Citing Sources - HIST 5370 - Shepherd - UTEP Library Research Guides at The University of Texas at El Paso

Chicago Manual of Style

Historians use The Chicago Manual of Style as a style guide.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Provides complete full-text access to the 15th and 16th editions of The Chicago Manual of Style as well as the Chicago Style Q&A. Also provides access to the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide for examples of how to use Chicago-style citation.

https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org

Citing Archival Materials

Citations for archival materials are often institution-specific. Please consult holding institutions, finding aids, or other guides for preferred citations.

Generally, for footnotes or end notes you cite archival materials in collections by the item, box number, folder number, collection name and number, and institution.

Sometimes archival collections do not have box numbers or folder numbers.

Here are some examples:

Petition, The City of El Paso to the Texas Centennial Commission, MS419, C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department, The University of Texas at El Paso Library.

“El Pasoans and the Neighbors Greet You Amigo!,” program, Box 28, Folder 16, Cleofas Calleros papers, MS231, C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department, The University of Texas at El Paso Library.

See The Chicago Manual of Style for more information.

RefWorks

RefWorks
RefWorks can be used to create and organize a personalized database of bibliographic references imported from text files, online databases, or input by hand. It formats both references and manuscript into various writing styles, such as MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, IEEE, and more. Microsoft Word and MS Internet Explorer users can insert cited references directly into their manuscripts by using Write-N-Cite.

NOTE: A valid UTEP e-mail address (".utep.edu") is required for new account set-up. Click here if you need help getting started. Contact Debjani Mukhopadhyay, Engineering Reference Librarian, at (915) 747-6715 or Lisa Borden, Electronic Resources Librarian, at (915) 747-6709 if you need further assistance.