Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: NewspaperARCHIVE.com: World Collection
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest)
Provides access to ProQuest's Library Edition of the comprehensive consumer-based Ancestry.com online genealogy resource that includes vital records for individuals from North America (US and Canada), the United Kingdom (UK), Europe and Australia. Source materials include census information, birth and death records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, telephone directories, photographs, maps, and more. Continually updated.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe.
Full-text multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography and culture, sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) and distributed in partnership with the University of North Texas. Categories include people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and more.
Hemeroteca Digital de Chihuahua (INPRO)
Provides full-text access to selected Spanish language articles derived from Mexican newspapers and magazines covering the state of Chihuahua, Mexico. Includes selected articles from newspapers and periodicals from other Mexican states as well as from the El Paso, Texas area. Coverage: 1976 - present (updated daily).
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (NewsBank/Readex)
Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.
| 500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672 |
