UTEP Library Research Guides: Criminology 3313: Databases

Find Articles

On this page you will find recommended databases relevant to criminal justice, social sciences, law, newspapers, video, and free access. Use these databases to find articles and other research on your topic. For a complete list of databases available through the UTEP Library go to Databases.

Remote access to most of the Library’s subscription databases is available to current UTEP faculty, staff, and students only via the following methods: 1) Campus VPN (broadband access only) and 2) the Library’s Proxy Server (requires valid li brary patron record).

Newspaper Databases

Video Databases

Filmakers Library Online (Alexander Street Press)
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
more...less...
As part of the Alexander Street Anthropology series, Ethnographic Video Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of digital streaming video content pertaining to the study of human culture and behavior
Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume I (Alexander Street Press)
more...less...
Provides access to a rich and varied collection of digital streaming video content available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.

Criminal Justice Databases

For a complete list of Criminal Justice databases, click here. The following are recommended as starting points for your research.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced in cooperation with the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University Law Library and SAGE Publications, Inc., Criminal Justice Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for international journal articles, books, governmental and nongovernmental reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Subject content includes crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing. Some citations include links to full text content, based on institutional subscriptions.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cja
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Selective bibliographic index for U.S. and international literature pertaining to criminal justice. Subject coverage includes law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Publications indexed include scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Most citations include abstracts and some include full-text or link to full-text content from other providers based on institutional subscriptions.
https://search.proquest.com/criminaljusticeperiodicalsshell/advanced?accountid=7121
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index published by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS), an information clearinghouse for people around the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice as well as drug control. Materials indexed include summaries of U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. Excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. Unique elements of the collection include agency-produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research.
https://search.proquest.com/ncjrs/advanced?accountid=7121

Social Sciences and Law Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) (GALE) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides abstracts and full text for international literature in the field of Women's Studies. Subject coverage includes domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender equity, the family, lesbian studies, reproductive health, and human rights. Materials indexed range from journals, books, and the alternative press to gray literature compiled from overlooked or hard-to-find newsletters and Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) research reports. Rarely indexed or cataloged ephemeral literature from leading research institutes and grass roots organizations is also included.
https://find.galegroup.com/menu/start?userGroupName=txshracd2603&prod=CWI
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies book series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints. Publications indexed include pro and con viewpoint articles; reference articles that provide context; full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to hand-selected web sites; and more. Features Lexile reading levels for periodicals as well as an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to high school and middle school social studies and science standards.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=OVIC
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic indexing as well as full-text/full image access to collections of historical international literature derived from legal periodicals, criminal justice journals, and other law-related publications. Materials indexed range from law journals published by organizations affiliated with the American Bar Association (ABA), the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), and the American Association of Law Schools (AALS) to current and historical volumes of the Code of Federal Regulations, a full reprint of the English Reports (1220 to 1865), The Federal Register, and the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure. Included are official and unofficial treaty and agreement publications, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, U.S. Statutes at Large, and many other legal-related document libraries. Coverage and updates vary by collection and title, typically ranging from the earliest available issue to the most current allowed under contract. Full-text access is based on institutional subscriptions.
https://heinonline.org/HOL/Welcome
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS), the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) provides full text access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.
http://www.hsdl.org
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for selected literature concerning current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in law and related topics. Subject coverage includes criminal justice; international and federal law; organized crime; medical, labor and human resource law; ethics; the environment; and more. Publications indexed are primarily scholarly law journals.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=lgh
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.
http://www.nexisuni.com
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues in the following areas: economics, business, health care, finance, law, international trade and relations, public administration, government, and political science. Materials indexed include selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, Internet resources, and microfiche.
https://search.proquest.com/pais/advanced?accountid=7121
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerning psychology and human behavior. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pbh
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
https://search.proquest.com/socabsshell/advanced?accountid=7121
WestlawNext This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal and state case law; court rules; statutory and regulatory materials from publications such as the United States Code Annotated, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations; reference publications; full text legal periodicals and law reviews; legal guides; and other information for pre-law students. Also includes American Law Reports and American Jurisprudence.
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Search/Home.html?rs=IWLN1.0&vr=3.0&sp=000483648-2100&forcecdn=false&bhskip=1

Statistical Abstract

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States Online Edition (ProQuest) provides access to a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Updated monthly!

Criminology 3313: Databases