UTEP Library Research Guides: PUBH 5353: Social and Behavioral Aspects of Public Health: Databases

Psychology Related Databases

MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index for international literature in biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Includes those areas of the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cmedm

Search multiple databases in the EBSCO family at once by clicking "Choose Databases" (see animation for steps)

Recommended EBSCO databases for Psychology:
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- PsycARTICLES
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- MedLine
- Education Full Text (if topic concerns children)
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

PubMed (NCBI-NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include free full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?otool=txutxelib

Empirical Article Study Types:

Clinical Study

Journal Article

Randomized Control Trial

Review Article Types:

Meta-Analysis

Review

Systematic Reviews

PubMed Tutorials
Use these videos to help you understand how PubMed works and how to build more sophisticated searches.
National Library of Medicine Journal Search
Use this search to see if a journal article you found in another database is indexed in the NLM.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare derived from English-language and selected international source materials. Subject coverage includes management, behaviorial sciences, health sciences, librarianship, education, and consumer health. Materials indexed include journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cin20
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index that provides complete full text access to peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and several allied organizations. Subject coverage includes general psychology as well as specialized, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research. Materials indexed include journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pdh
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerning psychology and human behavior. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pbh
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic indexing and abstracting database that provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, published by Behavioral Measurement Database Services. Materials indexed include journal articles, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education, questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hpi
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.
https://webofknowledge.com/wos
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/

Google Scholar indexes millions of scholarly articles but it is next to impossible to narrow and sift through results like you would in a database.

Google Scholar is, however, perfect for when you have the name or citation of an article that you really need.

If you are on the UTEP campus (or if you're connected to the VPN) Google Scholar will tell you if the UTEP Library has the article in one of our databases and provide a link. See the steps below.

Step 1

Plug in the article citation or title to Google Scholar

Step 2

If the UTEP Library has access to this article, there will be a "UTEP Access" link that will take you to the database where the full text of the article is available.

Step 4

If we don't have the article you're looking for, you can request it through our InterLibrary Loan service (Please see the ILL box on the left). Online requests typically take 1-2 days or less!

If your professor wants you to find articles from a specific journal, go to the eJournals tab on the library homepage, and type in the name of the journal.

If the UTEP Library subscribes to this journal electronically, then a link to a database will be provided. It is very likely that we will have the journal available in several databases with different coverage dates, so please select the coverage that best suits your needs.