MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies book series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints. Publications indexed include pro and con viewpoint articles; reference articles that provide context; full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to hand-selected web sites; and more. Features Lexile reading levels for periodicals as well as an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to high school and middle school social studies and science standards.
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that contains articles a wide variety of subjects, particularly history and English. It's a good database to turn to if you're having trouble finding anything in MinerQuest.
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.
Comprehensive full-text online reference resource devoted to international research in ethnomusicology derived from the 10-volume printed version of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music originally published in 1997. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Geographic regions covered include Africa; South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean; the United States and Canada; Southeast Asia; India; the Middle East; China, Japan, and Korea; Europe; and Australia and the Pacific Islands. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
Provides indexing and abstracts for international music and performing arts periodicals, plus complete full text articles for many scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes a variety of topics in the field of music including performance, theory and composition, music education, jazz, and ethnomusicology.
Integrated gateway that allows for the cross-searching of full text music reference publications from both Grove and Oxford, including: Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music.
Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this comprehensive bibliographic database, including abstracts, provides both cover-to-cover and selective indexing for articles derived from periodicals and scholarly literature about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. Publications indexed include academic journals, magazines, trade publications, book reviews, obituaries, and news.
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.