UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO LIBRARY
C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT
Primary source materials for the history of the borderlands
Personal or family papers:
Examples include Stephenson-Flores family papers, John J. Middagh papers, Mario T. Garcia papers, Hyslop-Beckmann family papers, Fanny Zlabovsky National Council of Jewish Women case files, Allen Falby papers, Chris P. Fox papers, R. E. Thomason papers, Maude Isaacks papers, Kohlberg family papers, etc.
Some guides or finding aids for the collections are available online at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids.php or at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/finding_aid/
National Catholic Welfare Conference (Border Office), El Paso Graduate Nurses' Association, El Paso Chamber of Commerce Women's Section, Planned Parenthood of El Paso, etc.
Zork Hardware, The Popular Dry Goods, Horace B. Stevens papers, O.H. Thorman Architectural records, Labor Advocate records, Chisos Mining Company records, etc.
Gertrude Fitzgerald photographs, Mexican Revolution photograph collection, Leona Washington photograph collection, Manuel Carrillo collection, El Paso Times negatives, El Paso Herald-Post photo files, Casasola Studio photos, Aultman photographs, etc. Some photographs are viewable online at https://cdm15823.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/
El Paso city directories, 1889-
(Early El Paso city directories are online and may be searched at the Portal to Texas History (https://texashistory.unt.edu/) or http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/city_direct/
El Paso phone books, 1921-
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, Southern Pacific RR maps, city plats, other blue line maps, and assorted historical maps of Texas, the Southwest, and Mexico
Sanborn maps are available online in the Library as Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Texas) (ProQuest)
Over 900 oral history interviews; some are online at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/interviews/
Texas county and local records:
El Paso County Records (Deed books, sheriffs' minute books, probate files, etc.), Rio Grande Compact records, Texas Eighth District Court of Appeals.
Mexican state, municipal, or judicial records and archives:
Durango state historical archives, New Mexico (Spanish and Mexican periods),
Cd. Juarez, Chihuahua, Janos, Carrizal, Parral, Archivo Justicial de Parral, Chih., Archivo Justicial de Guerrero, Chih.
Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua (under several titles)
Church records (most are on microfilm):
Some microfilm guides are available at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/guides/
Archdiocese of Santa Fe, Cathedral of Durango, Dgo., Cathedral of Cd. Juarez (Mission of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe), San Elizario birth, death, and marriage records, Ysleta baptism records
Prospector, El Paso Times, El Paso Herald-Post, Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua, samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers
The El Paso Herald-Post, The Prospector, and other newspapers are available as full text through NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Special Collections Librarians: Claudia Rivers, 747-6725, email email@example.com
Abbie Weiser, 747-6839, email firstname.lastname@example.org
Main Desk: 747-5697
500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672