UTEP Library Student Employment (formerly known as Student Handbook)

Bibliography

A list containing citations to the resources used in writing a research paper or other document. See also Reference.

Book

A relatively lengthy work, often on a single topic. May be print or electronic.

Book stacks

"Shelves in the library where materials—typically books—are stored. Books in the book stacks are normally arranged by call number. May be referred to simply as the “stacks.”

Boolean operator

A word—such as AND, OR, or NOT—that commands a computer to combine search terms. Helps to narrow (AND, NOT) or broaden (OR) searches.

Browser

A software program that enables users to access Internet resources. Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Safari, and Mozilla Firefox are all browsers.

Call number

A group of letters and/or numbers that identifies a specific item in a library and provides a way for organizing library holdings. Three major types of call numbers are Dewey Decimal, Library of Congress, and Superintendent of Documents.

Catalog

A database (either online or on paper cards) listing and describing the books, journals, government documents, audiovisual and other materials held by a library. Various search terms allow you to look for items in the catalog.

Chat

A type of communication from person to person through typed messages, via computer or mobile device.

Check-out

To borrow an item from a library for a fixed period of time in order to read, listen to, or view it. Check-out periods vary by library. Items are checked out at the circulation desk.

Circulation

The place in the library, often a desk, where you check out, renew, and return library materials. You may also place a hold, report an item missing from the shelves, or pay late fees or fines there.

Citation

A reference to a book, magazine or journal article, or other work containing all the information necessary to identify and locate that work. A citation to a book includes its author's name, title, publisher and place of publication, and date of publication.

Controlled vocabulary

Standardized terms used in searching a specific database.

Copy card 

A card that enables its user to print from a computer, or to make copies of a document at a photocopy machine. Student ID cards sometimes serve as copy cards.

Course management system (CMS) 

Integrated online applications that allow users to view and complete class materials and post messages, which facilitate discussion beyond the classroom. Also referred to as a “Learning Management System” or “Course Management Software.”

Course reserve

Select books, articles, videotapes, or other materials that instructors want students to read or view for a particular course. These materials are usually kept in one area of the library and circulate for only a short period of time. See also Electronic reserve.

Database

A collection of information stored in an electronic format that can be searched by a computer.

Descriptor

A word that describes the subject of an article or book; used in many computer databases.

Dial-up

A device using telephone lines that allows a computer to access the Internet or two computers to communicate.

Dissertation

An extended written treatment of a subject (like a book) submitted by a graduate student as a requirement for a doctorate.

Document delivery

A service that retrieves or photocopies information sources for library users. Some libraries restrict document delivery services to distance education students, faculty members, or graduate students.

DOI

Acronym for Digital Object Identifier. It is a unique alphanumeric string assigned by the publisher to a digital object.

Download

1. To transfer information from a computer to a program or storage device to be viewed at a later date.

2. To transfer information from one computer to another computer using a modem.

E-book (or Electronic book)

An electronic version of a book that can be read on a computer or mobile device.

Editor

A person or group responsible for compiling the writings of others into a single information source. Looking for information under the editor's name is one option in searching.

Electronic reserve (or E-reserve)

An electronic version of a course reserve that is read on a computer display screen. See also Course reserve.

Encyclopedia

A work containing information on all branches of knowledge or treating comprehensively a particular branch of knowledge (such as history or chemistry). Often has entries or articles arranged alphabetically.

Flash drive

A small portable device for storing computerized information. A flash drive, sometimes called a thumb drive, can plug into the USB (Universal Serial Bus) port of any computer and store electronic information. See also Thumb drive.

Full-text

"A complete electronic copy of a resource, usually an article, viewed on a computer display screen. The term "full-text" is often used to refer to the electronic version of an article or book that is also published in print."

Glossary

"An alphabetical list of terms specialized to a field of knowledge with definitions or explanations."

Hardware

"The physical and electronic components of a computer system, such as the monitor, keyboard and mouse. Hardware works in conjunction with software."

Hold

"A request by a user to a library that a book checked out to another person be saved for that user when it is returned. “Holds” can generally be placed on any regularly circulating library materials through in-person or online .

Holdings

"The materials owned by a library."

HTML (Hypertext Markup Language)

"The computer language used to create documents on the World Wide Web so that they are readable by Web browsers."

Hyperlink

"An image or a portion of text which a Web user can click to jump to another document or page on the Web. Textual hyperlinks are often underlined and appear as a different color than the majority of the text on a Web page."

Icon

"A small symbol on a computer screen that represents a computer operation or data file."

Index: "1. 

A list of names or topics—usually found at the end of a publication—that directs you to the pages where those names or topics are discussed within the publication. 2. A printed or electronic publication that provides references to periodical articles or books by their subject, author, or other search terms."

Instant Messaging (IM)

"An Internet-based service allowing real-time, text communication between two or more users. Instant messaging is also known as chat, especially when more than two people are communicating."

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

 "A service that allows you to borrow materials from other libraries through your own library." See also: Document delivery.

Internet 

"A worldwide network of computer networks that allows for the transmission and exchange of files. The World Wide Web is part of the Internet."

Journal 

"A publication, issued on a regular basis, which contains scholarly research published as articles, papers, research reports, or technical reports.: See also: Periodical.

Journal title 

"The name of a journal. Journal title is one common search term."

Keyword 

"A significant or memorable word or term in the title, abstract, or text of an information resource that indicates its subject and is often used as a search term."

Known Item Search

"A search for an item or article when you have some or all of the citation information ."

Limits/limiters

"Options used in searching that restrict your results to only information resources meeting certain other, non-subject-related, criteria. Limiting options vary by database, but common options include limiting results to materials available full-text in the database, to scholarly publications, to materials written in a particular language, to materials available in a particular location, or to materials published at a specific time."

Link

See Hyperlink.

Magazine

"A publication, issued on a regular basis, containing popular articles, written and illustrated in a less technical manner than the articles found in a journal."

Media & Microfilm Department AKA M&M

This department is located downstairs on the 1st floor, and it houses microfilm, microform, microfiche, and the readers to access this material.

Microform

"A reduced sized photographic reproduction of printed information on reel to reel film (microfilm) or film cards (microfiche) or opaque pages that can be read with a microform reader/printer."

MinerQuest

Our OPAC (See Online Public Access Catalog) that allows for discovery of resources within various databases and our library catalog.

Mouse

"A device that allows the user to move and click the cursor on a computer screen for different functions."

Multimedia

"Any information resource that presents information using more than one media (print, picture, audio, or video)."

Newspaper

"A publication containing information about varied topics that are pertinent to general information, a geographic area, or a specific subject matter (i.e. business, culture, education). Often published daily."

Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC) 

"A computerized database that can be searched in various ways—such as by keyword, author, title, subject, or call number—to find out what resources a library owns. OPAC’s will supply listings of the title, call number, author, location, and description of any items matching one's search. Also referred to as “library catalog” or “online catalog.” (AKA MinerQuest)

PDF 

"A file format developed by Adobe Acrobat® that allows files to be transmitted from one computer to another while retaining their original appearance both on-screen and when printed. An acronym for Portable Document Format."

Peer reviewed journal

"Peer review is a process by which editors have experts in a field review books or articles submitted for publication by the  experts’ peers. Peer review helps to ensure the quality of an information source by publishing only works of proven validity, methodology, and quality. Peer-reviewed journals are also called refereed or scholarly journals."

Periodical

"An information source published in multiple parts at regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, biannually). Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all periodicals." See also: Serial.

Primary source

"An original record of events, such as a diary, a newspaper article, a public record, or scientific documentation."

Print

"The written symbols of a language as portrayed on paper. Information sources may be either print or electronic."

Proxy server

"An Internet server that acts as a “go-between” for a computer on a local network (secure system) and the open Web. Often checks to determine “right of access” to the secure environment and speeds up requests by caching frequently accessed Web pages. Can also act as a firewall."

Recall

"A request for the return of library material before the due date."

Refereed journal: See Peer reviewed journal.

Reference

"1. A service that helps people find needed information. 2. Sometimes "reference" refers to reference collections, such as encyclopedias, indexes, handbooks, directories, etc. 3. A citation to a work is also known as a reference."

Remote access

"The ability to log onto (or access) networked computer resources from a distant location. Remote access makes available library databases to students researching from home, office, or other locations outside the library." At UTEP, the application we use is called Global Protect VPN.

Renew/Renewal

"A lengthening (or extension) of the loan period for library materials."

Reserve

"1. A service providing special, often short-term, access to course-related materials (book or article readings, lecture notes, sample tests) or to other materials (CD-ROMs, audio-visual materials, current newspapers or magazines). 2. Also the physical location—often a service desk or room—within a library where materials on reserve are kept. Materials can also be made available electronically." See also: Course reserve, Electronic reserve.

Scholarly: See Peer reviewed.

Search strategy/Search Query

 "Words entered into the search box of a database or search engine when looking for information. Words relating to an information source's author, editor, title, subject heading or keyword serve as search terms. Search terms can be combined by using Boolean operators and can also be used with limits/limiters."

Secondary sources

"Materials such as books and journal articles that analyze primary sources. Secondary sources usually provide evaluation or interpretation of data or evidence found in original research or documents such as historical manuscripts or memoirs."

Serial

"Publications such as journals, magazines and newspapers that are generally published multiple times per year, month, or week. Serials usually have number volumes and issues. The words journal, magazine, periodical, and serial may be used interchangeably."

Software

"The programs installed on and used by the components of a computer system (or, hardware)."

Stacks: See Book stacks.

Style manual

"An information source providing guidelines for people who are writing research papers. A style manual outlines specific formats for arranging research papers and citing the sources that are used in writing the paper." See Citation.  

Subject heading

"Descriptions of an information source’s content assigned to make finding information easier." See also: Controlled vocabulary, Descriptors.

Thesaurus

"A list of terms which serves as a standardized or controlled vocabulary for identifying, locating, and retrieving information." (Definition from New York Public Library) 

Thumb drive AKA Flash Drive

"A small portable device for storing computerized information. A thumb drive can plug into the USB (Universal Serial Bus) port of any computer and store electronic information."

Title

"The name of a book, article, or other information source."

Upload

"To transfer information from a computer system or a personal computer to another computer system or a larger computer system."

Uniform Resource Locator (URL)

"The unique address for a Web page which is used in citing it. A URL consists of the access protocol (http), the domain name (www.nmsu.edu), and often the path to a file or resource residing on that server."

User ID

"A number or name unique to a particular user of computerized resources. A user ID must often be entered in order to access library resources remotely."

Virtual reference

"A service allowing library users to ask questions through email or live-chat as opposed to coming to the reference desk at the library and asking a question in person. Also referred to as “online reference” or “e-reference.”

Wi-Fi  

Wireless connects devices within a limited range using a router to interface with the Internet.

Wireless

"The name given to any electronic device that sends messages through space via electric or electromagnetic waves instead of via power cords."

World Wide Web

"A network of information, as a part of the Internet, that includes text, graphics, sounds, and moving images. Also know as the Web or WWW or W3. It incorporates a variety of Internet tools into one method of access, such as the Web browser Internet Explorer, Safari, or Firefox."

Zip folder:

 "File format that can contain multiple files combined and compressed into one file." Most files must be extracted before having the ability to view the contents inside the folder. 

 1.  A rest period of not more than fifteen minutes during the first half of a regular workday and not more than fifteen minutes during the second half of a regular work day is a privilege. Employees who are scheduled to work four hours or more, but less than a full day, will be afforded the privilege of one fifteen-minute rest period.  Ordinarily, rest periods are a privilege and not a right; they cannot be accumulated for use at a later date nor used to shorten the regular workday.  In all instances, the granting of rest periods is subject to the workload demands of the organizational unit and approval of the supervisor. 

 2.  Always check out with a staff member when going on break.  Also, check back in when you return.  Failure to notify a staff member or supervisor will be considered as unauthorized leave or absence and subject to reprimand.

 3.   Breaks should not be taken in the working area.

STAFF LOUNGE

 1.  Student assistants may use the lounge area, provided they observe the following rules:

      a.   Use of the lounge is limited to the times when you are actually on duty (the staff lounge is for eating, not for doing class assignments)

      b.   Do not bring friends into the lounge.

      c.    Access to the lounge is with a ID card.

EMPLOYMENT AUTHORIZATION POLICY

Students may not begin working until all required processing has been completed by the library, Office of Student Financial Aid and the Human Resources Office.  Hours worked by students not following this procedure will not be accepted for payment.  The Office of Student Financial Aid will NOT backdate appointments for any reason.

APPOINTMENT AND RENEWAL POLICY

Students are generally appointed from September 1 of each year to August 31 of the following year (the period covered by the student's Financial Aid Award Letter).  Students are appointed only for the period they indicate they will be enrolled.  If a student indicates in his application he will not be enrolled in the Summer, the appointment will be only for the Fall and Spring semesters.  If the student decides to attend Summer, a new appointment form must be obtained from the Office of Student Financial Aid.  Students who do not register for the summer session will be terminated at the end of the spring semester.  Therefore, it is crucial that departments are aware of each student's enrollment plans and authorized appointment dates.

All Work-Study employees must have their employment authorizations renewed by the Financial Aid office by the end of August of each year to insure continued employment.  The Financial Aid office will notify departments during the month of July of the procedures to be followed and will specify a deadline for employment renewal authorization. For additional information, contact the Office of Student Financial Aid, located in the Mike Loya Academic Services Building, Room 204, They can be reached by calling 915-747-5204 or emailing financial@utep.edu.

The hiring department is encouraged to evaluate students on a semester or annual basis in order to support student professional development. Continued employment is dependent upon the availability of resources in the hiring department. An evaluation will be performed by the supervisor when a student employee decides to transfer to another department within the library, resigns or is terminated. 

Source link: Revised 10-18-23

IDs

• Students must wear their IDs.

DRESS CODE

• Students will be dressed and groomed in a manner that is clean and neat (appropriate to work area) and that will not be a health or safety hazard to themselves or others.
• Closed-toes must be worn at all times.

 1.  The department phone is a business phone and should not be used for personal calls unless absolutely necessary.  Please ask friends and family not to call you on work phones or cellular phones unless there is some necessity.  Please adhere to the Library policy on the use of cellular phones.

 2.   Personal calls should be kept short, preferably to less than three minutes.  If the use of the phone becomes excessive, you may be refused permission to place or receive calls at work.

VISITORS

If your friends stop by, please explain to them that you are working and cannot stop for long conversations.  You can talk to them briefly, but if they wish to conduct a long conversation, they should arrange to get together with you on your break or after work.  Notify a supervisor if you cannot get rid of annoying persons.  When using the library during non-working hours, please respect those who are working by not engaging them in conversations or otherwise disrupting their work.

1.  You are expected to arrive ON time to work and leave ON time.  It is your responsibility to  make sure you have enough time to make it to and from classes.  Take this into consideration when asked about your schedule for the following semester.

2. Your schedule will be worked out by you and your supervisor at the beginning of each semester.  If problems arise with your schedule, consult your supervisor.  Work periods must be a minimum of one and one-half hours.  If there are extenuating circumstances which make this impossible, an alternate schedule can be worked out with your supervisor. (See sample schedule sheet.)

 3.  You are never allowed to work during the hours you are scheduled to be in class.  Even if your class is canceled for the day, you may not work during those periods. (See work-study regulations.)

 4.  If you work for more than six hours at one time, you must take at least a 1/2 hour lunch break on your own time, and you are not allowed to work more than 8 hours per day.

5.  If you fail to show up for scheduled hours without any prior notice to your department, you   will lose those hours, unless you personally notify your supervisor of illness and problems as soon as possible.

6.  Unauthorized leave from your scheduled work time will be considered as absence and subject to an unsatisfactory evaluation on timesheet, an oral or written reprimand, or termination.

7.  Excessive absenteeism or late arrivals (for any reason) is grounds for dismissal.  Excessive is defined as more than three times.

8.  Time can only be made up during the week in which it was missed.  Arrangements are to be made through your supervisor.

9. Advanced work to complete your hours ahead of schedule will not be allowed without good reason.  Departure from the set schedule will be authorized only by your supervisor.

10. The pay period on the time-sheet is for the calendar month. 

11. At the end of each pay period, your time must be filled out completely and signed on the left hand side of the page.  If it is not properly completed and signed, you may not get your pay on time. (See work-study regulations and timesheets.)

PEOPLESOFT

Hourly and Work-Study employees are required to record and submit work hours in PeopleSoft on a daily basis. Timesheet submissions are required on a weekly basis.

Time will be recorded via Punch Time Entries (Punch In/Out), this method records the student’s schedule and calculates the total time to be paid.

Timesheets submitted by student employee will route to the employee’s “Reports to” supervisor for approval. 

In order to receive payment, the supervisor must approve the timesheet by the payroll deadline.

Timesheets not approved by the payroll deadline will need to be approved and processed for payment until the next pay cycle.

Departments must insure that student employees do not work more than the allowed hours per week. 

Semi-Monthly Payroll calendar is composed of two calendar periods:

• The first calendar period begins on the 1^st of every month and ends on the 15 of every month.
• The second calendar period begins on the 16^th of every month and ends on the last day of the month.

All semi-monthly paydays are the 5^th working day after the end of the pay period.

For any job-related questions or concerns, the primary contact should be the “reports to” supervisor

1.  Students employed by the Library are not to use any of the workstation computers for personal use (view e-mail, internet, etc..).

2.   Students should check their personal e-mail accounts at the student labs and not on Library work station computers while on duty.

3.   Students can check their student email should their supervisor send them files to work on.

4.   Workstations should not be left logged in or in an unlocked position. Use the Windows Key + L to enable the lock screen.

COMPLIANCE

The Library follows the University of Texas System compliance guidelines.

TEAMWORK

It is important to recognize that, in order for the UTEP Library to work efficiently and effectively, a team effort is required.  Students are encouraged to work closely with their co-workers and supervisors in order to maintain a high quality of service for every user.

POSITIVE MENTAL ATTITUDE AND ENTHUSIASM

In order to perform effectively, one must maintain a positive mental attitude toward his job/duties assigned.  Showing eagerness and intense interest in your job will enhance your job performance.  The UTEP Library seeks qualities such as these in order to maintain a positive working environment; and in turn, patrons/users will benefit greatly.

SELF-MOTIVATION

Work-study students are encouraged and expected to perform to their fullest ability.  The UTEP Library is an advocate of students who promote themselves in their duties or seek tasks that need attention.

COMMUNICATION

It is crucial for each individual to know and understand his or her job.  This is important in order to communicate, interpret, and clarify any questions or misgivings that patrons may have.

It is also important to understand what each patron is seeking in order to answer his or her questions.  If a student employee has exhausted every means of assisting the patron, and the patron is not satisfied, then the student employee should refer the patron to the correct supervisor/employee who can assist him.

HONESTY AND RELIABILITY

The UTEP Library will maintain the highest standards of service to the patron/user.  As an employee of the Library, each student is a driving force and a key individual in its maintenance.  In order to continue our high quality of service, students should be honest and reliable in their jobs.  This means being punctual, effective and efficient in whatever duties are assigned.