Comprehensive bibliographic index for a wide variety of literature pertaining to Mexican-Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Derived from materials in the Chicano Studies Collection held by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this database includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Other subjects include art, economics, film, folklore, health, history, labor, language, law, literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, and women's studies.
Provides full text/full image access to a digital collection of selected historical content pertaining to hispanic social history, literature, politics, religion, and culture in the United States derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include scholarly monographs and reference books, selected historical newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, periodicals, pamphlets, broadsides, and more. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: Colonial times - 1960.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=h6a
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides full-text/full-image access to a digital collection of selected historical content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include rare books and literary manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, historical records, and a wide variety of manuscript materials. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions.
Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.
Provides full-text/full image access to 14 individual archival collections on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latino Studies. Subject coverage includes the Mexican Revolution; Emiliano Zapata; Feminism in Cuba; Foreign Relations between the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean States; and the National Farm Worker Ministry.
Bibliographic index that contains citations to articles and book reviews published in scholarly journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as selected articles from international academic journals dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, Mexico, and Hispanic Americans or Latinos. Most journals are peer-reviewed or refereed. Subject focus excludes the pure and technical sciences and focuses on the social sciences and humanities.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Integrated gateway that allows for the cross-searching of full text music reference publications from both Grove and Oxford, including: Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music.
Comprehensive full-text online reference resource devoted to international research in ethnomusicology derived from the 10-volume printed version of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music originally published in 1997. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Geographic regions covered include Africa; South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean; the United States and Canada; Southeast Asia; India; the Middle East; China, Japan, and Korea; Europe; and Australia and the Pacific Islands. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international music literature. Subject coverage includes acoustics, criticism, dance, dramatic arts, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, historical musicology, literature, music therapy, pedagogy, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, visual arts, and many more. Materials indexed include scholarly journal articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, videos, concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals.
Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this comprehensive bibliographic database, including abstracts, provides both cover-to-cover and selective indexing for articles derived from periodicals and scholarly literature about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. Publications indexed include academic journals, magazines, trade publications, book reviews, obituaries, and news.
Bibliographic index to individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions. Citations include composers, formats, genres, librettists, performing forces (medium), and poets. A separate collection authority link makes it possible to search for titles of music collections, as well as individual compositions.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ipm
NOTE: Access to this database is limited to five simultaneous users.
Provides bibliographic indexing and abstracts for international literature concerning the performing arts specific to theater, music, and dance. Publications indexed include journals, magazines, books, and monographs.
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of classical music as well as selections from other genres, including jazz, blues, folk, new age, world music, and more. Includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs plus selected titles from other labels. Most recordings are accompanied by printable scholarly notes written my musicologists. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
https://UTEP.NaxosMusicLibrary.com
First you'll want to begin an advanced search in MinerQuest.
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
Provides access to licensed digital streaming video on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
