History

NUGGET
UTEP Library’s online catalog. Helpful subject headings: Greece-Civilization, Greece-History, Greek… and  Athens.

• Helpful subheadings include:  Antiquities  /  Civilization  /  Religion  /   Social Life and Customs
• Other headings:  Cities and Towns Ancient  / Extinct Cities
• Library of Congress Subject Headings  (REF DESK Z695.Z8 L524) list many related subtopics under the headings above.

Cambridge Ancient History 13 vols.  (REF D57 .C252)
Standard, exhaustive work on ancient history. Several volumes cover Greece.  Extensive and worthwhile bibliographies in each edition.  In addition to politics and events, discussions of social, cultural and other topics.

Brill’s New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World (REF  DE5 .N4813)
Translation of the  updated classic German work (Der Neue Pauly: Enzyklopädie der Antike)  Only A-C currently published.

Larousse Encyclopedia of Ancient and Medieval History (REF D59 L373)
Short, easy to read narrative history rather than an encyclopedia. Heavily illustrated, no bibliography.

Oxford History of the Classical World (REF DE59 .O94)
Covers history and other aspects of Greek and Roman life. Chapter bibliographies, chronology, illustrations.

Oxford Classical Dictionary 2ed. (REF DESK DE5 .O9)
People, places, events, things, etc. Entries vary in length from short paragraph to several pages in length, many with appended bibliography.

Illustrated Encyclopaedia of the Classical World (REF DE5 .I55)
One volume work, heavily illustrated. Many entries with bibliographic information. Maps, tables of rulers.

Sacks, David. Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World  (REF DF 16 .S23)
Assumes no knowledge of the subject. Extensive bibliography & index.

Encyclopedia Americana  (REF  AE5 .E333)
Encyclopaedia Britannica  (REF  AE5 .E363)
@ 50 pages on history, culture, social life, etc. of ancient Greece, with bibliography after each section.  Separate, brief essays on individuals, places and events.  Good start for a general orientation to the subject.