Find Sources - UNIV 1301 - Hibbert - UTEP Library Research Guides at The University of Texas at El Paso

Find Articles

Not all articles are the same-- here are the different types you might find, and pros/cons of using each:

news articles: provide brief snippets of info; best for finding current info; watch out for the date to make sure it's not old, out-of-date info
magazine articles: provide more detailed info, but still digestible to the average reader; opinion, or viewpoints are often present in magazine articles
scholarly/academic articles: written by researches/professors/experts; double-checked by other experts for quality before publication; does not give basic info or definitions, gives high-level info that might mean you have to look things up while you're reading; they take a long time to publish, so not the best place for super up-to-date info This is the only type of articles you are allowed to use for this class

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Family Studies Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce and family therapy. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=26h
MinerQuest This link opens in a new window
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
https://utep.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01UTEP_INST:01UTEP
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerning psychology and human behavior. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pbh
Race Relations Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic records covering areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=25h

Step 1:

Step 2:

UNIV 1301 - Hibbert

Statistics

Article Anatomy

Find Articles