Music: Graduate Seminar on Bibliography and Research (MUSL5371): Ethnomusicology

Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.

As part of the Alexander Street Anthropology series, Ethnographic Video Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of digital streaming video content pertaining to the study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films. Some videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing, full-text materials.

State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.

Provides access to licensed digital streaming video on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.

Provides online access to an extensive digital streaming video library of full-length classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, theatre, and musical documentaries from around the world.

Provides complete full text access to the journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) except for Anthropology News. Subject coverage includes cultural and social anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, culture, demography, human ecology, folklore, and ethnohistory. Coverage varies by title, ranging from 1997 - present (overall). Older issues of selected titles are archived on JSTOR.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for national education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, consisting of: Resources in Education, Current Index to Journals in Education, and full text ERIC Digest records. Materials indexed include books, journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes education, law, psychology, behavioral science, humanities, arts and literature, and the social sciences. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Comprehensive full-text online reference resource devoted to international research in ethnomusicology derived from the 10-volume printed version of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music originally published in 1997. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Geographic regions covered include Africa; South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean; the United States and Canada; Southeast Asia; India; the Middle East; China, Japan, and Korea; Europe; and Australia and the Pacific Islands. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.

Designed to streamline the research process, Oxford Bibliographies Online (OUP) provides access to a comprehensive collection of selected and authoritative annotated bibliographies across a wide variety of subject areas. Includes expert recommendations on the best scholarly works available in each discipline. Publications indexed include books and book chapters, journal articles, websites, archival materials, and data sets. NOTE: UTEP's current subscription includes the following subject modules: African American Studies, American Literature, Atlantic History, British and Irish Literature, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Criminology, Education, Geography, International Relations, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Management, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, and Sociology.

Integrated gateway that allows for the cross-searching of full text music reference publications from both Grove and Oxford, including: Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international music literature. Subject coverage includes acoustics, criticism, dance, dramatic arts, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, historical musicology, literature, music therapy, pedagogy, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, visual arts, and many more. Materials indexed include scholarly journal articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, videos, concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals.

Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.