Skip to main content

UNIV 1301 - Fuentes

Recommended Databases

Here are some databases that may be of particular use to you.

Academic Search Complete

Jstor

Opposing Viewpoints

science.gov

ScienceDirect

SpringerLink

Web Of Science

You may also find Google Scholar useful for finding articles to access through library resources.  You can adjust your settings such that articles that the library has access to are identified.

Databases/Articles

You can find relevant articles on the sciences by searching these databases and journals.

Science Database Lists

Here are some database lists by subject that may be of interest to you:

Chemistry

Clinical Laboratory Science

Computer Science

Education

Engineering

Environmental Science and Engineering

Geology

Mathematics

Physics

Psychology

Public Health

Science

Social Work

Also, you may find databases for related disciplines useful.  For example, if you were researching in Business, depending on your topic, you may find resources in Economics useful.  Sometimes, the related disciplines are not very closely related.  If you are researching Evolution, you should look into Biology resources, but you should also look at Computer Science resources. 

You are also not limited to searching databases by subject.  You can search by type:

Audio-Video

E-Books

Newspapers

Databases

These are recommended databases to find good articles or information on your science.  Some of them are general databases with information on many sciences, some are more specific.

Academic Search Complete  Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more.

INSPEC  Created by the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE), INSPEC provides comprehensive bibliographic indexing for international literature in science and technology core subject areas such as physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, and information technology. Includes significant coverage of related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering, and more. Publications indexed include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports.

NTIS (Proquest)  Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, governmental, engineering, and business-related information, produced by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Source publications include unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs, and audio visual products from U.S. Federal agencies as well as from some international government departments and organizations.

PapersInvited  Comprehensive database of calls for papers and posters issued by academic and professional conferences or publications across all subject disciplines. Assists scientists, corporate researchers, faculty, and students with tracking calls for papers from various professional organizations, universities, and academic journals. Useful for academic and research constituency who want to keep abreast of and contribute to the latest developments by attending conferences to present and publish papers. Includes a listing of student competitions (bachelor's level and above).

PUBMED  PubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.

Science.gov  Science.gov is the official FirstGov for Science cross-agency portal that provides a gateway to a large body of authoritative, selected, scientific information developed by an interagency working group of science and technical organizations from federal government science agencies. Two major types of information are included: science-related web sites and often hard-to-access scientific databases (specific content varies by database). Subject coverage includes agriculture, natural resources, food and nutrition, applied science and technology, astronomy and space, science education, energy and energy conservation, health and medicine, biology, and the environment.

Science

Recent articles from the popular science magazine Science.

Loading ...

Nature

Recent articles from the science magazine Nature.

Loading ...

Scientific American

Recent articles from the science magazine Scientific American.

Loading ...

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |