UTEP Library Research Guides: English: Critical Reading & Writing: Reading Resources

Icon	Meaning
	Reads like a physical magazine; includes photos.
	Keyword search; use the suggested keywords or your own to find articles on what you're interested in. May or may not include photos
	Reads like a document; much like your essays. May or may not include photos
	Peer-reviewed AKA scholarly source; Articles are written by experts and reviewed by other experts (scholars) in their field before articles are published to ensure high-quality information. Article/information is usually scientifically valid or backed by evidence.

Liberal Arts

Listed below are the top publications for this subject. There are many other publications UTEP offers access to, which can be accessed on the UTEP Library homepage under "E-Journals". Look at the tab "Find more here!" for more information

Sociology Compass
Sociology Compass is aimed at senior undergraduates, postgraduates and academics, and will provide a unique reference tool for researching essays, preparing lectures, writing a research proposal, or just keeping up with new developments in a specific area of interest.
Anthropology and Humanism
Anthropology and Humanism concerns that central question of the discipline: what it is to be human.
Anthropology Matters
Addresses issues in learning & teaching anthropology studies. Topics include training, research & anthropological writing techniques.

Easy Reads

Anthropology
Anthropology.net’s mission is to create a cohesive online community of individuals interested in anthropology. This website intends to promote and facilitate discussion, review research, extend stewardship of resources, and disseminate knowledge. To serve the public interest, we seek the widest possible engagement with all segments of society, including professionals, students, and anyone who is interested in advancing knowledge and enhancing awareness of anthropology.
ScienceDaily: Anthropology News
Read about early human culture, civilizations and latest discoveries at ancient sites in our anthropology news.
Everyday Sociology
Sociologists' take on pop culture, the news, and everyday life.
Texas Beyond History
Texas Beyond History (TBH) is a public education service of the Texas Archeological Research Laboratory at the University of Texas at Austin, and in partnership with the Department of Anthropology at Texas State University and 15 other organizations. Begun in 2001, its purpose is to interpret and share the results of archeological and historical research on the cultural heritage of Texas with the citizens of Texas and the world.
ScienceNews: Anthropology
Science News was founded in 1921 as an independent, nonprofit source of accurate information on the latest news of science, medicine and technology.

Archaeology

Easy Reads

ScienceNews: Archaeology
Science News was founded in 1921 as an independent, nonprofit source of accurate information on the latest news of science, medicine and technology.
Archaeology.org
A publication of the Archaeological Institute of America.

African American Studies

Journal of African American History
Published by the University of Chicago Press on behalf of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH), the JAAH publishes original scholarly articles and book reviews on all aspects of the African American experience.
Journal of African American Studies
Journal of African American Studies examines topics concerning social transformations that impact the life chances of continental Africans and the African diaspora. It publishes original research on issues of professional and disciplinary concern for the social progress of people of African descent.
Journal of African American Men
JAAME is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to advancing scholarship and practice on African American males in education. JAAME is devoted to the study of African American males throughout the educational pipeline (P-20), in various contexts (e.g., urban, suburban, rural), and in multiple capacities (e.g., students, teachers, faculty, staff, administrators, fathers).
African Affairs
African Affairs is published on behalf of the Royal African Society and is the top ranked journal in African Studies. It is an inter-disciplinary journal, with a focus on the politics and international relations of sub-Saharan Africa. It also includes sociology, anthropology, economics, and to the extent that articles inform debates on contemporary Africa, history, literature, art, music and more.
African American Review
African American Review is a scholarly aggregation of insightful essays on African American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews. Published quarterly, AAR has featured renowned writers and cultural critics.

Easy Reads

BlackPast
This 6,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world. We invite you to explore and use all the resources of BlackPast.
Blavity
Blavity is a community of the most exceptional multi-cultural creators and influencers in the world. We partner with diverse content creators and influencers to help them reach a wider audience, amplify their message, and fund their hustles. We believe that the world shifts according to the way people see it— and if you change the way people view the world, you can transform it
Cassius
CASSIUS is a lifestyle platform that delivers bold, smart and insightful content for men on a mission.
Essence
ESSENCE is Where Black Women Come First for news, entertainment and motivation. ESSENCE occupies a special place in the hearts of millions of Black women-its not just a magazine but her most trusted confidante, a brand that has revolutionized the magazine industry and has become a cultural institution in the African-American community.
The Grio
TheGrio.com is a video news community devoted to providing stories and issues that affect and reflect black America but may be underrepresented in traditional national news outlets.
National Archives: Black History
Black History at the United States National Archives.

Asian Studies

Asian Philosophy
Asian Philosophy is an international journal concerned with such philosophical traditions as Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Buddhist and Islamic. The purpose of the journal is to bring these rich and varied traditions to a worldwide academic audience.
Inter-Asia Cultural Studies
Inter-Asia Cultural Studies (IACS) gives a long overdue voice, throughout the global intellectual community, to those concerned with Inter-Asia Processes. The journal includes discussion, reports and analysis from global critical circles, and especially from marginalised sites, with the aim of enhancing the communication and exchange between inter-Asia and other regions of the cultural studies world.
The Journal of Asian Studies
The Journal of Asian Studies (JAS) has played a defining role in the field of Asian studies for over 75 years. JAS publishes the very best empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies.
Journal of Contemporary Asia
Journal of Contemporary Asia is an established refereed publication, it appears quarterly and has done so since 1970. When the journal was established, it was conceived as providing an alternative to mainstream perspectives on contemporary Asian issues. The journal maintains this tradition and seeks to publish articles that deal with the broad problems of economic, political and social development of Asia.
Philosophy East and West
hilosophy East and West: A Quarterly of Comparative Philosophy promotes academic literacy on non-Western traditions of philosophy. For over half a century the journal has published the highest-quality scholarship that locates these cultures in their relationship to Anglo-American philosophy. Philosophy defined in its relationship to cultural traditions broadly integrates the professional discipline with literature, science, and social practices.

Easy Reads

Asian Correspondent
Asian Correspondent is an independent news source that aims to bring the most important stories in Asia to an international, English-speaking audience.
Asian Scientist
he print and online publication Asian Scientist Magazine was launched in 2011 by the company, Asian Scientist Publishing Ptv. Ltd. Based in Singapore, our reach extends to all corners of Asia, with coverage of science, technology, health and medical news across the region
The Diplomat
The Diplomat is the premier international current-affairs magazine for the Asia-Pacific region.
New Mandala
New Mandala provides anecdote, analysis and new perspectives on Southeast Asia. It devotes its attention to the politics and societies of Southeast Asian countries, and their connections with one another. New Mandala has a proud record of contribution to scholarly and popular debates and played a pioneering role in the digitisation of Southeast Asian studies.
Nikkei Asian Review
Nikkei Asian Review brings you news and insights on the region's most influential companies, plus comprehensive coverage of politics, the economy, markets and trends - all from a uniquely Asian perspective.

Chicano Studies

Aztlan: A Journal of Chicano Studies
Aztlán presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, refereed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces in the dosier section, an artist's communiqué, a review section, and a commentary by the editor, Chon A. Noriega. Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.
Label Me Latina/o
Label Me Latina/o is an online, refereed international e-journal that focuses on Latino Literary Production in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The journal invites scholarly essays focusing on these writers for its biannual publication. Label Me Latina/o also publishes creative literary pieces whose authors self-define as Latina, Latino or Latinx regardless of thematic content. Interviews of Latino, Latina or Latinx authors will also be considered. The Co-Directors will publish creative works and interviews in English, Spanish or Spanglish whereas analytical essays should be written in English or Spanish.
Bilingual Review/Revista Bilingüe
Academic journal focusing on the linguistic, cultural and literary diversity of cultures in contact, especially within Latino communities in the US. The Bilingual Review/Revista Bilingüe publishes both empirical (qualitative and quantitative) as well as creative scholarship.

Easy Reads

Latinopia.com
A cultural resource site with access to topics such as Art, Literature, History, and much more. Primary material, including documents related to movements, interviews, and mini-documentaries related to activists.
NewsTaco
Progressive news site with a focus on items most relevant to Latinas/os and Chicanas/os. Most of the information on this site is tertiary. Also provides a link to their Youtube page
NPR: LatinoUSA
NPR's Latino USA with Maria Hinojosa, produced by The Futuro Media Group, is the longest running Latino-focused program on U.S. public media.

A group of people standing together with the word "communication"

Information Communication and Society
Information, Communication & Society (iCS) transcends cultural and geographical boundaries as it explores a diverse range of issues relating to the development and application of information and communications technologies (ICTs).
Applied Linguistics
Applied Linguistics publishes research into language with relevance to real-world issues. The journal is keen to help make connections between scholarly discourses, theories, and research methods from a broad range of linguistic and other relevant areas of study. The journal welcomes contributions which critically reflect on current, cutting edge theory and practice in applied linguistics.
New Media & Society
New Media & Society engages in critical discussions of the key issues arising from the scale and speed of new media development, drawing on a wide range of disciplinary perspectives and on both theoretical and empirical research.

Easy Reads

Ted.com
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Poynter
Poynter’s News University brings Poynter training to users around the world with the world’s largest online journalism curriculum.

Male hand writing on a piece of paper with words that say "Creative writing"

Atlantic
Features articles for the general reader, reports & comments on recent events in history, humor, fiction, poetry, arts & leisure, & book reviews.
The New Yorker
The New Yorker is considered by many to be the most influential magazine in the world, renowned for its in-depth reporting, political and cultural commentary, fiction, poetry, and humor.
Virginia Quarterly Review
A national journal of literature and discussion published by the University of Virginia. Articles, poetry, fiction and discussions of recent books of note.

Easy Reads

Language is a Virus
Languageisavirus.com exists to cure writer's block and inspire creativity. You can choose from a multitude of writing games, gizmos, generators, writing prompts and exercises, tips, experiments and manifestoes from infamous avant garde writers and how-to articles on fiction writing and poetry.
BBC Writer's Room
BBC Writersroom is a cross-genre department for scripted content. We work with Drama, Comedy, CBBC, CBeebies, Radio, Online - and others.
The Writing Cooperative
We’re not just a publication or a Patreon. We help each other write better in a number of different ways.

Gavel resting on block with words "Criminal Justice"

Criminology
Criminology is devoted to the study of crime and deviant behavior. Interdisciplinary in scope, the journal publishes articles that advance the theoretical and research agenda of criminology and criminal justice.
Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency
The Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency presents a wide range of research and analysis in the field of criminology. You’ll find research on the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice, examining victims, offenders, police, courts and sanctions.
Feminist Criminology
Feminist Criminology is an innovative journal that is dedicated to research related to women, girls, and crime within the context of a feminist critique of criminology.

Easy Reads

The Line Up
True crime website
The Innocence Project
The Innocence Project, founded in 1992 by Peter Neufeld and Barry Scheck at Cardozo School of Law, exonerates the wrongly convicted through DNA testing and reforms the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.
Crime Magazine
With the purpose of writing about true crime in an authoritative, fact-based manner, veteran journalists J. J. Maloney and J. Patrick O’Connor launched Crime Magazine in November of 1998. Their goal was to cover all aspects of true crime.

Stacked books with text "English"

Poetics
Poetics is an interdisciplinary journal of theoretical and empirical research on culture, the media and the arts.
English in Education
English in Education publishes research-based articles and short creative pieces that provide informed reflection on the teaching of English within the school, college and higher education curriculum.
Narrative
Narrative is the official journal of International Society for the Study of Narrative. Its mission is to publish essays that contribute to both narrative theory and the interpretation of individual narratives.

Easy Reads

The Millions
Welcome to The Millions, an online magazine offering coverage on books, arts, and culture since 2003. The Millions has been featured on NPR and noted by The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, and The Village Voice, among others.
Page-Turner: The New Yorker
Page-Turner takes full advantage of its captive audience by posting everything from the fantastic monthly podcast to a daily news roundup, great essays like Casey N. Cep’s “A Murder in Deep Summer” and Jon Michaud’s piece on why Frank Herbert’s Dune endures.
Book Riot
Book Riot is the largest independent editorial book site in North America, and home to a host of media, from podcasts to newsletters to original content, all designed around diverse readers and across all genres.

A wooden box filled with photos of a man and text "history"

American Historical Review
The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and chartered by Congress in 1889 to serve the interests of the entire discipline of history.
Past & Present
Past & Present is widely acknowledged to be the liveliest and most stimulating historical journal in the English-speaking world.
Diplomatic History
About the Journal
Diplomatic History is the official journal of Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR). The journal appeals to readers from a wide variety of disciplines, including American studies, international economics, American history, national security studies, and Latin-American, Asian, African, European, and Middle Eastern studies.

Easy Reads

PBS Top News
PBS and our member stations are America’s largest classroom, the nation’s largest stage for the arts and a trusted window to the world.
Smithsonian Learning Lab News
The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access created the Smithsonian Learning Lab to inspire the discovery and creative use of its rich digital materials—more than a million images, recordings, and texts. It is easy to find something of interest because search results display pictures rather than lists.
The Conversation
The Conversation US arose out of deep-seated concerns for the fading quality of our public discourse – and recognition of the vital role that academic experts can play in the public arena.
National Archives: American History
Resources in American History ranging from general sites to specific event information.
Texas Highways: History
History across the State.
National Park Service: American Stories Past and Present
he National Park Service with its rich cultural resource programs preserves the stories of all Americans reaching back to the Paleo-Indians first setting foot in North America 12,000 years ago leading up to our nation's present diverse and complex cultures.
History.com
History by A&E Network.
Biography
Every life has a story. Biography.com captures the most gripping, surprising and fascinating stories about famous people.
Smithsonian Magazine
Smithsonian magazine place a Smithsonian lens on the world, looking at the topics and subject matters researched, studied and exhibited by the Smithsonian Institution—science, history, art, popular culture and innovation—and chronicling them every day for our diverse readership
Texas Historical Commission

Picture of hexagon shapes filled with graphs, maps, pie charts and text "INSS"

Intelligence and National Security
Intelligence and National Security is widely regarded as the world's leading scholarly journal focused on the role of intelligence and secretive agencies in international relations.
International Affairs
International Affairs is one of the world's leading journals of international relations and one of the few to cover the entire discipline.
Armed Forces & Society
Armed Forces & Society is the leading peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, and international journal publishing on topics such as Civil Military Relations, Use of Force, Terrorism, Family and Health Issues and much more.

Easy Reads

National Security Agency
The National Security Agency/Central Security Service (NSA/CSS) leads the U.S. Government in cryptology that encompasses both signals intelligence (SIGINT) and information assurance (now referred to as cybersecurity) products and services, and enables computer network operations (CNO) in order to gain a decision advantage for the Nation and our allies under all circumstances.
Intel.gov Vault
The Intelligence Community's mission is to collect, analyze, and deliver foreign intelligence and counterintelligence information to America's leaders so they can make sound decisions to protect our country.
The Cipher
The Cipher Brief is a digital, security-based conversation platform that connects the private sector with the world`s leading security experts.

Tiles of Scrabble game with random letters of the alphabet with text "languages and linguistics"

Journal of Memory and Language
Articles in the Journal of Memory and Language contribute to the formulation of scientific issues and theories in the areas of memory, language comprehension and production, and cognitive processes.
Communication Theory
Communication Theory is an international forum publishing high quality, original research into the theoretical development of communication from across a wide array of disciplines, such as communication studies, sociology, psychology, political science, cultural and gender studies, philosophy, linguistics, and literature.
Cognition
Cognition is an international journal that publishes theoretical and experimental papers on the study of the mind.

Easy Reads

Living Tongues
Since 2005, Living Tongues Institute has reached endangered language communities in fifteen countries, and has produced over 100 online Talking Dictionaries.
Linguist List
The aim of the list is to provide a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.
SIL International News
SIL serves language communities worldwide, building their capacity for sustainable language development by means of research, translation, training and materials development.

Sheet of music notes with text "music"

Journal of Research in Music Education
Journal of Research in Music Education comprises reports of peer-reviewed original research related to music teaching and learning.
Musicae Scientiae
MUSICÆ SCIENTIÆ (the Journal of the European Society for the Cognitive Sciences of Music) publishes peer-reviewed empirical, theoretical and critical articles directed at increasing the understanding of how music is perceived, represented and generated.
Empirical Studies of the Arts
Empircal Studies of the Arts aims to be a interdisciplinary forum for theoretical and empirical studies of aesthetics, creativity, and all of the arts.

Easy Reads

Complex
Pop culture website with a focus on music.
Pitchfork
Pitchfork, also known as the most trusted voice in music, is an online guide to independent/indie music, with daily coverage of indie rock, hip-hop, electronic, pop, metal, and experimental music.
Noisey
oisey, part of the Vice group, reaches millions of readers and subscribers each month. It’s a must-stop source for new music, investigative journalism, and artist-sourced content.

Textile yarn for blankets with text "native american and indigenous studies"

American Indian Quarterly
The complexity and excitement of the burgeoning field of Native American studies are captured by the American Indian Quarterly, a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal of the anthropology, history, literatures, religions, and arts of Native Americans. Wide-ranging in its coverage of issues and topics, AIQ is devoted to charting and inciting debate about the latest developments in method and theory.
Ethnohistory
Ethnohistory reflects the wide range of current scholarship inspired by anthropological and historical approaches to the human condition around the world, but with a particular emphasis on the Americas.
Studies in American Indian Literatures
Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL) is the only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures. With a wide scope of scholars and creative contributors, the journal is on the cutting edge of activity in the field. SAIL invites the submission of scholarly, critical pedagogical, and theoretical manuscripts focused on any aspect of American Indian literatures as well as the submission of poetry and short fiction, bibliographical essays, review essays, and interviews. SAIL defines "literatures" broadly to include all written, spoken, and visual texts created by Native peoples.

Easy Reads

Indians.org
Learn (In hundreds of Articles) how American Indians are often referred to as Native Americans as they were the first to inhabit North America.
Chickasaw.TV Video Network
Chickasaw.tv is a high-definition, video-rich network focused on emphasizing the culture, legacy and continuing contributions of the Chickasaw people.
C&RL: Native American Resources
Numerous Internet resources exist that support not only the study of Native Americans and their diverse culture, but also to assist their culture and well-being.
Pueblo of Zuni
The Zuni Tribe welcomes you to indulge in our history, our culture, and our values that keep our heritage living strong.
Native Languages of the Americas
A small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology

Ocean view sunset with text "philosophy"

The Philosophical Review
The journal aims to publish original scholarly work in all areas of analytic philosophy, with an emphasis on material of general interest to academic philosophers, and is one of the few journals in the discipline to publish book reviews.
Philosophy and Phenomenological Research
Philosophy and Phenomenological Research is open to a variety of methodologies and traditions. This tradition of openness continues, as reflected by a statement appearing in every issue: 'PPR publishes articles in a wide range of areas. No specific methodology or philosophical orientation is required in submissions.'
Synthese
Synthese is a philosophy journal focusing on contemporary issues in epistemology, philosophy of science, and related fields.

Easy Reads

Nautilus
Nautilus is a different kind of science magazine. We deliver big-picture science by reporting on a single monthly topic from multiple perspectives.
DailyNous
New for and about the philosophy profession.
PhilosophyBro
Philosophy Bro explains complex ideas of philosophy in easy to understand language, created by Tommy Maranges, the author of Descartes' Meditations, Bro.

Four indistinguishable flags with text "Political Science"

American Journal of Political Science
The American Journal of Political Science (AJPS) publishes research in all major areas of political science including American politics, public policy, international relations, comparative politics, political methodology, and political theory.
International Organization
International Organization is a leading peer-reviewed journal that covers the entire field of international affairs.
World Politics
Since 1948, World Politics has published analytical and theoretical articles, review articles, and research notes in international relations, comparative politics, political theory, foreign policy, and modernization. It does not publish strictly historical material, articles on current affairs, policy pieces, or narratives of a journalistic nature. Political scientists and students of international relations turn to World Politics to stay on top of the latest theoretical developments in the field.

Easy Reads

Drudge Report
The Drudge Report is a news aggregation website.
Cook Political
The Cook Political Report is an independent, non-partisan newsletter that analyzes elections and campaigns for the US House of Representatives, US Senate, Governors and President as well as American political trends.
Salon
Salon is an American news and opinion website, created by David Talbot in 1995. It publishes articles on U.S. politics, culture, and current events and has a politically progressive/liberal editorial stance.

Two face silhouettes looking at each other with an anatomical body in the middle with text "psychology"

Journal of Applied Psychology
The Journal of Applied Psychology® emphasizes the publication of original investigations that contribute new knowledge and understanding to fields of applied psychology (other than clinical and applied experimental or human factors, which are more appropriate for other APA journals).
Organizational Psychology Review
Organizational Psychology Review's unique aim is to publish original conceptual work and meta-analyses in the field of organizational psychology (broadly defined to include applied, industrial, occupational, personnel, and work psychology as well as organizational behavior).
Applied Psychology
Applied Psychology: An International Review is a peer-reviewed, truly international outlet for the scholarly dissemination of findings in applied psychology.

Easy Reads

PsychologyToday
View the latest from the world of psychology: from behavioral research to practical guidance on relationships, mental health and addiction.
Time: Psychology
Success
SUCCESS is the only magazine that focuses on people who take full responsibility for their own development and income. SUCCESS readers understand that the world has changed and the classic employer-to-employee relationship has changed from a patriarchal to a transactional one.

Map zoomed into the US Mexico Border with text "Latin American & Border Studies"

Journal of Latin American Studies
Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in development studies, economics, geography, history, politics and international relations, public policy, sociology and social anthropology. Regular features include articles on contemporary themes, short thematic commentaries on key issues, and an extensive section of book reviews.
Hispanic Review
The Hispanic Review is a quarterly journal devoted to research in Hispanic literary and cultural studies. Published since 1933 by the Department of Romance Languages at the University of Pennsylvania, the journal features essays and book reviews on the diverse cultural manifestations of Spain and Latin America, from the medieval period to the present.
The Americas
Since its founding in 1944, The Americas (TAm) has been one of the principal English-language journals of Latin American history. It publishes articles on all chronological periods of Latin American, Spanish borderlands, and related Iberian scholarship. The journal includes an extensive book review section and a compilation of news and notes of general interest to Latin Americanists.

Easy Reads

LatinAmerican Post
Everything you need to know about Latin America, politics, economics, culture, way of life, entertainment and environment.
Borderzine
Since 2008, Borderzine.com has published rich, relevant content about the borderlands produced by multicultural student journalists at UT El Paso and our partner schools across the U.S. and Mexico.
BBC: Latin America

Image of lit candles with two hands joined in prayer with text "religious studies"

The Journal of Religion
The Journal of Religion promotes critical, hermeneutical, historical, and constructive inquiry into religion. The journal publishes articles in theology, religious ethics, and philosophy of religion, as well as articles that approach the role of religion in culture and society from a historical, sociological, psychological, linguistic, or artistic standpoint. It also publishes highly specialized research in limited areas of inquiry that has significance for a wider readership.
Zygon
Zygon® focuses on the questions of meaning and values that challenge individual and social existence today. It brings together the best thinking of the day from the physical, biological, and social sciences with ideas from philosophy, theology, and religious studies. The journal's contributors seek to keep united what may often become disconnected: values with knowledge, goodness with truth, religion with science.
Journal of Religion and Health
The Journal of Religion and Health is an international multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary peer-reviewed academic journal founded in 1961 by the Blanton-Peale Institute and published by Springer Science+Business Media.

Easy Reads

Beliefnet
Beliefnet is a lifestyle website providing feature editorial content related to the topics of inspiration, spirituality, health, wellness, love and family, news and entertainment. Beliefnet is independent and not affiliated with any spiritual organization or movement
Creation Moments
Creation Moments is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) interdenominational Christian outreach program.
Pew Forum on Religion
Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs.

Sociology

Dancers on stage crouching down with text "theatre and dance"

American Journal of Dance Therapy
This journal of the American Dance Therapy Association reports the latest findings in dance/movement therapy theory, research, and clinical practice.
Dance Research Journal
Dance Research Journal is the longest running, peer reviewed journal in its field, and has become one of the foremost international outlets for dance research scholarship. The journal carries scholarly articles, book reviews, and a list of books and journals received.
Theatre Arts Journal
TAJ - Theatre Arts Journal: Studies in Scenography and Performance is a peer-reviewed electronic journal devoted to the study of scenography in performing arts, founded by the Gordon Craig Society for Theatre Research (R.A.) and published under the auspices of the Morris E. Curiel Institute for European Studies at Tel Aviv University.

Easy Reads

Dance Magazine
Continuously published since 1927, Dance Magazine is your source for everything dance.
American Theatre
American Theatre magazine is the nation’s only general-circulation magazine devoted to theatre.
Yale's Theater Magazine
Theater was founded in 1968 as yale/theatre, “a gathering of responses to real events” in that tumultuous year. In the magazine’s first issue, Ren Frutkin declared that it would consist of “theatre, thought, discussion, dream, art, people.” Since its first issue (“Do We Need Greek Drama?”), Yale’s magazine has fulfilled Frutkin’s call.

Image of four women holding hands and smiling walking down some steps with text "women's and gender studies"

Gender & Society
Articles appearing in Gender & Society analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces. The journal primarily publishes empirical articles, which are both theoretically engaged and methodologically rigorous, including qualitative, quantitative, and comparative-historical methodologies.
Affilia
Affilia is a living record of feminist social work. As such, realization of its mission to provide an alternative space necessarily shifts as the ideas and ideals underpinning feminist practice and praxis, and their manifestation in social work, change over time.
Signs
Recognized as the leading international journal in women’s studies, Signs is at the forefront of new directions in feminist scholarship. The journal publishes pathbreaking articles, review essays, comparative perspectives, and retrospectives of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and sexuality.

Easy Reads

Empower Women
We are dedicated to empowering women to achieve their full economic potential by inspiring both women and men to become advocates, change makers and leaders in their community. We equip them with resources, opportunities and a global platform that facilitates networking, learning and sharing of experiences.
Time for Equality
Time for Equality is a not-for-profit, international civil society initiative launched in April 2013 in Luxembourg. It aims to contribute towards building a more equal society by creating a culture of respects for human rights and fundamental freedoms, equity and justice.
UNWomen
UN Women is the United Nations entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide.