Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Digital image database of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Subject coverage includes the arts, architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by art researchers and art historians. Registration is recommended in order to take advantage of all ARTstor features. UTEP faculty and library staff may request instructor privileges that will allow them to create folders to share image groups with students or colleagues.
https://library.artstor.org
NOTE: This database is funded in part by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
Provides full text/full image access to a digital collection of selected historical content pertaining to hispanic social history, literature, politics, religion, and culture in the United States derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include scholarly monographs and reference books, selected historical newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, periodicals, pamphlets, broadsides, and more. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: Colonial times - 1960.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=h6a
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Mexic-Arte Museum’s Permanent Collection is composed of over 4,000 works of historic and contemporary Mexican, Latinx, and Latin American art and material culture. The Collection features The Serie Print Project Archive, the Ernesto F. De Soto Collection, Juan Sandoval Collection, Taller de la Gráfica Popular Print Collection, Mexican Dance Masks, and other works.
Collecting at the DeGolyer Library focuses on the U.S. West, the Spanish borderlands, transportation, business history and much more. Besides books, manuscripts and maps, the DeGolyer has over 900,000 photographs and is especially rich in Mexican photography.
The museum holds the largest collection of international folk art in the world, numbering more than 130,000 objects from more than 100 countries. The core collection of 2,500 objects was donated by museum founder Florence Dibell Bartlett.
It was inaugurated in 1934 with the name of the Museum of Plastic Arts, it is considered the first museum in Mexico. Currently, the Museum of the Palace of Fine Arts permanently exhibits 17 mural works by Diego Rivera, Manuel Rodríguez Lozano, Roberto Montenegro, David Alfaro Siqueiros, Rufino Tamayo and Jorge González Camarena dating from 1928 to 1963; It also has a large program of temporary exhibitions and various activities for all audiences
It was founded in 1964 on the initiative of President Adolfo López Mateos with the aim of preserving and disseminating Mexican art from the 1930s. The Museum has 4 rooms and three galleries, and among its collection are pieces by artists such as Frida. Kahlo, David Alfaro Siqueiros, Emir Jair, Roberto Montenegro, José Clemente Orozco, Louis Henri Jean Charlot, Juan Soriano, Juan O'Gorman, Diego Rivera, among others.
Located in the middle of the jungle, this museum was built with the goal of showing the development of the Mayan culture from pre-Hispanic times to the present. The building, designed by the architect Fernando González Gortázar, was conceived as a disjointed set among the jungle that has respect for nature as the axis of its design. It is conformed by four rooms: Pergola of the monoliths, Mayan Archeology, History, and Solar Mayan. The museum exhibits monolithic prehispanic sculptures of Yucatan, Campeche and Quintana Roo, as well as ceramic and architectural elements that give an account of the history and worldview of this town.
In 1996, this enclosure, designed by the architect Mario Shetjnan, opened its doors to show its collection, which houses one of the most beautiful archaeological collections of Ancient Mexico. This collection was recovered from the excavations of Paquimé and other archaeological sites of the region known as the Great Chichimeca (North of Mexico and Southwest of the United States).
The museum, located in Chihuahua, was declared a Cultural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO in 1998 because it preserves unique pieces of its kind.
It was inaugurated in 1987 to expose the vestiges of the Mexica culture from pre-Hispanic to colonial times. The museum houses more than 14,000 objects found in excavations carried out between 1978 and 1982 on the site where the main temple of the Mexica people was located.
The museum has 8 rooms that exhibit objects from more than 110 offerings discovered in the temple; two of the rooms are dedicated specifically to Tlaloc and Huitzilopochtli, deities to which the Templo Mayor was dedicated.
This museum is popularly known as the Blue House, and is dedicated to Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. The building in which this museum has been established is the house in which the artist lived for most of her life, and has been preserved as it was then.
