Professional Resources for Librarians

The Library Information Professional Collection is designed to support the professional librarians and staff of the UTEP Library. The collection can be divided into four areas:

Collection Development
Cataloging Resources
Special Collections and Archives Resources
Resources on Librarianship and Library Science

Collection Development

Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Online Resources

Global Books In Print (Bowker)
Information on books, audio books, or videos.
Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
Serials Directory
Spanish Books in Print (Bowker)
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types - academic and scholarly journals, Open Acess publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
WorldCat
When you click on the link you will be asked to sign in using your student identification number.

Cataloging

Cataloger's Desktop
Limited usage requires password.

Online Resources

Classification Web
Limited usage requires password.
MARC Documentation From the Cataloging Distribution Service
OCLC Bibliographic Formats and Standards
OCLC WorldCat through Connexion (Limited usage requires downloaded program and password).
Understanding MARC Bibliographic Machine-readable Cataloging

Special Collections

Book Arts Web
Features links to a large selection of book arts related sites on the web, including educational opportunities, professional organizations, tutorials, reference materials, and galleries with images.

Online Resources

Colophon
Conservation On-line
ScholarWorks at UTEP
Guild of Bookworkers
Society of American Archivists
Manuscripts and Archives Online Tutorial
Using Primary Sources on the Web
This is a selected list of websites containing primary source materials.

Librarianship and Library Science

All books on Library Science are found in the Z and ZA classification section on the 5th floor of the Library, with the exception of subject bibliographies, which are shelved with the subjects.

Suggestions for individual titles are always gladly accepted by subject specialist.

Online Resources:

Subject Guide

Angela Lucero

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Email: ajmartinez5@utep.edu

915-747-5685

Subjects: Art, Asian Studies, Bibliographic Management, Ethnic Studies, Faculty, Language and Literature, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Social Sciences, Theses and Dissertations

About the Librarian

Ms. Poorman is the non-book cataloging librarian. She catalogs serials (Magazines and journals), E-journals, Databases, and does original cataloging on CDs, CD-ROMs, DVDs, Video tapes, Audio tapes and any other non-book formats the Library collects. She is the Library liaison for collection development to the Library and Information Science Professional Collection.

Library Professional Collection: Home

Professional Resources for Librarians

Collection Development

Online Resources

Cataloging

Online Resources

Special Collections

Online Resources

Librarianship and Library Science

All books on Library Science are found in the Z and ZA classification section on the 5th floor of the Library, with the exception of subject bibliographies, which are shelved with the subjects.

Subject Guide

About the Librarian

Quick Links