MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies book series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints. Publications indexed include pro and con viewpoint articles; reference articles that provide context; full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to hand-selected web sites; and more. Features Lexile reading levels for periodicals as well as an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to high school and middle school social studies and science standards.
The Prospector has been the official student newspaper of The University of Texas at El Paso since it was founded in 1914. With a Access Services of about 10,000 per week and distribution throughout the university, The Prospector has a long-standing tradition of excellence as “the assayer of student opinion.”
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
Provides access to a collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal and state case law; court rules; statutory and regulatory materials from publications such as the United States Code Annotated, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations; reference publications; full text legal periodicals and law reviews; legal guides; and other information for pre-law students. Also includes American Law Reports and American Jurisprudence.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for a wide variety of literature pertaining to Mexican-Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Derived from materials in the Chicano Studies Collection held by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this database includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Other subjects include art, economics, film, folklore, health, history, labor, language, law, literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, and women's studies.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning world history since 1450, excluding the United States and Canada. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes anthropology, genealogy, ethnic studies, political science, sociology, and more.
Provides online access to a broad and varied collection of digital streaming videos pertaining to American history. Includes selected documentaries from The History Channel, A&E Television Network, Biography Channel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, and more.
Bibliographic index that provides full text/full image access to a collection of American magazines and journals spanning the development of the United States from colonial times to the advent of U.S. involvement in World War II. Titles include Andrew Bradford's American Magazine, Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, Medical Repository (America's first scientific journal), early professional journals such as Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
https://search.proquest.com/americanperiodicals?accountid=7121
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Provides full text/full image access to a collection of primary source materials in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction drawn from the Cornell University Library. Subject coverage includes education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Materials indexed include books and journals published in the 19th century. Coverage: 1850 - 1877.
Provides full text/full image access to a select collection of North American immigrant correspondence, diaries, and oral histories. Subject coverage includes American and Canadian history, European history, labor history, ethnic and diversity studies, sociology, language and literature, women's studies, and genealogy. Materials indexed include both published as well as previously unpublished items derived from letters, books, diaries, pamphlets, journal articles, photographs, scrapbooks, cartoons, autobiographies, and interview transcripts.
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
