Find Sources - Chicano Studies - Aragones - UTEP Library Research Guides at The University of Texas at El Paso

Find Articles

Not all articles are the same-- here are the different types you might find, and pros/cons of using each:

news articles: provide brief snippets of info; best for finding current info; watch out for the date to make sure it's not old, out-of-date info
magazine articles: provide more detailed info, but still digestible to the average reader; opinion, or viewpoints are often present in magazine articles
scholarly/academic articles: written by researches/professors/experts; double-checked by other experts for quality before publication; does not give basic info or definitions, gives high-level info that might mean you have to look things up while you're reading; they take a long time to publish, so not the best place for super up-to-date info

MinerQuest This link opens in a new window
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
https://utep.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01UTEP_INST:01UTEP
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch

Step 1:

Step 2:

All Chicano Studies Databases
Border and Migration Studies Online (Alexander Street)
Provides full-text/full-image access to a selected collection derived from primary and secondary source materials that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including the United States and Mexico, the European Union, Afghanistan, Israel, Turkey, The Congo, Argentina, China, Thailand, and more. Subject coverage includes fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues, including ecology and the environment, history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. Publications indexed include textual materials (archival documents and manuscripts), e-books, videos, and images. NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.

Borderzine: Journalism Across Fronteras This link opens in a new window
Multimedia journalism news site featuring articles written by Latino student journalists from the Sam Donaldson Center for Communication Studies in the Department of Communication at the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and focuses on issues and news events relevant to Latinos in El Paso, Texas, as well as the U.S.- Mexico Border Region. Content is presented in English or Spanish.
https://borderzine.com/
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.
https://docuseek2.com/view/access/fa2b043ef0f0fd76ebb157a2914db69d
Latin American Newspapers - Series 1, 1805-1922 (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=WHNPX&d_collections=WHNPLAN1
Latin American Women Writers (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to an extensive collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by the most important women writers of Mexico, Central America, and South America. Includes essays by principal Latin American feminists and revolutionaries. Updated bi-weekly.
https://laww.alexanderstreet.com
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to a digital collection of selected historical content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include rare books and literary manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, historical records, and a wide variety of manuscript materials. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=h6b
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.
http://www.nexisuni.com
Referencia Latina (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a Spanish language reference database. Formats include magazines, newswires, reference books, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1975 - present (updated daily). This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&custid=s4252121&profile=ehost&defaultdb=zah&groupid=main
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers - Series 2, 1822-1922 (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=WHNPX&d_collections=WHNPLAN2

Find Info from Reliable/Credible Web Sites

No one else will make sure you find credible/reliable information online except you, so be picky about it!

At the bare minimum, make sure you can identify the following things on a web site:

the date it was posted/updated
who wrote it (bonus points if you can Google that person/organization to see if they're a credible source of info)
why the info on the site was written (is it opinion, persuasion, or just informative? Check he site's "about us" section)

Here are some more in-depth questions you can ask yourself to figure out whether you're looking at a high-quality web site: