Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.
Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. New citations include a link to full text, when available. American Doctoral Dissertations includes all the entries found at OpenDissertations. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1902 to present.
Provides full text book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Practical resource for literary and biographical research, readers' advisory and library collection development. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for communication and mass media research literature derived from the merger of CommSearch, formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA), Mass Media Articles Index, formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University, and numerous other authoritative resources. Publications indexed include peer-reviewed journal articles, monographs, major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, conference proceedings, working papers, gray literature, and handbooks.
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides abstracts and full text for international literature in the field of Women's Studies. Subject coverage includes domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender equity, the family, lesbian studies, reproductive health, and human rights. Materials indexed range from journals, books, and the alternative press to gray literature compiled from overlooked or hard-to-find newsletters and Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) research reports. Rarely indexed or cataloged ephemeral literature from leading research institutes and grass roots organizations is also included.
Comprehensive bibliographic index of essays and miscellanious works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Titles indexed span the entire range of the humanities and social sciences. Some citations include links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature dealing with the humanities. Materials indexed include feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more. Some citations from 1995 onward include full text or links to full text available from other providers, based on licensing restrictions or institutional subscriptions.
Unique journal evaluation tool that provides statistical information based on citation data drawn from a wide range of international scholarly and technical journals tracked in Web of Science. Subject coverage includes virtually all subdisciplines in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. Statistical data provided includes impact factor (relative importance to others in the same field), immediacy (citation frequency), article counts, cited half-life (benchmarking by age of cited articles), and source data (review articles versus original research articles). Coverage: 2003 - two years from present date (updated annually).
NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes: JCR Science Edition (2003-2015) and JCR Social Sciences Edition (2003-2015).
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerned with the nature and use of language. Subject coverage includes phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics. Source publications include books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and reports.
Provides full-text access to a range of literary reference works. Materials indexed include plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, biographies, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, author interviews and classic texts. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Provides full text/full image online access to each of the 12 literature criticism book series published by Gale, including the complete back-file. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Titles include: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 - 1800 (LC), Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC), Shakespearean Literature Criticism (SLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), Drama Criticism (DC), Children's Literature Review (CLR), Something About the Author (SATA), and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB).
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America (MLA), this directory lists periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are regularly indexed in the MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO). Includes editorial addresses, advertising and subscription rates, frequency, publisher, scope, information about submissions for publication, and much more for each title listed.
Comprehensive bibliographic index produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) for international scholarly research materials on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Subject areas range from the arts, humanities, and education to the behavioral, social, economic, and political sciences. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, working papers, and conference proceedings.
Bibliographic index, complete with author-written abstracts, covering international scholarly research publications in the 15 fields of philosophy, including: aesthetics, axiology, education, epistemology, ethics, history, language, logic, politics, religion, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, philosophy of science, and social philosophy. Indexed publications include journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and anthologies. Some citations include links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.
Provides bibliographic indexing for a wide range of international literature in religious studies. Subject coverage includes religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, formal theological studies, religious doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archaeology. Primary faiths represented are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism. Materials indexed include magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning theology and philosophy. Subject coverage includes world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
Online directory that provides detailed information about active, forthcoming, ceased, and suspended periodicals of all types across all subject areas from around the world. Content includes both academic and scholarly journals, open access (OA) publications, peer-reviewed titles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, conference proceedings, and more. Entries provide information regarding International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), publisher, pricing, format, availability, language, indexing and abstracting coverage, and subscription and distribution details as well as publisher and editor contacts. Some entries include excerpts of full text reviews.
publishes research and scholarship in rhetoric and composition studies that supports college teachers in reflecting on and improving their practices in teaching writing and that reflects the most current scholarship and theory in the field
The Journal of Contemporary Rhetoric (JCR) is a peer-reviewed publication that publishes original scholarship that promotes critical engagement with rhetorical dimensions of current events (those of the past 18 months or so). In promoting the practice of public intellectualism, JCR offers an outlet for scholarship that is both intellectually rigorous and accessible to lay audiences
Relevant Rhetoric is a refereed, online journal created to publish pieces of academic rhetorical criticism that are of value not only to academic scholars and historians interested in persuasion, but also to the educated lay-public. The journal seeks to further our understanding of and conversation about modern persuasive practices with the largest possible audience.
Composition Forum’s unique focus as a scholarly venue is in the intersection of writing theory and pedagogy. As editors, we believe that scholarly work addressing this intersection is vital, both in our understanding of writing as a subject and in the application of writing pedagogy across diverse contexts. One aspect of this particular focus is that it often highlights the spaces and locations in which writing takes place, drawing attention to the fact that composition is situated, located, and contextual.
Dialogues aims at fostering dialogue and collaboration between diverse and often separated groups—universities, community colleges, intensive English programs, adult education programs, TESOL graduate and certification programs, K-12 licensure programs, and others.
The Journal of Writing Research (JoWR) is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes papers that describe scientific study studies of the processes by which writing is produced and or by which it can be effectively taught.
Prompt is a biannual, refereed online journal that publishes academic writing assignments. We publish assignments directed at both undergraduate and graduate students from all academic disciplines. Our mission is to disseminate a mode of intellectual work that is too rarely circulated in public venues, and we hope to contribute to the scholarly study of writing assignments in the field of writing studies. We also believe that by publishing excellent and innovative writing assignments, we can create both a resource and a site of engagement for faculty who incorporate writing in their teaching.
This Journal publishes articles on the theory, practice, and teaching of professional communication in critical global contexts. Articles can take a variety of forms, including formal empirical studies, illustrative case studies, book, software, and academic program review, and curriculum development. The Journal is predominantly cross cultural, concentrating on how professionals from a variety of cultural and rhetorical traditions communicate with each other across a range of contexts using various communication media.
English Journal is NCTE’s award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, and includes information on how teachers are applying practices, research, and multimodal literacies in their classrooms