Skip to main content

Library Services During Limited Campus Operations

SUMMARY OF SERVICES STATUS

  • Access to the Library is limited to current UTEP students, faculty, and staff until further notice.
  • Everyone entering the building must show their ID at the Access Services desk to the right of the security gates.
  • The 2nd (main) and 3rd floors of the Library building are open; check hours here; all other floors are closed until further notice.
  • Face covering required to enter, and must remain in place over nose and mouth while in the building.
  • Limited seating and computers are available in the building, to facilitate social distancing of at least 6ft.
  • Effective 8/24/20, book check-out for all UTEP students, staff, and faculty is live-- see how here.
  • Access to the Special Collections Department and Microform collections by appointment only-- see how here (for Special Collections) and here (for Media and Microforms).
  • Books due between March 1 and September 14 have been extended to September 15; see here for more details about borrowing and fees.
  • Interlibrary Loan services have resumed for both physical and digital items; see here for more details about this ILL service update.
  • Library services like research assistance and library/ information literacy instruction are still available; ask us for research help here, and see here for more details about what we can do to support online teaching.
  • Request Course Reserves for your classes now! Put articles and book chapters online for your students!
⬇️SCROLL DOWN FOR MORE INFO⬇️

In the Library Building

Effective 8/24/2020, the 2nd (main) and 3rd floors are open. All other floors in the building are closed until further notice.

See our hours of operation here.

New Building Policies

  • Group study room checkout suspended to facilitate social distancing
  • No food in the Library; drinks with straws you can slip under your mask are allowed
  • Face coverings must be worn over the nose and mouth at all times while in the building
  • Follow directional signs on the stairwells (one stairwell for going up, one for going down)
  • Only 1 (one) person in the elevators at a time

How to Get In

  • Wear face covering over nose and mouth (to remain on while in the Library)
  • Follow the "ENTER" and "EXIT" signs to facilitate one-way traffic

Practice Social Distancing

  • No groups-- individual work only
  • Maintain distance (6 feet)
  • Follow directional signs for one-way traffic, entrances, and exits
  • Wash hands often for at least 20 seconds

Partner Departments in the Building

Access to Books & Collections for All UTEP Students, Staff, Faculty + Due Dates/ Late Fees

In our continuing efforts to support student and faculty research during Limited Campus Operations, the UTEP Library has implemented procedures to provide the following services to all UTEP, Students, Staff and Faculty:

  • Book Retrieval
  • Special Collections Access
  • Microform Collection Access

We understand the importance of being able to move forward on critical research and will continue to do all we can to support your academic endeavors.  Please do not hesitate to reach out to us at any time using this form.

Who can check out materials?
Current UTEP students, staff, and faculty. At this time, borrowing services for other users (Community Users, Alumni Association Members, etc.) have not yet resumed.
 
Where to submit the request?
Use this form to submit your request.
 
What information should the book request include?

  • *Title, Author, Year
  • Location, Call Number
  • ​*UNIV ID number
  • Alternative pick-up person name, if appllicable

 *= required information

What collections can books be requested from?
Main Stacks, Children's Collection, Browsing, Western Fiction, and items from the Government Documents and Maps Collections that are marked for circulation ("Available").
 
How to pick up the books?
After receiving an email notification that their requested items are ready, faculty and graduate students may pick their items up at the UTEP Library's Access Services Desk on the second (entry) floor.
 
How long will it take for the requests to be ready for pick-up?
Approximately 1 business day.

Where can I find more information about the Library's regular circulation policies (loan times, fees, borrowing limits, etc.)
On this page.

 

If you have any books checked out that are due between March 1st, 2020 and September 14th, 2020, their due date has been extended to September 15th.

Please return your books to the book drop slot on the front of the Library building just past the bike racks instead of bringing them inside the building. This will help us quarantine and sanitize the books before returning them to the shelves. 

return your books to the book drop in front of the library

  • If you currently have Library fees that need to be paid, please let us know at libanswers.utep.edu and be sure to include your UTEP ID# in the message.
  • Late fees incurred after March 1, 2020 will be waived.
  • Fines incurred during the Spring 2020 semester will be considered on a case-by-case basis upon request.

If you need resources from Special Collections, please contact Claudia Rivers (crivers@utep.edu) or Abbie Weiser (ahweiser@utep.edu) to schedule an appointment.

If you need access to our Microfilm/Microfiche collections, please request an appointment using this form.

Interlibrary Loan

From the ILL Department:

Physical Items Requests Resumed - 8/17/2020

We will begin requesting physical items on 8/17/2020. Please keep in mind that many libraries are not sharing their collections yet, but we will try to obtain your items from the ones that are sharing. Turnaround times for delivery may be higher than our usual 7-11 business days.

Renewing ILL Requests - 8/17/2020

We had been renewing all currently checked out items because lending libraries were not accepting returns, however, most libraries are now accepting their items back, so the ILL overdue notices will resume on 8/24/2020. All currently checked out items that are due before 8/24/2020 will continue to be automatically renewed. You can check the current status and due dates of your requested items in ILLiad, under Checked Out Items.

Returning ILL Items - 8/17/2020

We will continue requesting renewals automatically until 8/24/2020, but if you would like to return your ILL items, you can do so anytime you want using the bookdrop located on the right side of the library entrance, by the bike racks.

If there are extraordinary circumstances that prevent you from returning your loaned items, please let us know.

Contact Us!

Best way to reach us is via email: libraryill@utep.edu

Be safe!

Off Campus Use of the Library

You can still use the Library online:

  • Access articles and e-books
  • Request items via Interlibrary Loan
  • Ask us questions

Make sure you're connected to the UTEP network! See this page for details.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |