Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History seminar--Native Americans

Primary Sources - Native American History

UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO LIBRARY

C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT

 

Primary source materials for Native American history     

 

Personal papers:   Cleofas Calleros papers, Brian Brown papers, C. L. Sonnichsen papers

                       

                        Congressional papers:   Richard C. White papers, Ron Coleman papers

 

Photographic collections:   Mexican Revolution photograph collection, El Paso Times negatives, El Paso Herald-Post photo files, Diana Molina photographs, Aultman photographs, etc.

 

Books:   Southwest and Border Studies Collection: especially books starting with the E99 call number.

            Special Collections Reference:  Ysleta del Sur Pueblo archives (4 volumes, call number E99.T52 Y75 2000), Handbook of North American Indians (volumes 2, 3, 9, &10; E77 .H25 v.2)

 

Maps: Assorted historical maps of Texas, the Southwest, and Mexico

 

Oral Histories:  Over 900 oral history interviews, some with references to Native Americans

 

Government records:

            Texas county and local records:

            El Paso County Records

            Mexican municipal records on microfilm:

            Cd. Juarez, Chihuahua, Janos, Carrizal,Parral

            Other Mexican archives on microfilm:

            Archivo Judicial de Parral, Chih.

            Archivo Judicial de Guerrero, Chih.

            Official Gazettes on microfilm and in hard copy:

            Peridióco Oficial de Chihuahua (under several titles)

           

Church records:  Archdiocese of Santa Fe, Cathedral of Durango, Dgo., Cathedral of Cd. Juarez (Mission of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe)

 

Microfilm: Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Archives: [the Tigua file /compiled by Nicholas Houser and Tom Diamond] MF554  

     Records of the Southern Superintendency of Indian Affairs, 1832-70, MF 1623 .M640 (22 reels of film)

     Letters sent by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1881,  MF 1623 .M21 (166 reels)

     Records of the New Mexico Superintendency of Indian Affairs, 1849-80, MF 1622 .T21 (30 reels)

 

Newspapers:  El Paso Times, El Paso Herald, El Paso Herald-Post, The Lone Star, other El Paso newspapers on microfilm.   Refer to Newspaperarchive in the databases to view El Paso Herald-Post from 1931-1977.  Also samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers.

 

 

 

Special Collections phone: 747-5697; hours: MTThF 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; W 8 a.m. - 9 p.m.; Sat. 10-2

Claudia Rivers, Special Collections Librarian, phone 747-6725; e-mail crivers@utep.edu

Special Collections web page address:  http://libraryweb.utep.edu/speccoll/  

 

 

 

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |