Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription. Submit feedback to e-resources@utep.edu.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a varied collection of digital streaming videos from a broad range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Content includes thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Includes films from various distributors such as BBC, CBS, NBS, PBS, VEA, Filmakers Library, Insight Media, Stanley Milgram, Envision, Annenberg Learning and Bloomberg. NOTE: Selected content within this database is funded, in part, by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Accessible Archives: African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New
Contains the following Newspapers.
The Canadian Observer (1914–1919); The Christian Recorder (1851–1902); The Colored American (1837–1841); Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 859–1863); Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829); The National Era (1847–1860); The North Star (1847–1851); Provincial Freeman (1854–1857); Weekly Advocate (1837–1837); The Freedmen’s Record (1865-1874); The Negro Business League Herald (1909)
Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
New
Provides access to ProQuest's Library Edition of the comprehensive consumer-based Ancestry.com online genealogy resource that includes vital records for individuals from North America (US and Canada), the United Kingdom (UK), Europe and Australia. Source materials include census information, birth and death records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, telephone directories, photographs, maps, and more. Continually updated.
Anthropology Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
New
As part of the Anthropology Resource Library, Anthropology Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Includes works by Franz Boas (The Mind of Primitive Man), Ruth Benedict (Tales of the Cochiti Indians), Margaret Mead (Coming of Age in Samoa), Claude LeviStrauss (Structural Anthropology), Clifford Geertz (The Interpretation of Cultures), A. R. RadcliffeBrown (Structure and Function in Primitive Society), David MacDougall (Transcultural Cinema), Paul Rabinow (Essays on the Anthropology of Reason), E. E. Evans-Pritchard (Nuer Religion), and Bronislaw Malinowski (Argonauts of the Western Pacific). Anthropology Online is cross-searchable with Ethnographic Video Online and is essentially the full-text equivalent of the streaming video database. Updates vary.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals and general interest titles that covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
A reader’s advisory database that includes reviews, award winners, themed book lists, and more resources. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Mapped to four key business stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—this resource covers all major areas of starting and operating a business. Content covers accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Business: Insights Global This link opens in a new window
Over 460,000 company profiles, including 2,000 with deep links to related content and Refinitiv statistical data. Includes comparative data on global economies, countries, and industries. Updated daily. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Chilton Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to repair, maintenance, and service information on cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs. Content includes factory-tested service, repair, and replacement information from the original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) along with more than 2,500 easy-to-access videos and animations. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Most content is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries. Includes reference, newspaper, and audio content. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Content includes information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Content includes videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from major periodicals and newspapers. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary content that reinforces critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Access includes full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Also included are images, videos, and audio selections. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale In Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Provides age-appropriate, curriculum-related content that covers a broad range of subjects, like animals, geography, health, influential people, literature, social studies, sports, and technology. Content includes articles, magazines, eBooks, periodicals, reference materials, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides content on Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, water privatization, ecotourism, green economy, and more. Includes case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more. Updated daily. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Provides grades 9–12 with standards-aligned content to help with papers, projects, and presentations covering business and economics, geography, government, history, literature, science and health, social issues, and more. Content includes biographies, primary sources, multimedia, critical essays, news, academic journals and more. Updated daily. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more. Topics include cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content. Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Interactive Science This link opens in a new window
A virtual lab that gives students in middle and high school grades the power to see beyond static text. Provides interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation that allows zooming in, rotating, or pulling models apart to explore and experiment with complex scientific topics. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. Subject coverage includes literature, history, arts, gender studies, or cultural studies throughout time. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and writers throughout history. Includes more than 150,000 full-text literary works and over 800,000 poetry citations as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new window
Original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window
In-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive view of current and authoritative periodical content that spans the agriculture industry--from practical aspects of farming to scientific research in horticulture. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications. Updated daily. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Brings together information found in more than 400 journals on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Provides content on law, law enforcement, terrorism, homeland security, forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, training for paralegal service, and more. Content from more than 250 journals. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
Offers a smorgasbord of information—more than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community covering content in the social sciences, history, and liberal arts. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text academic journals and magazines—with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical and journal articles on multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Features the entire Business Plans Handbook series, which contains over 1,000 of sample business plans created by real-life entrepreneurs. New plans are added quarterly. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes articles on drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database includes over 500 journals, with more than 400 available in full text. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles from Delmar, including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, LGBTQ community, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative, reliable digital content from magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books appropriate for middle- and high-school students and covers a wide range of subjects, including science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Home Improvement This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries including information on state parks and on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Information Science This link opens in a new window
Updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Content covers Arts and Humanities, Business and Industry, Economics, Engineering, Health & Medicine, Languages and Linguistics, Literature and Writing, Mathematics, Political Science, Regional History, Science & Technology, Social Sciences and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability This link opens in a new window
Provides updated articles from leading journals, including: Business Insurance, Claims, Employee Benefit News, National Underwriter Life & Health, Pensions & Investments, Risk Management, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. Updated annually, the database contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Updated daily. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database has information covering social science, history, art and liberal arts. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the most searched magazines across the OneFile products. Titles include those recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries." The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Provides access to periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Updated daily, the database resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily. Content covers particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering U.S. history. Updated daily. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Provides a cross-search platform to do one search across multiple GALE databases, including GALE OneFile, GALE in Context, and GALE eBooks. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Gale Presents: National Geographic Kids This link opens in a new window
National Geographic Kids includes the complete run of the magazine from the first issue in 2009 to the present and provides authoritative, age-appropriate digital content suitable for younger students in subjects like English Language Arts, social studies, and science. The database is made possible by TexShare.
Latin American Advisor This link opens in a new window
New
Online news service published by the Inter-American Dialogue. It provides access to three weekly electronic news bulletins: Latin America Advisor (every business day).
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
New
UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to the New York Times digital newspaper subscription. Create your own account to start using.
New
Provides complete full text/full image access to a selected collection of historical Black newspapers with coverage beginning as early as 1893 through as late as 2010. Subject coverage includes articles, obituaries, photos, editorials and more. Content includes the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.
New
Alternate Name(s): El Paso Times & El Paso Herald-Post (ProQuest)
Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the El Paso Times from 1881 to current. The El Paso Herald-Post has full-text/full-image access for the years 1896-1997. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.
NOTE: El Paso Herald Post content will begin loading in December 2022.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
New
Provides hundreds of thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more. Access professional-quality demographic data from the most trusted sources, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, Population Estimates, LEHD and more.
Taylor & Francis eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
New
Provides complete full text access to electronic books (E-Books) across a wide variety of disciplines including science, technology, engineering, medicine, humanities and social science.
New
Provides online access to drama texts from diverse playwrights, high definition performance videos, documentaries, interviews, audio plays, contextual reference material, and production design archival content. Included are 850 hours of filmed stage performances, documentaries, and video training materials.
New
Provides access to WSJ.com for students, faculty, and staff. Activation is required using UTEP email.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |