HIST 5309 - Meringer

Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).

Fully-integrated open-access content discovery platform that provides indexing for primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. Selected content is derived from collection descriptions found in WorldCat bibliographic records and from finding aids harvested from ArchiveGrid contributors' websites. Materials indexed include historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies of desired materials.

Provides complete full text access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica as well as the following other resources: World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, Year in Review, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, World Atlas, Timelines, and more. Materials indexed include encyclopedia, newspaper, journal, and magazine articles; selected, rated, and reviewed Internet sites; illustrations, ranging from photographs and drawings to images, maps, and flags; and video and other media. Subject coverage is comprehensive and multidisciplinary.

Provides complete full text access to several comprehensive sets of declassified government documents dealing with U.S. national security policy. Subjects include Afghanistan, the Berlin and Cuban Missile Crises, China, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Iraqgate, Japan, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, South Africa, and the U.S. Intelligence Community. Documents indexed include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, e-mail, confidential letters, and other formerly classified materials.

Bibliographic index that contains citations to articles and book reviews published in scholarly journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as selected articles from international academic journals dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, Mexico, and Hispanic Americans or Latinos. Most journals are peer-reviewed or refereed. Subject focus excludes the pure and technical sciences and focuses on the social sciences and humanities.

Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.

Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

Online news service published by the Inter-American Dialogue. It provides access to three weekly electronic news bulletins: Latin America Advisor (every business day).

Developed as one of the initiatives under the collaboration between the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin Libraries, this site organizes and provides access to a widely-varied collection of Internet-based and editorially reviewed resource guides pertaining to Latin America. Subject coverage with respect to Latin American Studies includes economics, education, geography, the environment, political science, humanities, computer science, library science, communication, science, social science, sociology, and more. Updates vary.

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).

Provides full text access to an extensive collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by the most important women writers of Mexico, Central America, and South America. Includes essays by principal Latin American feminists and revolutionaries. Updated bi-weekly.

Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.

Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.

Provides access to the online version of the CIS Index containing bibliographic citations and abstracts of congressional publications, including the CIS Legislative Histories (1970 - present). Includes full text access to congressional reports and voting records, House and Senate documents, bills, and public laws as well as to committee reports, selected prints, and schedules. Other full text publications include: U.S. Code, Congressional Record, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.

Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.

Provides full-text access to a Spanish language reference database. Formats include magazines, newswires, reference books, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1975 - present (updated daily). This database is made possible by TexShare.

Full-text digital collection based on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and other major sources. Contains important and many hard-to-find primary source materials about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Publications include books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, religious beliefs, society and culture, politics, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.

Provides complete full text/full image access to historical primary source materials pertaining to Latin America and the Caribbean derived from archival collections in the United States and Europe. Archival materials indexed include original historical manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, biographies, ephemera, and much more.