Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
To locate film reviews in the following databases, follow the tips provided.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic database that provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for a broad spectrum of film and television literature. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Materials indexed include journals, books, and other publications.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text (EBSCO)
Provides bibliographic indexing and abstracts for international literature concerning the performing arts specific to theater, music, and dance. Publications indexed include journals, magazines, books, and monographs.
Lexis Nexis Film Reviews
Search by Content Type/ All News. Enter your film title and select the Advanced Options.
Select Movie Reviews and click Apply.
Run your SEARCH.
Reviews - Historical Newspapers - Full Text
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers 1851 - 2008)
To find film reviews, enter your search term, e.g. Double Indemnity. In the "Document Type" box, select "Review" from the list.
To find theatre reviews, enter your search term, e.g. Seven Year Itch. In the "Document Type" box, select "Review" from the list.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Enter the title of the film in the search box. Select Film Review from the list of document types.
Enter your film title and select Reviews.