UTEP Library Research Guides: SOCI 3311: Social Science Research Methods: Databases

Sociology Related Databases

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh

Search multiple databases in the EBSCO family at once by clicking "Choose Databases" (see animation for steps)

Recommended EBSCO databases for the Social Sciences:
- Academic Search Complete
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- PsycARTICLES
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
- Race Relations Abstracts
- Education Full Text (if topic concerns children)
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

https://search.proquest.com/socabsshell/advanced?accountid=7121
Web of Science
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.

https://webofknowledge.com/wos
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/
JSTOR
Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies,statistics and zoology.

https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch

Google Scholar indexes millions of scholarly articles but it is next to impossible to narrow and sift through results like you would in a database.
Google Scholar is, however, perfect for when you have the name or citation of an article that you really need.
If you are on the UTEP campus (or if you're connected to the VPN) Google Scholar will tell you if the UTEP Library has the article in one of our databases and provide a link. See the steps below.

Step 1

Plug in the article citation or title to Google Scholar

Step 2

If the UTEP Library has access to this article, there will be a "UTEP Access" link that will take you to the database where the full text of the article is available.

Step 4

If we don't have the article you're looking for, you can request it through our InterLibrary Loan service (Please see the ILL box on the left). Online requests typically take 1-2 days or less!

If your professor wants you to find articles from a specific journal, go to the eJournals tab on the library homepage, and type in the name of the journal.

If the UTEP Library subscribes to this journal electronically, then a link to a database will be provided. It is very likely that we will have the journal available in several databases with different coverage dates, so please select the coverage that best suits your needs.

SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO)
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a fully-integrated online research methods tool designed to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects across multiple disciplines. Provides selected, full-text access to SAGE books, journals, and reference content.Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.

http://methods.sagepub.com
Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.

MinerQuest
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.

https://utep.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01UTEP_INST:01UTEP

Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume I (Alexander Street Press)
Provides access to a rich and varied collection of digital streaming video content available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Content includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, interviews, documentaries, as well as teaching and discussion guides. NOTE: Continuing Education Credits (CEC) are available for a number of the videos in this collection.

https://ctiv.alexanderstreet.com/CTV1
This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume II (Alexander Street Press)
The second volume of the Alexander Street Press Counseling and Therapy in Video series provides access to a rich and varied collection of digital streaming video content available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Volume II both updates and expands upon the first collection, with special emphasis on contemporary topics such as family therapy, child therapy, geriatric therapy, play therapy, weight control and eating disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder, narrative therapy, social construction, art therapy, and more. Content includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, interviews, documentaries, as well as teaching and discussion guides.

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/ctv2
Docuseek2

Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.

https://docuseek2.com/view/access/fa2b043ef0f0fd76ebb157a2914db69d
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.

https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?wid=104347
Kanopy: The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP)
Provides access to licensed digital streaming video on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.

https://utep.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.kanopy.com/en/utep