Finding Sources - HIST 3391 - Stanfield - UTEP Library Research Guides at The University of Texas at El Paso

Select Resources

African American Women and the Vote, 1837-1965 by Gordon, Ann D. (Ann Dexter)
Call Number: Main Stacks JK 1924.A47 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Alice Paul: Equality for Women by Lunardini, Christine A., 1941-
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2013
Elizabeth Cady Stanton: An American Life by Ginzberg, Lori D.
Call Number: Main Stacks HQ1413.S67 G43 2009
Publication Date: 2009
It Changed My Life: Writings on the Women's Movement by Friedan, Betty
Call Number: Main Stacks HQ1413.F75A34 1976
Publication Date: 1976
Jewish Radical Feminism Voices from the Women’s Liberation Movement by Antler, Joyce
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2018
Lucy Stone: an Unapologetic Life by McMillen, Sally G. (Sally Gregory), 1944-
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2015
Ruth Bader Ginsburg: a Life in American History by Hendricks, Nancy
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2021
Sojourner Truth: Prophet of Social Justice by Richman, Isabelle Kinnard
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2016
The Speeches of Fannie Lou Hamer: To Tell It Like It Is by Brooks, Maegan Parker
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2010
Suffrage reconstructed: Gender, Race, and Voting Rights in the Civil War Era by Free, Laura E., 1971-
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2015
Women's Movements in the United States: Woman Suffrage, Equal Rights, and Beyond by Buechler, Steven M., 1951-
Call Number: Main Stacks HQ 1426.B8 1990
Publication Date: 1990

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=NCNP&u=txshracd2603
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide variety of primary source material in American history. Archival content is organized into subject collections derived from leading historical periodicals and books, newspapers, diaries, and genealogical records. Included are eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, and commerce as seen through advertisements. Entries include full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed collections include: African American Newspapers, The Civil War, Part I - A Newspaper Perspective, Civil War, Part II - The Soldiers' Perspective, Civil War, Part III - The Generals' Perspective, Civil War, Part IV - A Midwestern Perspective, Civil War, Part V - Iowa's Perspective, Civil War, Part VI - Northeast Regimental Histories, Quarantine and Disease Control in America.
https://www.accessible.com
Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
UTEP's annual subscription is limited to newspapers from the state of Texas only, including selected content from the El Paso Times, the El Paso Herald, the El Paso Herald-Post, and The Prospector.
African American Historical Serials Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this digital collection provides full-text/full image access to a selected set of rare, fragmented, and endangered historical serial publications related to African American religious life and culture in the United States that was published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Publications indexed include unique periodical literature, primary source materials, reports, and annuals derived from African American religious organizations and social service agencies. Coverage: 1829 - 1922. NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&custid=s4252121&profile=ehost&defaultdb=h7i&groupid=main
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998. Subject coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, including the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment, and more. Materials indexed include articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations.
https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/?p=EANAAA
American History in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a broad and varied collection of digital streaming videos pertaining to American history. Includes selected documentaries from The History Channel, A&E Television Network, Biography Channel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, and more.
https://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index that provides full text/full image access to a collection of American magazines and journals spanning the development of the United States from colonial times to the advent of U.S. involvement in World War II. Titles include Andrew Bradford's American Magazine, Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, Medical Repository (America's first scientific journal), early professional journals such as Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
https://search.proquest.com/americanperiodicals?accountid=7121
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ProQuest's Library Edition of the comprehensive consumer-based Ancestry.com online genealogy resource that includes vital records for individuals from North America (US and Canada), the United Kingdom (UK), Europe and Australia. Source materials include census information, birth and death records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, telephone directories, photographs, maps, and more. Continually updated.
https://ancestrylibrary.proquest.com
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Fully-integrated open-access content discovery platform that provides indexing for primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. Selected content is derived from collection descriptions found in WorldCat bibliographic records and from finding aids harvested from ArchiveGrid contributors' websites. Materials indexed include historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies of desired materials.
https://beta.worldcat.org/archivegrid/
Archive of Americana: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900 (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), this database provides complete full text/full-color image access to a collection of rare and unique printed materials and pieces of ephemera detailing various aspects of American history, culture, and daily life in the 18th and 19th centuries. Subject coverage includes a wide range of local and national issues, social and political events, natural disasters, patriotic and popular songs, and more. Digitized materials include advertisements, playbills, programs, trade cards, billheads, menus, invitations, certificates, and more. Coverage: 1760-1900.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=ABEA&s_startsearch=keyword
Britannica: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text access to the Encyclopaedia Britannica as well as the following other resources: World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, Year in Review, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, World Atlas, Timelines, and more. Materials indexed include encyclopedia, newspaper, journal, and magazine articles; selected, rated, and reviewed Internet sites; illustrations, ranging from photographs and drawings to images, maps, and flags; and video and other media. Subject coverage is comprehensive and multidisciplinary.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876), Series I (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text/full image access to over 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. The bulk of the collection is from the 18th century and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 as well as other authoritative bibliographies.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EANX
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic indexing and selected full-text/full-image access to a large-scale shared repository of digital collections contributed by a growing partnership of major educational research institutions, libraries, and other stakeholders. Subject coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope. Content is composed primarily of digitized books and journals derived from partner collections, ranging from in-copyright and public domain materials provided by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft to various in-house partner institution initiatives. Access to full-text content is based on institutional licensing as well as copyright and other restrictions. Coverage: Circa 1500s to present (updates vary).
https://www.hathitrust.org
NOTE: The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) is a HathiTrust member institution through the University of Texas System (UT System). UTEP users may login via their institutional partner accounts to gain full access to the database.
HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text/full image collections of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes family and local history books as well as United States Census data from 1790-1930.
https://www.heritagequestonline.com
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EANX&d_collections=EANASP
Indigenous Peoples: North America (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full image access to a diverse collection of archival research materials pertaining to the experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Includes primary sources derived from a wide variety of manuscript collections, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=INDP
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
Kanopy: The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to licensed digital streaming video on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.
https://utep.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.kanopy.com/en/utep
Making of America (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image access to a collection of primary source materials in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction drawn from the Cornell University Library. Subject coverage includes education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Materials indexed include books and journals published in the 19th century. Coverage: 1850 - 1877.
https://collections.library.cornell.edu/moa_new/index.html
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image access to a select collection of North American immigrant correspondence, diaries, and oral histories. Subject coverage includes American and Canadian history, European history, labor history, ethnic and diversity studies, sociology, language and literature, women's studies, and genealogy. Materials indexed include both published as well as previously unpublished items derived from letters, books, diaries, pamphlets, journal articles, photographs, scrapbooks, cartoons, autobiographies, and interview transcripts.
https://imld.alexanderstreet.com
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image access to a large, select collection of North American women's correspondence and diaries from Colonial times to 1950. Subject coverage includes American history, Canadian history, women's studies, gender and diversity studies, biographies, language and literature, sociology, and genealogy. Materials indexed include both previously unpublished as well as published items drawn from journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings. The majority of the collection includes materials that illustrate the role and status of women, personal attitudes and reactions to specific historical or personal events or individuals, and descriptions that convey the life and times of the past.
https://nwld.alexanderstreet.com
ProQuest Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the online version of the CIS Index containing bibliographic citations and abstracts of congressional publications, including the CIS Legislative Histories (1970 - present). Includes full text access to congressional reports and voting records, House and Senate documents, bills, and public laws as well as to committee reports, selected prints, and schedules. Other full text publications include: U.S. Code, Congressional Record, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
https://search.proquest.com/congressional
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.
https://search.proquest.com/hnplatimes/advanced?accountid=7121
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.
https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=7121
NOTE: This database is partially funded by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
ProQuest History Vault: American Politics and Society: Immigration Records of the INS, 1880-1930 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to the archival case file records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS). Subject coverage includes Asian immigration and exclusion, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other U.S. states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; Ellis Island reports and correspondence (1900-1933); and European immigration. Also includes extensive case files on INS regulation of prostitution, white slavery, and on suppression of radical aliens. Coverage: 1880 to 1930 (overall).
https://hv.proquest.com/historyvault/hv.jsp?pageid=advanced_ui&module=48990
ProQuest History Vault: Civil Rights Movement and the Black Freedom Struggle: The NAACP Papers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Broad subject coverage includes history, African-American Studies, Women's Studies, political science, social sciences, sociology, and international studies. Documents indexed include correspondence, internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from NAACP national, legal, and branch offices throughout the United States. Coverage: 1909 to 1974 (overall). Provides full-text/full-image access to a digitized historical manuscript collection derived from the complete Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress (LoC). Subscribed content includes the following six modules within the Civil Rights Movement and the Black Freedom Struggle subject area: 1) Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; 2) Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; 3) Special Subjects; 4) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; 5) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files; and 6) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.
https://hv.proquest.com/historyvault/hv.jsp?pageid=advanced_ui&module=22789&module=47846&module=92064&module=14309&module=91549&module=85489
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Race Relations in America (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to a selected collection of archival primary source material concerning civil rights in America derived from records in the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans. Materials indexed include audio interviews, correspondence, periodicals, photographs, statistics and surveys. Subject coverage includes African-American studies, Asian studies, Chicano Studies, criminal justice, economics, health promotion, history, law, political science, social sciences and religious studies. Coverage: 1943-1970 (overall). NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
https://www.racerelations.amdigital.co.uk
Women and Social Movements, International: 1840 to Present (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides integrated full-text/full-image access to a specialized collection of primary source materials pertaining to international women's history from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. Publications indexed include conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, as well as letters, diaries, and memoirs.
https://search.alexanderstreet.com/wasi
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000 (Scholar's Edition) (Alexander Street This link opens in a new window
Provides integrated full text/full image access to a specialized collection of primary source materials pertaining to U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Subject coverage focuses primarily on the history of women in social movements in the United States from 1600 - 2000. Publications indexed include book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. NOTE:The Scholar's Edition includes the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, 1607-1950 as well as the database Commissions on the Status of Women (1961 - 2005).
https://search.alexanderstreet.com/wass

Library of Congress Primary Source Sets
Primary source documents relating to major US History topics-- completely available online.
Library of Congress Women Fight for the Vote
Digital Public Library of America
Includes e-books and historical documents.

Portal to Texas History This link opens in a new window
"A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas."
https://texashistory.unt.edu/

National Archives - Women's Suffrage
The National Archives preserves and provides access to the records of the Federal Government.
National Women's History Alliance
Primary Source Sets from the Digital Public Library of America
The sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources. Fully available online.
Sclesinger Library - Blackwell Family Papers Digital Collection
Schlesinger LIbrary - Susan B. Anthony Digital Collection
Selected Library of Congress Resources for Texas
Sources on this page are freely available online.

DeGoyler Library Women's Suffrage Exhibit

Handbook of Texas Women

Online Biographical Dictionary of the Women's Suffrage Movement

Library of Congress - NAWSA Collection

Library of Congress Votes for Women Photo Collection

Library of Congress - Sheet Music

National Park Service - Women's History

Schlesinger Library - Women's History

ScholarWorks@UTEP: The University of Texas at El Paso This link opens in a new window
Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.
https://scholarworks.utep.edu/

Image Collections
Oral History Collection
Portal to Texas History
Digitized archival materials from UTEP Special Collections. Includes newspapers, city directories, and more.

Archival Collections:

Belle Christie Critchett papers, MS386

Gertrude Fitzgerald photograph collection, PH025

Betty Mary Goetting papers, MS316

Women's suffrage collection, MS192

Women's Club of El Paso records, MS576

Planned Parenthood of El Paso records, MS286

Mary A. Sarber collection, PH089

Kathleen A. Staudt papers, MS388

Leona Ford Washington collection, PH033

Fanny Zlabovsky - National Council of Jewish Women case files, MS508

Women's Department of the El Paso Chamber of Commerce, MS356