Skip to Main Content

Business Plans

Industry, Market, & Company Information

INDUSTRY, MARKET & COMPANY INFORMATION

Demographics & Census Information

DemographicsNow: Library Edition (Gale)

Developed by SRC, LLC, DemographicsNow provides the means to analyze the demographic and market potential of any geographical area in the United States. Features include the ability to create custom reports, perform market analyses, create fully-interactive maps, create radius-based maps and reports, and create summary as well as comparison reports. Includes access to 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 U.S. Census data as well as Experian/Applied Geographic Solutions (AGS) current year estimates and five-year projections. Reports include many demographic variables such as socioeconomic status, employment, mobility, and more.

Census Business Builder - Uses Census and other government data to help businesses explore demographics and spending patterns.

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Includes the Consumer Expenditure Survey and the American Time Use Survey.

U.S. Census Bureauthe leading source for demographics and economic information in the nation.

SimmonsInsights

Provides access to a wide variety of customizable market and advertising research reports on the SimmonsInsights platform. Datasets are derived from the Simmons National Consumer Study (NCS) and the Simmons National Hispanic Consumer Study (NHCS). Survey samples are drawn from U.S. adult consumers and include all behavioral, psychographic, and media use measures. Segmentations include Mosaic, Health and Well-Being, Technology Adoption, Economic Outlook, Mobile Consumer, Food Lifestyle, Retail Shopping, Movie/TV Product Placement, and more. Dataset Coverage: Fall 2017 (updates vary). Academic datasets are two years behind commercial datasets. NOTE: Access is limited to five concurrent users. UTEP login credentials are required for access.

Additional Sources of Industry Financial Ratios

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios / by Leo Troy. Chicago : CCH Incorporated, 2005- Latest Received is Available in the Reserve Desk 3 Hr. Loan.  Older editions in Reference HF5681.R25 T68

Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by SIC code. This publication is compiled from corporate tax returns, C and S, filed with the U.S. Internal Revenue Service. According to the publisher, IRS data are the only publicly available financial information on all active corporations. Other sources cover large or publicly held corporations.

Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios (Mergent)

Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides online access to industry benchmarks compiled from Dun & Bradstreet's database of public and private companies. Content includes industry and company reports and ratios. Coverage: Most current three years (annual updates). NOTE: See Mergent Archives for access to archival back-files (1979 to 2016).

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |