Skip to main content

ACCOUNTING 5314-Devos

This guide is designed to help you access articles from accounting professional (or practitioners) journals.

Publications Accounting Professionals Should Read

Professional (or Practitioner) journals can be very helpful to accountants, auditors, and financial professionals.  These publications will help professionals stay abreast of new accounting trends and practices. Following is a selected list of publications accounting professionals should read regularly.  Articles from these journals are accessed via the Business Source Complete database.

The CPA Journal

Journal of Accountancy

Accounting Today

Accounting Horizons

CFO

Strategic Finance

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************

The CPA Journal 

Reviews: The CPA Journal is a monthly, technical-refereed publication of the New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants. It has been one of the leading national accounting publications for almost 90 years. It is "[e]dited by CPAs for CPAs," and its goal is to provide accounting practitioners, educators, regulators, and other financial professionals with analysis, perspective, and debate on developments in the areas of accounting, auditing, taxation, finance, management, technology, and professional ethics. Content includes the latest news and developments for auditing standards, technology, IRS tax issues, legislation and regulation, taxation, e-commerce, budgeting, trends, and more. The focus is on practical information and thoughtful analysis of relevant issues. Article formats include general interest, technical interest, and those that express an opinion, perspective, or viewpoint. The journal's editorial and review process ensures the highest technical quality. The full text of The CPA Journal is available online going back to 1989, and digital analysis is offered at cpajournal.com. (Adams, Christine)

Content Type: Trade

Audience: Special adult

Journal of Accountancy  search.ebscohost.com.lib.utep.edu/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth]

Reviews: In publication for almost 115 years, the Journal of Accountancy is the flagship publication of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, whose members include finance and accounting professionals from public accounting firms, corporations, government agencies, and nonprofit organizations. Each issue contains feature articles on accounting, financial reporting, auditing, taxation, personal financial planning, technology, business valuation, professional development, ethics, liability issues, consulting, practice management, education, and more. Articles are presented relating to the following categories: "Practical," "Corporate," "Technical," "Professional Issues," and "Future." "Practical" articles discuss business problems and offer actual or hypothetical solutions. "Corporate" articles explore the aspects of corporate finance. "Technical" articles cover new standards or best practices, including regulatory actions. "Professional Issues" articles address issues facing the accounting profession and provide guidance. "Future" articles are based on academic research or fast-moving trends that have an immediate or near-future impact on the accounting profession. Editorial content relates practical guidance and in-depth analysis of relevant issues. (Adams, Christine)

Content Type: Trade

Audience: Academic/Special adult

Accounting Today search.ebscohost.com.lib.utep.edu/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth]

Reviews: Accounting Today provides analysis, breaking news, opinion and expert advice, and practical business-building ideas to help practitioners make informed decisions. The monthly publication is geared to public accounting professionals who provide tax preparation, bookkeeping, auditing, financial planning, and business advisory and consulting services to individuals and small businesses. AT focuses on the industry's most important concerns, including tax law, accounting standards, technology, audit assurances, and wealth management. The title's annual rankings, especially the Top 100 Firms and the Top 100 Most Influential People in Accounting, are of widespread note in the accounting profession. AccountingToday.com, the companion website, offers breaking news, in-depth features, insightful editorial analysis, and more. (Adams, Christine)

Audience: Academic/Special adult

Accounting Horizons

Reviews: Accounting Horizons is a refereed, scholarly journal published quarterly by the American Accounting Association. One of the main objectives of the publication is "to establish a dialogue--a bridge of ideas--between accounting academics and the business community." The content is written for academics and professionals, including researchers, educators, practitioners, regulators, and students of accounting. Articles focus on a wide variety of accounting topics and provide insight into the accounting profession as a whole, from ethics to financial reporting to regulation of the profession. Topics are relevant to current accounting issues and the future of the accounting profession. Also presented are reviews of professional literature, commentaries on practice, and reports of current events. (Adams, Christine)

Audience: Special adult

CFO: the magazine for senior financial executives 

Description: Covers all matters of interest to senior financial executives, along with profiles of prominent individuals, surveys of how companies manage their working capital, and reports on government, business, and taxation trends.

Strategic Finance (formerly Management Accounting) - Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) http://0-search.ebscohost.com.lib.utep.edu/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bft

Strategic Finance is the monthly flagship publication of the Institute of Management Accountants, a worldwide professional association for accountants and finance professionals working in business. The goal is to cover all the important topics and trends that impact accountants and financial professionals in business, including sustainability, risk management, strategy, financial planning, the changing roles of the CFO and the finance function, budgeting, capital decisions, technology, careers, leadership, and more. The magazine provides timely and relevant information about practices and trends in finance, accounting, and information management. Articles are written with practitioners in mind and offer advice to help readers perform their jobs more effectively, advance their careers, grow personally and professionally, and make their organizations more profitable. A notable feature is the Annual Career Issue and Salary Survey, where IMA members' salaries are evaluated. Access to select articles is available at the IMA website, and back issues are available for purchase. (Adams, Christine)

Content Type: Trade

Audience: Special adult

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |