Also addresses current events in the context of British politics. Includes a good deal of articles relating to how the threat of terrorism is being dealt with. Search the journal using the box on the right side of the screen, or feel free to browse by issue.