C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT
SOURCES OF INFORMATION ON THE MEXICAN REVOLUTION
1. Books and encyclopedias. Search NUGGET for specific topics. We have about 18,000 books with "
2. Government Documents. Although most of the documents are listed in the on-line catalog, it is worthwhile to search special documents indexes, such as the GPO cumulative subject indexes, the Serial Set Index, and State Department indexes. Some interesting documents are available only on microfiche, such as the FBI's Daily Reports on
3. Microfilm. We have a lot of microfilm from the National Archives, including materials on Mexican immigration, consular despatches, and State Department documents. We also have presidential papers of Woodrow Wilson. Other materials on microfilm include Mexican archives such as the Municipal Archives of Cd. Juarez (MF513), the Judicial Archives of Parral, Chihuahua (MF546), the Carrizal Municipal Records (MF505), and other smaller collections. We also have some manuscript collections on microfilm or fiche including Memorias del General de División Marcelo Caraveo (MF 511), Archivo del General Genovevo de la O (MF 507), and the Day Book of the Cananea Copper Company (MF 462), among others. Check our web page for more information; some guides are available at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids.php
4. Newspapers and periodicals. We have some Mexican newspapers on microfilm that include parts of the period of the Mexican Revolution, including Excelsior from Mexico City, the Periodico Official de Chihuahua and The Mexico Herald. Border newspapers covering the Mexican Revolution include El Pais, La
5. Manuscript and photograph collections. The UTEP Library has several collections that relate to the Mexican Revolution, some of which are cataloged on-line. Even more are listed on our web page. Most relate to the border region or Chihuahua, and many deal with mining, business, ranching, or railroads. Some examples include the Mexican Revolution photograph collection, the Ferrocarril Mexico Noroeste records within the John H. McNeely papers, and the Larry Lewis collection. Lists and finding aids are available in Special Collections. Look for finding aids at http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/finding_aids.php.
6. Web resources. The Latin American Network Information Center in
Special Collections phone: 747-5697; hours: MTThF 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; W 8 a.m. - 9 p.m.; Sat. 9 - 1
Claudia Rivers, Special Collections Librarian, phone 747-6725; e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
Special Collections web page address: http://libraryweb.utep.edu/speccoll/
El Paso del Norte: We have this on microfilm from 1914-1918, but it has not been completely cataloged, so ask at the counter in Media and Microforms.
Periodical Oficial de Chihuahua: We have this in microfilm as MF 472 through 1971 and some years in hard copy.
Periodico Oficial de
Mexican Mining Journal. We have 1909 – 1916 in the Special Collections-SW on the sixth floor, TN28 .M49.
El Correo de Chihuahua, 1902-1935. MF 479.
Revista Catolica, 1879-1965. Published first in
Spirit of Missions, 1889-1938. Missionary magazine of Episcopal Church.
El Ahuizote. 1912. Some issues found in the John H. McNeely papers.
El Hijo de El Ahuizote. 1886-1901, and Segunda Epoca, 1913-1914. Some issues in John H. McNeely papers.
Multicolor. 1913. Some issues found in John H. McNeely papers.
El Hogar and El Agricultor, 1911-1942. In Special Collections cage. Published in Ciudad Juarez.