Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Varieties of News Sources
News can be found on websites of reputable news providers like CNN or the Christian Science Monitor, on websites of organizations such as NASA, or on social media. The Library provides access to news, both current and historical, in newspapers and magazines. You should evaluate your news sources carefully to identify the most reliable information, using the criteria listed below. You can also check current facts on the websites noted in the box below.
Selected News Sources in the UTEP Library
Some newspapers are listed below, and you can link to the full list of newspapers available. News can also be found in magazines such as Time, The Economist, or U.S. News and World Report. These magazines are included in databases such as Academic Search Complete.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including over 5,000 full-text journals.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text/full-image access to primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century. Subject coverage focuses on daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century.
Access Newspaper Archive
Full text/full image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the U.S. papers, including the Southwest.
African-American Newspapers 1827-1998
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998. Subject coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, including the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment, and more. Includes articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Hemeroteca Digital de Chihuahua
Provides full text access to selected Spanish language articles derived from Mexican newspapers and magazines covering the state of Chihuahua, Mexico. Coverage 1976-Present.
Latin American Newspapers (NewsBank/Readex)
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries, this collection provides complete full text/full image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries. Dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).
Provides access to full text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type.
NBC Learn Higher Ed
The collections of NBC Learn are available through Internet streaming or via download. They are also accessible as a stand-alone resource or as a Blackboard building block, which allows users to embed videos directly into Blackboard learning management systems. Content includes stories from programs such as NBC Nightly News, the Today Show, Meet the Press, and Dateline NBC, as well as from the networks of MSNBC, CNBC, and Telemundo. Coverage: 1920s to present (updated daily).
Provides FULL-TEXT for selected articles from over 180 newspapers, news wires, and other sources. Updated daily.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Los Angeles Times
Provides full text/full image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up to 1988.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times
Provides full text/full image access to the New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up to 2008.
Fact Checking Websites
All Sides Bias Ratings
Provides readers a sense of the political leanings of the source
A product of the Annenberg Public Policy Center, this site is terrific for checking up on political claims.
The Pulitzer Prize-winning Politifact researches the claims of politicians and checks their accuracy.
One of the oldest debunking sites on the Internet, Snopes.com focuses on urban legends, news stories and memes. They also cite their sources at the end of each debunking.
A nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.