Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To browse E-Journals please click on the categories below.
Periodicals are publications issued at regular intervals, usually monthly or weekly. They are journals, magazines, and newspapers, and are important sources for up-to-date information in all disciplines.
UTEP library has periodicals available electronically through our subscribed databases. To find out if we have online access to particular periodicals conduct an E-Journal search by title, or browse by subject. To seach the library's printed serial holdings use the search journal title in our library catalog.
Remote access to most of the Library’s subscription electronic serial publications is available to current UTEP faculty, staff, and students only via the following methods: 1) Campus VPN (broadband access only) and 2) the Library’s Proxy Server (requires valid library patron record). For details concerning remote access methods and how to set up your library patron record, visit the Library's Online Resources web page.
Top 20 Criminal Justice Journals
Below is a list of the top 20 criminal justice journals with the highest impact factors based on the 2017 InCites Journal Citation Reports.
1. Aggression and Violent Behavior (1359-1789)
Provides a multidisciplinary forum for publication of review articles and summary reports of innovative and ongoing clinical research programs relating to the field of aggression and violent behavior.
2. Crime & Delinquency (0011-1287)
Crime & Delinquency (CAD) focuses on issues and concerns that impact the criminal justice system, including the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice, as well as the victims, criminals, courts and sanctions.
3. Journal of Criminal Justice (0047-2352)
This international journal is concerned with all aspects of the criminal justice system in terms of their relationships to each other. Articles that reflect the application of new disciplines or analytical methodologies to the problems of criminal justice are of special interest.
4. Criminal Justice and Behavior (0093-8548)
Criminal Justice and Behavior (CJB), peer-reviewed and published monthly, promotes scholarly evaluations of assessment, classification, prevention, intervention, and treatment programs to help the correctional professional develop successful programs based on sound and informative theoretical and research foundations.
5. Deviant Behavior (0163-9625)
Deviant Behavior is the only journal that specifically and exclusively addresses social deviance. All aspects of deviant behavior are discussed, including: crime, juvenile delinquency, alcohol abuse and narcotic addiction, sexual deviance, societal reaction to handicap and disfigurement, mental illness, and socially inappropriate behavior.
6. International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology (0306-624X)
International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology (IJO), peer-reviewed and published monthly, has provided therapists, counselors, researchers, forensic psychologists and psychiatrists, criminologists and policy makers with challenging research on topics including; violent crime, sexual offending, domestic violence, juvenile delinquency, criminal profiling, and risk assessment. There is an emphasis on the treatment of the offender--both as to theory and for clinical practice.
7. Justice Quarterly (0741-8825)
Justice Quarterly (JQ) is an official publication of the ACJS. JQ is a refereed, multi-disciplinary journal that publishes theoretical, empirical and interpretive studies of issues related to criminal justice. JQ is indexed in Criminology and Penology Abstracts, Police Science Abstracts, Criminal Justice Periodical Index, and Criminal Justice Abstracts. In the past decade, JQ has become a premier journal and it continues to be a major forum for criminal justice related scholarship, making it an essential part of any library’s holdings.
8. Journal of Interpersonal Violence (0886-2605)
JIV is devoted to the study and treatment of victims and perpetrators of interpersonal violence, addressing the causes, effects, treatment, and prevention of all types of violence. It provides a forum of discussion for the concerns and activities of professionals and researchers working in domestic violence, child sexual abuse, rape and sexual assault, physical child abuse, and violent crime.
9. Journal of Quantitative Criminology (0748-4518)
The Journal of Quantitative Criminology publishes papers that apply quantitative techniques to substantive, methodological, or evaluative concerns relevant to the criminological community. The contents span a broad range of disciplines, drawing on research advances in statistics, sociology, geography, political science, economics, and engineering.
10. British Journal of Criminology (0007-0955)
BJC is a valuable resource for academics and researchers in crime, whether they be from criminology, sociology, anthropology, psychology, law, economics, politics or social work, and for professionals concerned with crime, law, criminal justice, politics, and penology. In addition to publishing peer-reviewed articles, BJC contains a substantial book review section.
11. Policing: an International Journal of Police Strategies & Management (1363-951X)
Policing: An International Journal covers the latest research on all topics germane to policing that focus on theory, policy, and/or practice. This journal is for those concerned with achieving greater effectiveness in policing and law enforcement.
12. Victims & Offenders (1556-4886)
Victims & Offenders is a peer-reviewed journal that provides an interdisciplinary and international forum for the dissemination of new research, policies, and practices related to both victimization and offending throughout the life course.
13. Criminology & Public Policy (1538-6473)
Criminology & Public Policy is interdisciplinary in nature, devoted to policy discussions of criminology research findings. Focusing on the study of criminal justice policy and practice, the central objective of the journal is to strengthen the role of research findings in the formulation of crime and justice policy by publishing empirically based, policy focused articles.
14. Criminology (0011-1384)
Covers articles which review the literature or deal with theoretical issues stated in the literature of criminology as well as suggestions for the types of investigation which might be carried out in the future.
15. Policing & Society (1043-9463)
Policing & Society specializes in the study of policing institutions and their practices. It is concerned with all aspects of how policing articulates and animates the social contexts in which it is located.
16. Child Abuse & Neglect (0145-2134)
Child Abuse & Neglect is an international and interdisciplinary journal publishing articles on child welfare, health, humanitarian aid, justice, mental health, public health and social service systems. The journal recognizes that child protection is a global concern that continues to evolve. Accordingly, the journal is intended to be useful to scholars, policymakers, concerned citizens, advocates, and professional practitioners in countries that are diverse in wealth, culture, and the nature of their formal child protection system.
17. Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency (0022-4278)
Peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, offers articles, research notes, review essays and special issues to keep you up-to-date on contemporary issues and controversies within the criminal justice field. For more than forty years, this international forum has explored the social, political, and economic contexts of criminal justice and examined victims, criminals, courts, and sanctions.
18. Violence Against Women (1077-8012)
Violence Against Women (VAW) peer-reviewed and published monthly, is an international, interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the publication of research and information on all aspects of the problem of violence against women. VAW assumes a broad definition of violence; topics to be covered include, but are not limited to, domestic violence, sexual assault, incest, sexual harassment, female infantcide, female circumcision, and female sexual slavery.
19. Violence and Victims (0886-6708)
Violence and Victims is a peer-reviewed journal featuring cutting-edge and evidence-based studies of theory, research, policy, and clinical practice related to all forms and types of interpersonal violence and victimization.
20. Psychology of Violence (2152-0828)
A multidisciplinary research journal devoted to violence and extreme aggression, including identifying the causes of violence from a psychological framework, finding ways to prevent or reduce violence, and developing practical interventions and treatments.
What is a Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journal ???
Scholarly journals have original research or analysis written by experts within the discipline. The main purpose of scholarly journals is to share research results, theories, and literature reviews.
Empirical studies include:
- Author's credentials
- Abstract (summary)
Literature reviews, theoretical articles, and other types of articles have different formats.
Peer-reviews journals are scholarly journals that have all articles read by other experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.