Skip to main content

English & American Literature Selection Policy: Current Collecting Intensity

Explains policies for the collection of library materials in English and American literature.

General

  1. The UTEP Library collects books, journals, and other materials to support B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. programs in English language, English teaching, Criticism, Rhetoric and Composition, and English and American literature.
  2. The collection contains primarily English language works, with a limited number of titles in Spanish.
  3. We also hold relatively small collections of materials on provincial literatures (literatures of areas in the British Isles and present and former British colonies and dependencies such as Australia, Canada, India, Ireland,  New Zealand, Nigeria, Scotland, South Africa, and Trinidad.
  4. The Library has a small collection of works on Latin American folk literature.

Books

  1. Most books received through firm orders are current imprints.
  2. If the Library has incomplete sets of literary or critical works, we make an effort to complete the sets, regardless of date.
  3. Significant works not held by the Library may be ordered regardless of imprint date, subject to availability.
  4. Damaged or lost books may be replaced by newer editions, if available, or by electronic books, if available.
  5. Requests for new books should be submitted to the liaison from the English Dept.

Journals

  1. The UTEP Library subscribes to most of the major literary and critical journals, mostly through online vendors.
  2. The MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literature is available online through the Library website.
  3. Requests for new journals or databases should be submitted to the departmental liaison or the Library liaison for English.  Such requests go through an approval process prior to purchase.

Non-Book Materials

  1. In the Media and Microforms section, the Library holds some uncataloged microfilm collections on Charles Dickens, John Keats, Robert Burns, and the Wright American fiction collection.
  2. The Shakespeare Society publications are available on microcard.
  3. Videos and DVDs are available in the Media and Microforms section. Orders for visual materials may be submitted to the departmental liaison.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |