UTEP Library Research Guides: Open Education Resources @ UTEP: Use Licensed Material From the Library

The UTEP Library Can Help Make Your Courses More Affordable

The UTEP Library can help you reduce the costs of the textbooks and other educational materials you use. Besides helping you discover and choose OER materials, we can also support course affordability by making library-licensed e-content available to your students.

Examples of how the Library can help:

Put a print copy of your chosen on reserve through the Library's Course Reserves
Choose a textbook or articles to which the Library already offers online access. Place portions of books and whole articles on online reserve, then link to them on your Blackboard site or include a link in your syllabus
Choose readings from books and textbooks to which the Library already offers online access. (Let us know if you're going to use an e-book for your class so we can make sure the e-book's user limit can accommodate all your students!) See examples below of resources that offer digital textbooks, already in use by UTEP faculty

Online Textbook Resources

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to a fully-integrated resource center for professional engineers, engineering students, researchers, and educators. Features leading McGraw-Hill textbooks, interactive imaging content, multimedia, and curriculum support tools. Includes faculty-made instructional videos, a customizable curriculum mapping tool, interactive graphs, downloadable tables, an Excel spreadsheet calculator tool, references to primary literature, a global engineering news feed, and more. Updated monthly.
https://accessengineeringlibrary.com
Access Medicine from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to a selected collection of authoritative clinical reference and medical education titles authored by leading medical professionals from around the world. Content includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com
Access Physiotherapy from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a fully-integrated resource center for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification. Features leading McGraw-Hill textbooks, interactive imaging content, multimedia, and curriculum support tools. Includes detailed information concerning modalities; videos and animations; a customizable curriculum tool that can be used to assign, manage, and track the progress of student assignments; an online cadaver dissection resource for the study of anatomy and physiology; a drug and medication database, and references to primary literature.
https://accessphysiotherapy.mhmedical.com
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Produced by Primal Pictures, Ltd., this online resource provides access to three-dimensional models of the human body that can be rotated to adjust the view as well as detailed layers of human anatomy that can be stripped away for enhanced visualization. Includes interactive models of the head, neck, shoulder, hand, thorax, abdomen, spine, pelvis, perineum, hip, knee, foot, and more. Also included are common pathologies, radiological content, and interactive quizzes.
https://www.anatomy.tv

INCOSE Connect
Collaborative online workspace that provides INCOSE members with access to user guides, primers, webinars, full-text online publications such as INCOSE journals, books, proceedings, and technical reports, as well as other membership resources. NOTE: UTEP has an INCOSE Corporate Advisory Board (CAB) Membership. Access is restricted to current UTEP faculty, staff, and students by username and password. Authorized users must register for an account. A valid UTEP e-mail address ("utep.edu") is required for new account set-up. Select "CAB Limited" as Membership Type when registering. All new accounts are reviewed and verified by INCOSE staff. Valid accounts are activated after about 24-48 hours.
F.A. Davis PT Collection (McGraw-Hill Medical)
Provides online access to a comprehensive and interactive resource center for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification in the physical therapy profession. Content includes F.A. Davis reference works on physical therapy, a wide range of physical therapy cases designed to help physical therapy students learn in the context of real patients by applying PT principles to real-life situations, and a streaming video library produced by leaders in the PT field designed to teach exercise and rehabilitation techniques, kinetics, and physical therapy interventions.