It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is for the College of Education. Find specific resources you will need for your courses. Need help still? Contact us at the UTEP Library.
Search through the publications of NCTM on our JSTOR database.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an extensive array of information about children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, and other children-focused media. Contains catalog records in MARC format that have children's headings assigned and include all of the official cataloging data, subject terms, and annotations. Includes full text reviews of children's books ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. Also includes information about children's books that have been recognized as having particular merit, such as award winners or those titles that were included on best book or state reading lists.
Pivot-RPThis link opens in a new windowFully-integrated content platform that combines data from COS Funding Opportunities and COS Scholar Universe with intelligent mapping features to expedite funding discovery, dissemination, and researcher collaboration on a global and local level. Provides access to a comprehensive global source of funding opportunities and researcher expertise from leading research organizations worldwide.
Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume I (Alexander Street Press)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a rich and varied collection of digital streaming video content available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Content includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, interviews, documentaries, as well as teaching and discussion guides. NOTE: Continuing Education Credits (CEC) are available for a number of the videos in this collection.
This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume II (Alexander Street Press)This link opens in a new windowThe second volume of the Alexander Street Press Counseling and Therapy in Video series provides access to a rich and varied collection of digital streaming video content available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Volume II both updates and expands upon the first collection, with special emphasis on contemporary topics such as family therapy, child therapy, geriatric therapy, play therapy, weight control and eating disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder, narrative therapy, social construction, art therapy, and more. Content includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, interviews, documentaries, as well as teaching and discussion guides.
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a selected collection of original, comprehensive reports and analysis on issues in the news prepared by experienced journalists. Subject coverage includes criminal justice, education, environmental issues, health, international affairs, political science, public policy, social sciences, technology, the U.S. economy, and more. Each report includes an introductory overview, pro-con debates, background and chronology on the topic, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, and a bibliography of key sources. Coverage: 1991 - present. Updates: Reports are published online 44 times a year.
NOTE UTEP's subscription includes access to the most current 10 years of full-text content, moving forward.
ScholarWorks@UTEP: The University of Texas at El PasoThis link opens in a new windowPreserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.
Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index for selected literature related to educational administration, educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other relevant subject areas. Materials indexed include journal articles, magazines, books, and reports. Most citations include abstracts and some include full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
Education Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index for education literature derived from English language periodicals, books, and yearbooks. Subject coverage includes adult and continuing education, educational technology, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library and information science, literacy standards, parent-teacher relations, school administration, teacher education, vocational education, and much more.
Education in Video (Alexander Street Press)This link opens in a new windowOnline collection of digital streaming video developed specifically for the training and professional development of teachers and focusing on the study of teaching methods and education theory. Content includes videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classroom settings.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic index for national education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, consisting of: Resources in Education, Current Index to Journals in Education, and full text ERIC Digest records. Materials indexed include books, journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes education, law, psychology, behavioral science, humanities, arts and literature, and the social sciences. This database is made possible by TexShare.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index for national education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, consisting of: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Materials indexed include books, journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes all aspects of education, such as: adult, career, vocational, assessment, evaluation, disabilities, gifted, management, elementary, early childhood, higher education, information technology, languages and linguistics, reading, communication, teacher education, and many more.
Films on Demand: Digital Educational VideoThis link opens in a new windowState-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
Foundation Grants to Individuals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFunding research tool focusing on foundations that provide financial support for individual grantseekers. Online content corresponds to the printed reference book Foundation Grants to Individuals published by The Foundation Center. Describes giving for a variety of purposes, including scholarships, student loans, fellowships, program development, internships, professorships, arts and cultural projects, research, awards and grants by nomination only and general welfare.
NOTE: Access to this product is available to anyone but is limited to computers within the UTEP Library and the Center for Civic Engagement (CCE). See also: Foundation Directory Online - Professional.
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to popular magazines and books on hobbies, crafts, and recreational activities as well as instructional videos and guides Coverage and updates vary by publication. This database is made possible by TexShare.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowProvides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Kanopy - Featured Collection: Media Education Foundation (MEF)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the complete digital streaming video collection of the Media Education Foundation (MEF) on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.
LearningExpress LibraryThis link opens in a new windowFully-integrated online resource that provides access to a comprehensive collection of lools for test preparation, skill-building, and career guidance. Includes preparation materials for college and graduate school admissions tests including the SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT as well as professional certification licensing, and aptitude tests in civil service, law enforcement, firefighting, EMS, military, real estate, and healthcare, among others. This database is made possible by TexShare.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index for selected journal articles related to educational administration, curriculum development, educational research, teacher education and other relevant subject areas.
TeachingBooks.net: Sharing the Spirit of Books and ReadingThis link opens in a new windowPortal to thousands of online resources that can be used to explore children's and young adult books (both fiction and nonfiction) and their authors. Multimedia materials provided include short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, and more. Uses include lesson planning, author studies, and professional development across all subject areas in the K-12 curriculum.
>>>If you're not on-campus, but need to use the UTEP Library's online resources,