Skip to main content

Civil War and Reconstruction Era, 1850-1877: Special Coll. Dept. Suggestions

The topics covered: Breakdown of the political party system, election of Lincoln, outbreak of the war, union and confederacy, military problems, nations at war, reconstruction conflicts, triumph of radicalism, compromise of 1876.

Selected Suggestions from the Library Special Collections Dept. Relating to the Civil War

UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO

UNIVERSITY LIBRARY

C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT

Compiled by Claudia Rivers, Library Special Collections

 

Government documents

 

The war of the rebellion : a compilation of the official records of the Union and Confederate armiesUnited States. War Dept. Washington, U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1880-1901.  A 70-volume set found on the first floor in GovDocs Federal at W 45.5: v.

This set is also available on-line, for instance at http://digital.library.cornell.edu/m/moawar/waro.html

 

United States. War Dept. Letters sent by the Department of Texas, the District of Texas, and the 5th Military District, 1856-1858 and 1865-1870 [microform]  Washington : National Archives, 1981. M&M Microfilm, MF1623 . M1165.  

 

LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (Historical Full Text)

 

Memoirs

Sherman, William T. (William Tecumseh), 1820-1891.   Memoirs of General W.T. Sherman / William Tecumseh Sherman. New York : Library of America : Distributed to the trade in the U.S. and Canada by Viking Press, c1990. Spec. Coll. Military      E467.1.S55 A3 1990

 

Born in Slavery:  Slave narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936-1938.

            http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/snhtml/

 

You can find memoirs and other first-person accounts by using the keywords “personal narratives.”

 Newspapers

New York Times (Available online from Proquest Historical Newspapers)

Time of London (Available online from Proquest)

NewspaperARCHIVE.com has several nineteenth-century American newspapers, searchable full-text

Early American Newspapers (1690-1876), Series I (NewsBank/Readex)

 

Other contemporary magazines and journals

American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900) (ProQuest)

 

Photographs

Check American Memory at the Library of Congress at http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html 

 

Ask a librarian!  If you need help with Special Collections material contact Claudia Rivers:

(915) 747-6725 or crivers@utep.edu

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |