UTEP Library Research Guides: WS 2300 -- Fertman: Introduction to Womens Studies: Databases

Selected Databases

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more.

This is a selected list of databases pertaining to Women's & Gender Studies. For a complete list select: Women's Studies from the subject drop-down menu in the "Articles & Databases" tab on the Library home page.

Access Newspaper Archive
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
Chicano Database
Comprehensive bibliographic index for a wide variety of literature pertaining to Mexican-Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Derived from materials in the Chicano Studies Collection held by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this database includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Other subjects include art, economics, film, folklore, health, history, labor, language, law, literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, and women's studies.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides abstracts and full text for international literature in the field of Women's Studies. Subject coverage includes domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender equity, the family, lesbian studies, reproductive health, and human rights.
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
This digital collection provides access to an entire international library spanning four centuries and documenting the lives and experiences of women in the public and private arenas. Subject coverage includes international women's history and the feminist movement.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online
Bibliographic index that contains citations to articles and book reviews published in scholarly journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as selected articles from international academic journals dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, Mexico, and Hispanic Americans or Latinos.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch

Latin American Women Writers
Provides full text access to an extensive collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by the most important women writers of Mexico, Central America, and South America. Includes essays by principal Latin American feminists and revolutionaries.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type.
NOTE: Does not work well from off campus.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
Provides full text/full image access to a large, select collection of North American women's correspondence and diaries from Colonial times to 1950. Subject coverage includes American history, Canadian history, women's studies, gender and diversity studies, biographies, language and literature, sociology, and genealogy. Materials indexed include both previously unpublished as well as published items drawn from journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.
https://muse.jhu.edu/

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000
Provides integrated full text/full image access to a specialized collection of primary source materials pertaining to U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Subject coverage focuses primarily on the history of women in social movements in the United States from 1600 - 2000.
Women and Social Movements, International: 1840 to Present
Provides integrated full-text/full-image access to a specialized collection of primary source materials pertaining to international women's history from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day.

Streaming Videos

Academic Video Online
Provides access to a varied collection of digital streaming videos from a broad range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Content includes thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Includes films from various distributors such as BBC, CBS, NBS, PBS, VEA, Filmakers Library, Insight Media, Stanley Milgram, Envision, Annenberg Learning and Bloomberg.
Docuseek2
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.
Films on Demand
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
Kanopy
Provides access to the complete digital streaming video collection of the Media Education Foundation (MEF) on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.

WS 2300 -- Fertman: Introduction to Womens Studies

Remote Access

Interlibrary Loan

Statistics

Selected Databases

Streaming Videos