C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT
Examples of Primary Sources at the UTEP Library for Mexican-American History
Personal papers:
1) Stephenson-Flores family papers, MS341 (family history)
2) Mario T. Garcia papers, MS290 (research files on Mexican Americans)
3) Cleofas Calleros papers, MS231 (Mexican-American organizations, history)
4) Kohlberg family papers, MS369 (photos of Mexican workers at cigar factory)
Literary collections:
1) Abelardo Delgado collection, MS478
2) Carlos Morton papers, MS279
3) Jose Antonio Burciaga papers, MS412
Organizational records:
1) National Catholic Welfare Conference case files, MS173
2) Catholic Legal Immigration Network (CLINIC) citizenship and refugee files, MS397
3) Pan American Round Table of
4) Movimiento Estudantil Chicano de Atzlán (MEChA—UTEP Chapter), MS251
Business records:
1) El Paso Herald-Post records, MS348
2) Chisos Mining Company records, MS044
3) Southern Pacific Company (Rio Grande Division) records, MS077
Photographic collections:
1) Casasola Studio photos, PH041 (mostly portraits, 1930s-1960s)
2) Otis Aultmann photographs, PH023 (early El Paso and Juarez, 1900-1925)
3) Manuel Carrillo photographs, MS288 (Mexico, 1950s-1980s)
Directories:
El Paso city directories, 1889-
Maps:
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, MS133 (online as Digital Sanborn Maps from Proquest)
Assorted historical maps of
Oral Histories:
Over 900 oral history interviews, including many interviews done by Oscar Martinez that specifically discuss the perceptions of the term “Chicano.” Some of the oral histories are now online in Digital Commons at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/interviews/.
Government records:
Deed books, sheriffs' minute books, probate files, chattel mortgage books
Brewster, Culbertson, Davis, Hudspeth County records on microfilm MF541
(Birth, death, and marriage records; school census)
Eighth District Court of Appeals records, MS403
Mexican governmental records on microfilm:
Durango state historical archives, MF492 (online guide at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/guides/2/)
Municipal records:
Cd. Juarez, Chihuahua, Janos, Carrizal, Parral, MF513. MF491, etc.
(Juárez Municipal Archives guide online at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/guides/1/)
Other archives:
Archivo Judicial de Parral, Chih., MF546
Archivo Judicial de Guerrero, Chih., MF502
Official Gazettes:
Periodico Oficial de Chihuahua (under several titles), MF472
Church records on microfilm:
Archdiocese of
Cathedral of
Cathedral of Cd. Juarez (Mission of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe), MF489
San Elizario birth, death, and marriage records, MF473
Ysleta baptism records, MF474
Newspapers on microfilm:
Prospector (see also Newspaperarchive.com)
Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua
El Paso Herald-Post (see also Newspaperarchive.com)
El Paso Times
El Continental
El Fronterizo
El Paso del Norte
Samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers
Mexican American newspapers and newsletters such as Nosotros, the publications of the UTEP MEChA chapter.
Other resources:
Chicano vertical files. These were started and maintained by the Chicano Services Office, a library office in the1970s and 1980s.
CoMexAz News Monitoring Service (clippings from May, 1972-Dec. 1980) Spec. Coll. Chicano E184.M5C64 f
Original art by several Mexican American artists, including Manuel Acosta, Luis Jiménez, and José Cisneros
Posters from the Chicano era
Vinyl record albums of Tejano, Border, and Mexican music
Contact information:
Special Collections main desk: (915) 747-5697
Claudia Rivers (915) 747-6725 e-mail: crivers@utep.edu
Laura Hollingsed (915) 747-6726 e-mail: lholling@utep.edu
Web site: http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/
| 500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672 |
