Resources to help students and researchers discover outstanding resources related to the scholarly study of the the fields of Intelligence and National Security.
Data sets and bibliographic citations to data sets on world conflict regions, direct military interventions, political interaction events, bilateral trade flows, memberships in conventional intergovernmental organizations, forcibly dislocated populations, and arms trade.
Collection of data on recent armed conflict(international and internal) throughout the world. Includes information on terrorism, refugees, displaced persons, weapons use and flows, fatalities, costs and timelines. Users can generate custom reports and download data. Created by the International Institute for Stategic Studies (IISS).
The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) is the world’s main provider of data on organized violence and the oldest ongoing data collection project for civil war, with a history of almost 40 years. Its definition of armed conflict has become the global standard of how conflicts are systematically defined and studied.
Internet clearinghouse of articles, database links, country profiles, source documents, and issues analyses regarding nuclear, biological, and chemical weaponry on a global perspective.
This site tracks global trade in small arms, light weapons, ammunition, and related implements used in international and civil violence, crime, and ethnic-conflict. Includes country studies and topical reviews.
Country profiles include an overview of each country's nuclear, chemical, biological, and missile programs, in-depth information on participation in relevant nonproliferation treaties and regimes, compilations of countries' official documents relating to nonproliferation, and links to related content.
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
An excellent site for GIS data for almost every country in the world. Very easy to use, comprehensive and a great starting point for files on administrative boundaries, water, roads, railroads, elevation, landcover, population, climate and a gazetteer.
A multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed journal of remote sensing and GIS. Published quarterly in Asia by Geocarto International Centre from 1986 to 2006 for international Access Services.
The NGA is focused on imagery and map based resources for US national defense and security. While much of the site is restricted, there is good information on NGA products such as imagery, geographical names or DEMs.
The OGC is a "non-profit, international, voluntary consensus standards organization that is leading the development of standards for geospatial and location based services." They have listed standards, a newsletter, events and more.
The Institute for Science and International Security (ISIS) is a non-profit, non-partisan institution dedicated to informing the public about science and policy issues affecting international security. Its primary focus is on stopping the spread of nuclear weapons and related technology to other nations and terrorists, bringing about greater transparency of nuclear activities worldwide, strengthening the international non-proliferation regime, and achieving deep cuts in nuclear arsenals.
The mission of the Jamestown Foundation is to inform and educate policy makers and the broader policy community about events and trends in those societies which are strategically or tactically important to the United States and which frequently restrict access to such information. Utilizing indigenous and primary sources, Jamestown’s material is delivered without political bias, filter or agenda. Particular attention is paid to Eurasia and terrorism.
The Big, Allied and Dangerous (BAAD) online platform features updated, vetted and sourced narratives, and relationship information and social network data on 50 of the most notorious terrorist organizations in the world since 1998, with additional network information on more than 100 organizations.
The Combating Terrorism Center at West Point educates, advises, and conducts research to equip present and future leaders with the intellectual tools necessary to understand the challenges of terrorism and counterterrorism.
FDD conducts in-depth research, produces accurate and timely analyses, identifies illicit activities, and provides policy options – all with the aim of strengthening U.S. national security and reducing or eliminating threats posed by adversaries and enemies of the United States and other free nations.
an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2017 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 180,000 cases.
ICT is an independent think tank providing expertise in terrorism, counter-terrorism, homeland security, threat vulnerability, risk assessment, intelligence analysis, national security and defense policy.
The Jamestown Foundation’s mission is to inform and educate policy makers and the broader community about events and trends in those societies which are strategically or tactically important to the United States and which frequently restrict access to such information. Utilizing indigenous and primary sources, Jamestown’s material is delivered without political bias, filter or agenda.
The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism—better known as START—is a university-based research and education center comprised of an international network of scholars committed to the scientific study of the causes and human consequences of terrorism in the United States and around the world. A Department of Homeland Security Emeritus Center of Excellence headquartered at the University of Maryland, START supports the research efforts of leading social scientists at more than 50 academic and research institutions, each of whom is conducting original investigations into fundamental questions about terrorism.
The Profiles of Individual Radicalization in the United States (PIRUS) dataset contains deidentified individual-level information on the backgrounds, attributes, and radicalization processes of over 1,800 violent and non-violent extremists who adhere to far right, far left, Islamist, or single issue ideologies in the United States covering 1948-2016.
he portal compiles behavioral, geographic, and temporal characteristics of extremist violence in the United States dating back to 1970. Through the portal, users are able to build search queries based on four data types including specific events, perpetrators of an act of terrorism or an extremist crime, groups, and/or court cases related to terrorism and extremist crime in the United States. The TEVUS Portal allows users access to data related to terrorist incidents, pre-incident activities, and extremist crimes in the United States and identifies relationships between these events and perpetrators, groups, and court cases in a dynamic, unique interface.
The official site of the CIA of course has a comprehensive 'about' section, but also provides access to detailed information on the different divisions of the organization, as well as to its multiple publications.
The FBI's official site contains historical and current information on the organization, including on its services, publications, news, and services. Navigate the home page by using the convenient drop-down tabs at the top of the page.
At this site you will find news about and background information on this organization. Particularly useful are the fact sheets, news feeds, and official documents.
The scope of DTIC's scientific and technical (S&T) collection covers all areas of defense research, including biological and medical science, environmental pollution and control, and behavioral and social science. The collection also contains Department of Defense (DoD) directives and instructions, budget information, conference and symposia proceedings, patents and patent applications, and other topics of interest to the defense community.
Search results from major search engines (not just Google) w/ privacy protection + objective results (not targeted/personalized based on your browsing history)
The Federal Government’s official, digital, searchable, secure resource for producing, procuring, cataloging, indexing, authenticating, disseminating, and preserving the official information products of the U.S. Government.
Full text access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.
