JSTORFind peer-reviewed scholarly articles from a variety of disciplines. #1 choice for first stop in history research!
Project MUSEExcellent database for finding scholarly articles in history and women's studies
America: History and Life (EBSCO)Scholarly articles in the disciplines of culture, gender studies, politics, and history-- covering the United States (and some about Canada)
See also: Historical Abstracts (EBSCO).
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) (EBSCO)Bibliographic index for literature concerning all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Subject coverage includes anthropology, archaeology, education, multicultural relations, psychology, political science, gaming, governance, legend, sociology, and literacy. Materials indexed include books, essays, journal and newspaper articles, and book reviews, as well as U.S. and Canadian government documents. Citations include abstracts and some include full text or links to full text based on institutional subscriptions.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press)Provides full text/full image access to a broad collection of primary source materials dealing with the relationships among peoples and cultures in early North America. The collection presents unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, and others. It includes works by American Indians, Canadian First Peoples, and many European groups, capturing first impressions, observations of flora and fauna, descriptions of encounters with indigenous peoples, and new language elements as they evolved. Subject coverage includes American history, Canadian history, natural history, environmental studies, and American Indian and Native American studies. Materials indexed range from published and unpublished personal accounts derived from narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, and journals to prints, drawings, paintings, photographs, bibliographies, original facsimile pages, and maps. Coverage: 1534 - 1860
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.